E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2012, 03:22 PM   #61
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
Thanks Tom. I hope I can get it back to stock.
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 04:38 PM   #62
khyams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: '03 325i Wagon
I would like to point out that Dice has not responded to my help ticket in over a month. I've attempted to reinstall it after some time, but now I can't even access the initial controls. I think I'm going to return this and buy a USA Spec adapter.
khyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 06:33 PM   #63
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
Yeah and it says someone will respond in 2 business days. I guess they only work a couple days a month.
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:19 AM   #64
khyams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: '03 325i Wagon
Whoops, I meant that they haven't responded in over a week and not a month. Regardless, I'm over it.
khyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 01:57 PM   #65
khyams
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 16
My Ride: '03 325i Wagon
I've already returned my Dice unit. Problem solved.
khyams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:58 PM   #66
slosvt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 223
My Ride: 00 328i
Send a message via AIM to slosvt
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post
I have two questions...

First, I have the single CD business radio right now. How hard is it to update to a NAV unit? Is a NAV unit worth it or should I switch to an aftermarket unit?

Second, is there anyway for phone calls to come over the mediabridge (bluetooth) if I am listening to FM radio? It works perfectly if I am streaming Pandora on the phone, but does not seem to work if I am listening to FM radio.

Thank you,
Anyone have input on my second question? This is a trunk install...
slosvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:39 AM   #67
jon-k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post
Anyone have input on my second question? This is a trunk install...
You will need to manually switch over to the mediabridge manually.

Does anyone know where I can purchase the mic and radio harness separately?
jon-k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:26 AM   #68
Eric Giles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Waynesboro, MS
Posts: 108
My Ride: 2001 325i
Send a message via AIM to Eric Giles Send a message via MSN to Eric Giles
For anyone that has the Dice Mediabridge MB1500 with the optional Sirius SC-C1 satellite radio tuner and has a '02-'06 E46-or is using a factory radio that is post 2001-are you able to store satellite radio station presets using the preset buttons? I have the older Blaupunkt 'double-click' factory CD head unit, and it is a known issue that you cannot store satellite radio station presets using these older head units. This is a huge pain as it takes forever to go to different stations, and having presets wokring is what is needed. Before I commit to buying a later model Alpine factory radio, I want to be sure that the station preset feature will work with the MB1500/SC-C1 combination.
__________________
Eric Giles
'01 325i
Eric Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:43 AM   #69
Eric Giles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Waynesboro, MS
Posts: 108
My Ride: 2001 325i
Send a message via AIM to Eric Giles Send a message via MSN to Eric Giles
I will answer my own question so that others that might have the same question in the future will know-I purchased a used factory CD head unit with part number ending in 902, May 2003 manufacture date. It is iPod, Aux input, and Sirius capable. It does allow me to finally save Sirius radio station presets-plus, the overall operation of the Mediabridge functions is much faster and more responsive than with the older Blaupunkt manufactured head unit. The overall sound quality seems to be just slightly better also. Now the problem I have is that the display is much dimmer than the climate control and OBC displays. It doesn't affect the operation, but it is very annoying as the original head unit was perfect in this regard.
__________________
Eric Giles
'01 325i
Eric Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:16 AM   #70
jon-k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 45
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Giles View Post
Now the problem I have is that the display is much dimmer than the climate control and OBC displays. It doesn't affect the operation, but it is very annoying as the original head unit was perfect in this regard.
You can't win . Perhaps the illumination wire is not working? Does the brightness change when you flip the lights on/off?
jon-k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 01:22 PM   #71
Eric Giles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Waynesboro, MS
Posts: 108
My Ride: 2001 325i
Send a message via AIM to Eric Giles Send a message via MSN to Eric Giles
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon-k View Post
You can't win . Perhaps the illumination wire is not working? Does the brightness change when you flip the lights on/off?
Unfortunately it's not a simple issue such as that-the actual LCD display is dim, and it's because the light source behind the LCD is failing, or the LCD display itself is failing. I have been searching but it seems there really isn't a fix for this problem-people just buy another unit and hope to get lucky.

