E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 01:56 PM   #1
TheRiddle
Sofa-king-what
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: IT-UK-US
Posts: 1,152
My Ride: 2.8-M52TU'ed Vert
Different DME (oem)

a question that i have in mind since i swap the engine:

i passed form a 323 (2.5) to a 328 (2.8) engine, but i keep the original 323 DME.

does anyone knows if there are differences between the 2?

once i tried to upload a 328 map on my DME @ dealership, but with no success (gt1 didn't allow me to continue for unrecognized DME,i guess because he knows that mine is a 323 and not a 328), ut they said me that there are no difference...

i trust in you all, not in them
__________________
TheRiddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-19-2012, 02:11 PM   #2
midnighttuning
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 13
My Ride: 330ci
100% there is a difference, but the car will still run
__________________
BarrieM/// BMW Tuner
midnighttuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:50 AM   #3
TheRiddle
Sofa-king-what
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: IT-UK-US
Posts: 1,152
My Ride: 2.8-M52TU'ed Vert
need more opinions.....

and eventually a "visual explanation"
;-)
__________________
TheRiddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:40 AM   #4
NickG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 186
My Ride: 2001 330ci turbo
The DME itself is the same. This difference is in the program/calibration. The 328 program can be flashed onto the 323. The person doing the work just needs to know how to do it (based on the tools they're using).
__________________
Nick
2001 330ci Turbo
NickG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:57 AM   #5
TheRiddle
Sofa-king-what
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: IT-UK-US
Posts: 1,152
My Ride: 2.8-M52TU'ed Vert
Wait, e46 uses 2 different dme, MS42 & MS43, one on earlier version the other on latest
luckily mine is the same of 328 so no prob for this..

I know that anyone (who's able to use gt1/DIS) will do any sort of read/write operation on DME, but the problem is not this one, is the fact that there's a sort of EWS code that blocked the upload because the DME was of 323 and not of a 328 so the process has been aborted by the sys.
i bought an interface for obd2 dme coding, but i've beeen always scared of doing me, plus i couldn't find an OEM 328 map..

if you know the correct procedure to upload an oem 328 map using bmw tools,without recieve any interference by the check sys let me know, i'll try by myself next time i'll visit them..
__________________

Last edited by TheRiddle; 01-20-2012 at 09:28 AM.
TheRiddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:53 AM   #6
NickG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 186
My Ride: 2001 330ci turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRiddle View Post
Wait, e46 uses 2 different dme, MS42 & MS43, one on earlier version the other on latest
luckily mine is the same of 328 so no prob for this..
In Europe that's true, but here in the states we even had a 3rd DME used in the E46 (MS45)

Quote:
I know that anyone (who's able to use gt1/DIS) will do any sort of read/write operation on DME, but the problem is not this one, is the fact that there's a sort of EWS code that blocked the upload because the DME was of 323 and not of a 328 so the process has been aborted by the sys.
i bought an interface for obd2 dme coding, but i've beeen always scared of doing me, plus i couldn't find an OEM 328 map..

if you know the correct procedure to upload an oem 328 map using bmw tools,without recieve any interference by the check sys let me know, i'll try by myself next time i'll visit them..
On a GT1 or Autologic, you need to manually enter the program and calibration numbers for a 328 and force the tool to flash that software into the ECU.
__________________
Nick
2001 330ci Turbo
NickG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use