E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 4.71 average. Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 03:16 PM   #21
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,974
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougL3NC View Post
What does the term "Catalyzer Preparation" mean?

Looking at the DME's available for my 00 323, there is the standard flash (Euro 3 equivalent) and the ones marked EU2 are for lower power output or low compression motors.

The one is marked "Catalyzer Preparation=Yes". Is that the cat-less EU2 tune?
You don't want any flashes marked for low power/low compression.

I know my tune number, there are at least 3 that can be used on my 325. If you aren't sure, don't flash.



For a MS42 323, you may want to consider 12141430440

For vehicles with:
EU2 exhaust emissions standard (S168A) = Yes
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:53 PM   #22
DougL3NC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: China Grove, NC
Posts: 161
My Ride: 2000 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
You don't want any flashes marked for low power/low compression.

I know my tune number, there are at least 3 that can be used on my 325. If you aren't sure, don't flash.



For a MS42 323, you may want to consider 12141430440

For vehicles with:
EU2 exhaust emissions standard (S168A) = Yes
Thanks! I currently have cats, so I was going to flash it with:

#12 14 7 528 656

That's the DME# that I interpreted to be EU3 Standard. Figured I would flash EU3, ditch the SAP, and then wait for the cats to crap out. When the cats finally gave up the ghost I'd go with headers and flash EU2.

What say ye?
DougL3NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:39 PM   #23
cak323i
Modded ///Member
 
cak323i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RI
Posts: 3,333
My Ride: ///M3 & 330i ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Ill be making a full DIY thread once i figure everything out
sweet! I will be keeping an eye for your DIY
__________________
2004 TiAg ///M l OEM CSL interior door panels l OEM CSL bootlid l Scorza CSL center console | Navigation | LCM s/w 4.5 triple blink | OEM black interior retrofit | BC Racing BR Coilovers l BMW Performance Carbon Fiber strut bar & Short Shift Kit l Gruppe M carbon kevlar CAI l BMW iPod Integration l Alu Tech interior Trim l Lit F10 ///M5 Shift Knob l Umnitza Orion V4 A/E's l 365AutoSports one piece cf CSL lip | BBS CH & ARC-8 wheel sets
cak323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #24
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
The thread doesn't die, I've been posting there recently. If you're not following the "Just updated my DME!!!" thread by newtoe46, you're missing out on a lot.
TerraPhantm and a few other members have contributed some very useful info.



My DIY on How to flash to EU2:


1) Purchase the cable/software combo posted at the top of this thread, from the Romanian seller.

2) Follow the included video tutorials and install all software packages. Ensure they work.

3) Visit http://bmwfans.info and click on your E46 model, choosing EUROPE as the country.

4) Click on "Engine electrical system" then "Control unit DME, programmed". Note the serial number of the appropriate tune you want.

5) Open up WinKFP and enter the last 7 digits of that serial number when "Enter ZUSB" prompt comes up.
- Ensure you disable UIF writing
- Ensure you select LOW BAUDRATE before flashing

6) The flash will begin, it will take around 20 mins for the first stage, and around 3 for the second stage.
- Ensure you have a battery charger hooked up to the car supplying a minimum of 10A power.

7) After confirmation message, remove the key from position 2 for a minute and close WinKFP. Start DIS and clear all your adaptation values.

8) Enjoy better idle, torque, and throttle response. Catless headers will no longer trigger a CEL, and the SAP can also be deleted.
- Ensure you only use 91+ octane gas from now on.
So have you actually used the Winkfp supplied from ebay?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #25
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
And for everyone who is Deleting their SAP this is the part for it!
http://www.trademotion.com/parts/ind...&siteid=214672
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 07:45 PM   #26
flashmeow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,220
My Ride: E30-E46-E90-E90M-F30
can anyone give me the DME version for MS42 (328) that can disable SAP and cats. thanks
flashmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:04 PM   #27
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashtwosix View Post
can anyone give me the DME version for MS42 (328) that can disable SAP and cats. thanks
http://bmwfans.info/parts/catalog/E4...me_programmed/
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:15 PM   #28
flashmeow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,220
My Ride: E30-E46-E90-E90M-F30
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
thanks for the link. can you manually flash the different version on your GT1 (using progman or SSS) or do you need special software.

also...what does low compression engine mean? i keep seeing it on the notes on the url you provided
flashmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 03:33 AM   #29
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,974
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashtwosix View Post
thanks for the link. can you manually flash the different version on your GT1 (using progman or SSS) or do you need special software.

also...what does low compression engine mean? i keep seeing it on the notes on the url you provided
Yes Progman can also be used for the flash, and INPA to clear adaptations.


You'll probably want 12147513614 from that list for EU2.
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:24 AM   #30
mystert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 370
My Ride: 2003 330Ci
So why is everyone so hung up on deleting their SAP? Its not like it causes the engine to make less power, or really slows the car down. You wanna make the car faster, take the amps and sub boxed out of the trunk! I can see the benefits of the removing the cats and getting rid of the CEL but seriously, what do you gain by deleting the SAP?

In the process of unpacking my istap-v38 files to load into WinKFP and will try to load up the EU3 software. I was able to update the DME software a few years ago when Terra first figured out how to do it. Im looking forward to the improved throttle response..
__________________

MysterT Huntington Beach, CA
mystert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:44 AM   #31
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
Thanks for making this thread! That pasoft thread was getting confusing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystert View Post
So why is everyone so hung up on deleting their SAP? Its not like it causes the engine to make less power, or really slows the car down. You wanna make the car faster, take the amps and sub boxed out of the trunk! I can see the benefits of the removing the cats and getting rid of the CEL but seriously, what do you gain by deleting the SAP?

