E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-03-2012, 12:41 PM   #1
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
How do you make a bootable SD for Dynavin Android updates?

I've lost the SD card for my DVN-E9X and need to upgrade Android.

How do I create a new bootable SD card from Windows?
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-03-2012, 04:28 PM   #2
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
There is already dedicated Dynavin Android thread, post you question there but before you do try searching and reading first.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
Yes I saw that thread thanks, but at over 100 pages long I have not got the time to read every post.

I did a search, but came up with no answers, hence my post.
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
You don't have to read every post, just post your question in the dedictaed thread, it's there for a reason.
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 02-03-2012 at 05:13 PM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 05:44 PM   #5
opey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 589
My Ride: 04 M3 coupe
format it to fat32 and put the files on the card
__________________

IR/IR 6 speed
opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 10:51 PM   #6
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
Quote:
Originally Posted by opey View Post
format it to fat32 and put the files on the card
What I've read is that it needs to be fat16 and an active bootable partition
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 12:46 AM   #7
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistapony View Post
What I've read is that it needs to be fat16 and an active bootable partition
Try in then and let us know how you go, that way you would've learnt something and maybe help someone else out along the way.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 06:08 AM   #8
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
I've tried using the following;

Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT16/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT32/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition

All formatting using EASEUS used 63 Sectors per track, 255 Head & 482 Cylinders.

Yet none of the above has worked for me?

I have a 4GB SanDisk SDHC Card and I am using Windows 7

Am I right in my understanding that to boot from the SD card, you simply insert the SD card into the "Navi" slot and reboot the Headunit?

I am not having any luck at all !!!!
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 10:55 AM   #9
listermint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 125
My Ride: E46 M3 '02
Quote:
Originally Posted by foobar_666uk View Post
I've tried using the following;

Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT16/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT32/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition

All formatting using EASEUS used 63 Sectors per track, 255 Head & 482 Cylinders.

Yet none of the above has worked for me?

I have a 4GB SanDisk SDHC Card and I am using Windows 7

Am I right in my understanding that to boot from the SD card, you simply insert the SD card into the "Navi" slot and reboot the Headunit?

I am not having any luck at all !!!!
Use a different card, i havent had much use with that exact card.

I dont think it responds well to SDHC cards. try a standard micro card maybe 2gb without high capacity.
listermint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
also you may want to be sure that sd card slot is actually reading the card, with android running, take out the card and and put it back in, make sure it recognizes it (it will say so in the status bar)
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 11:16 AM   #11
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
Yeah it recognises it in Android.

Hmm I'll have to buy another SD card
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 02:09 PM   #12
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
I've just gone out and bought a "SanDisk SD Card - 2GB"

Used EaseUS to format it as Fat16, 64K, Active Primary partition.

Loaded the files from the Dynavin website onto it, put the card into the "Navi" slot on the Headunit and rebooted it.

Again, nothing happened. It just booted up as normal - Android see's the card OK, on first boot up it said at the top bar "Preparing SD card..." and in the Settings-->Storage it sees the SD card fine.

I am waiting for someone to send me across a format utility that Dynavin sent him, so hopefully that will help - but none of the above has worked for me so far.
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:56 AM   #13
foobar_666uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: 320D M Sport
Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin

Follow these step by step instructions





You will find that the text is not chinese unless you are using the chinese language, instead it is special characters, so it is a bit of a guessing game that the correct text is showing, but I managed it OK - on that basis anyone else should be OK too

Also it is worth noting, that it appears this Utility does NOT work with an inbuilt card reader on your Laptop/PC. For some reason I had to use an external USB SD Card reader.

When using the USboot utility, if it does not show a USB symbol next to it, you are not using an external USB adapter


When you are using a USB reader you get the following, with USB symbols next to the drives - this then worked for me

You can download the USBoot Utility here
foobar_666uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:42 PM   #14
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,426
My Ride: 2000 323i
Ran across this but see that it is not updated, I am trying to get mine to work. When I insert the card it doesn't make a difference, the android side is still a blank screen.
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:39 PM   #15
nrj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 2
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by foobar_666uk View Post
Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin
Any update on this issue? All those links are dead, foobar.

I cannot for the life of me get my Dynavin to boot from any SD cards, including the one that came with the unit for reflashing.
nrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:15 PM   #16
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,426
My Ride: 2000 323i
I wish I could get mine to do anything on android side, would pay someone to come and set it up!
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:16 PM   #17
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
rick, I know you have tried everything, at this point I think its likely your sd card slot is bad......how come you have not contacted your dealer about this?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:50 PM   #18
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,426
My Ride: 2000 323i
Thanks Jeff, I contacted them and they advised me to mail it back to China for repair. I'm hoping it's me being an idiot and not a repair situation, I'd like to get another perspective dealing with this who might see something I am missing or ignoring...Not real excited about sending the unit back to China. Maybe an electronics pro locally can even repair it here so I dont have to ship it out.
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:11 AM   #19
UniQue84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
My Ride: E46 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by foobar_666uk View Post
Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin

Follow these step by step instructions





You will find that the text is not chinese unless you are using the chinese language, instead it is special characters, so it is a bit of a guessing game that the correct text is showing, but I managed it OK - on that basis anyone else should be OK too

Also it is worth noting, that it appears this Utility does NOT work with an inbuilt card reader on your Laptop/PC. For some reason I had to use an external USB SD Card reader.

When using the USboot utility, if it does not show a USB symbol next to it, you are not using an external USB adapter


When you are using a USB reader you get the following, with USB symbols next to the drives - this then worked for me

You can download the USBoot Utility here

Hey would be nice to see your images again. dont know that to do in usboot utility :/
UniQue84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use