In the process of unpacking my istap-v38 files to load into WinKFP and will try to load up the EU3 software. I was able to update the DME software a few years ago when Terra first figured out how to do it. Im looking forward to the improved throttle response..
Deleting the SAP is mainly for a quieter cold start idle.
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:56 PM   #32
mystert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 370
My Ride: 2003 330Ci
Had a few difficulties but got it to work right, somehow lost connection to my DME first, couldnt read it in INPA, DIS, or SSS as well. Followed Terras instructions to get it working again, and got the EU3 flash completed. Seems to want to rev higher now?

If you notice on the BMWFans.info sight, the 7545670 number is not only an EU3 flash but its also the EU4, at least for my car, 9/2002 build date. Wonder how that effects things

Also curious what the "saftey vehicle" flashes do
__________________

MysterT Huntington Beach, CA

Last edited by mystert; 01-21-2012 at 12:59 PM.
mystert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 01:28 PM   #33
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystert View Post
Had a few difficulties but got it to work right, somehow lost connection to my DME first, couldnt read it in INPA, DIS, or SSS as well. Followed Terras instructions to get it working again, and got the EU3 flash completed. Seems to want to rev higher now?

If you notice on the BMWFans.info sight, the 7545670 number is not only an EU3 flash but its also the EU4, at least for my car, 9/2002 build date. Wonder how that effects things

Also curious what the "saftey vehicle" flashes do
It would be cool if the safety flashes made your lights flash like a track safety car
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:52 PM   #34
forzam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Posts: 374
My Ride: 04 325Ci
Did any of you guys get this cable and software to work? I can get INPA to load and I have the battery/ignition solid circles. I was also able to connect to the engine DME and read/clear some errors.

But when I try to connect to the IHKA module, I get the error IFH-0009: No Response From Control Unit. When I try to connect to the instrument cluster module, I get the error: IFH-0006: Command Not Accepted.

When I run GT1/DIS, I get "Diagnosis bus error" "communication between operating unit and diagnostic head is impaired. Error number 200.159."

Last edited by forzam; 01-21-2012 at 11:13 PM.
forzam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:09 PM   #35
eu teo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Livonia
Posts: 136
My Ride: 330xi
Great info
Thank you

Sent from my EVO 3D
eu teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:45 PM   #36
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,974
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Steven, I have installed all programs according to the video tutorials and they seem to be running fine. The problem now is that I can't communicate with the car using the OBDII to USB cable.

I have:
- Disabled my firewall and antivirus
- Set VMWare IP settings according to the videos
- Selected COM2 port for the cable, and set latency to 1ms, bitrate to 2048.
- Started IFHSvr32.exe (EDIABAS) and DiagHead.exe (Yellow-head emulator) programs before starting DIS.


These are the screens I get:








Also, when starting INPA with the cable connected to my car, IFHSvr32.exe running, and car key in pos 2, both "Battery" and "Ignition" show "OFF".

Obviously there is something wrong with the communication protocol and the programs cannot interface with my car for some reason. I disabled some of my Win7 (32-bit) services when setting up this laptop, using service tweaker. Any ideas what could be wrong?
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 10:58 PM   #37
forzam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Posts: 374
My Ride: 04 325Ci
check:

1. OBD.INI is in your System32 directory as well as /EDIABAS/BIN
2. You added /EDIABAS/BIN to your windows path
3. In the OBD.INI port=COMx (should match what you have in device manager)
4. EDIABAS.INI is correctly edited with diaghead and 192.168.68.1 and port 6801
5. In device settings - Ports - Communications Ports - check that "USE FIFO Buffers" is selected (Also, I believe this should be the same port that your cable is set to)
6. Run /EDIABAS/HARDWARE/OBD/OBDSETUP.EXE and be sure everything is OK

Be sure you can get INPA to run before you tackle GT1/DIS.
forzam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:44 PM   #38
TitaniumCranium
/// Limitless
 
TitaniumCranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle / Sequim
Posts: 3,193
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330Ci
I don't believe you need diaghead.exe to make this work.

Load IFH server first then load vmware and DIS, it should work without diaghead. You won't see the GT1 interface lit up at all, but it works as though the GT1 was remote through a network.
__________________

/// MODS
/// Auto => 6-Spd Manual Conversion | Apex EC-7 | Koni/Ground Control Coilovers | Vorshlag Camber Plates | Meyle HD LCA | PowerFlex bushings | GruppeM rep CAI | Shark Injector | 6000k HID's and Fogs | BMW European MTechII | BMW Performance Shifter | ACS Mirrors and Rear Spoiler ///

Last edited by TitaniumCranium; 01-22-2012 at 11:45 PM.
TitaniumCranium is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:05 AM   #39
Snik
OEM ///Member
 
Snik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Around SJ AFB, NC
Posts: 20,726
My Ride: IR M3 Vert.
So from my little searching.
EU2 is used for you guys that run ebay headers, or whatever without cats, and when you remove the SAP (air pump), correct?
what else is it good for?

and what does the EU3 and 4 do?
Also, if im sharked alreasy, this isnt for me is it, unless i do the above, (no cats) then just reshark?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohde88 View Post
^^^ do you spend all your free time on two wheels?
______________________________________
The Snikster posted sexy wiminz here
Do you ride a sportbike?
Do you have a question about Jamaica? Ask?

Last edited by Snik; 01-23-2012 at 12:09 AM.
Snik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:16 AM   #40
spencers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,363
My Ride: 2006 330i sport
Eu3/4 is a more strict version of eu2. Only allows SAP removal.

If I recall, shark does not work with EU.
__________________
spencers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use