The functionality of the setup is finally working the way I want it to, so I will deal with issue for now..until I cannot put up with it any longer.
__________________
Eric Giles
'01 325i
Eric Giles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:17 PM   #72
moiz21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,413
My Ride: 1999 323i 5-SPD
Hopefully someone has run across this issue before. I have had a dice unit hooked up via the trunk for a year now. Last night it just cut out. I have disconnected the unit and the battery for several hours to no avail. I have also pulled fuses 41 and 7 to check even though I dont have navigation. Any suggestions on what I can check next? Any other fuses or possible issues that could affect the unit? The head unit doesnt even recognize that something is hooked up to the cd changer connections in the trunk anymore. I'm starting to believe the dice unit isn't working anymore.
__________________

MODS
P46 Projectors + FX-R Retrofit + 6k D2S / 60 LED AE's / Smoked LED Tails / Smoked Turn and Side Markers / BSW 10" Sub /ZHP Knob / Matte Black Grills / DICE / Parrot + Connects2 / OEM Alternative Alarm Mod / Clutch Switch Delay Mod / M3 Rep Front Bumper / 3M Black CF Di-Noc Wrap / K&N Intake / 35% Tint All Around / Black Short Eurotray / 545i Shifter
moiz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:49 PM   #73
IMOLAZHP06
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2006 330CI ZHP
Anyone have input over my issue with category browsing with Sirius connect and the dice duo.
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi Alpine White Coupe

Mods:
Blinder M47 Extreme
Hardwired Escort 9500ix
20% Tint
Alpine Type X 12" Sub
Alpine PDX-1000 AMP
Glossy Kidney Grills
Painted bumper reflectors
IMOLAZHP06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 01:02 AM   #74
Dcfett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 40
My Ride: '00 328
Tom thanks for the help with my install. I had most of the problems most folks get and I did what most folks do: I didnt disconnect the battery or update the firmware. I'll say this; you need to do the updates, then install with the battery disconnected to get this thing to remotely respond as advertised. In the end, it wasnt hard, just tedious. It also has some quirks that you have to get use to, like when you start it up, dont try to browse within the first 5 seconds or you'll switch it to satellite or AUX. If you dont know that you did that, you'll just sit there thinking the thing is whacked out, but it's just doing what it's programmed to do. I've used it with the ipod locked and unlocked and both work, but again, you need to understand the instructions are like reading your BMW instructions the first time you got the car; it doesnt work exactly as you'd intuitively think, but it works. Although the help ticket seems to be a dead end, calling direct got me all the answers I needed.
Really only one minor nit and that is I havent for the life of me been able to get rid of the scroll creep interference.
Willing to offer any help to those with the basic BU set up.
Dcfett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:34 AM   #75
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
wiring tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
If the iPodyourBMW kit was previously installed, it's very likely the wiring was not returned to stock (audio pins within R17 Radio harness connector are relocated to the BMW iPod harness during the original installation) before the DICE was installed - which is the reason you have no audio.

Please inspect the wiring, I'm certain this is the reason.
Somewhere I read that there is a tool to unlock the wires from the plug. Do you have a part # or the name of the tool I can search for?
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #76
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmckinl View Post
Somewhere I read that there is a tool to unlock the wires from the plug. Do you have a part # or the name of the tool I can search for?
Here ya go:



Instructions (you can follow in reverse) can be found here: http://m3.madrussian.net/diy_ipod.shtml
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:22 AM   #77
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
Thanks Tom. I've been looking everywhere for that tool.
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:36 PM   #78
tmckinl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pine Bluff, AR, USA
Posts: 90
My Ride: Jet Black 1999 328i
Send a message via ICQ to tmckinl
I ended up making a tool to release the pins and got the wiring back to stock. unhooked the battery cables and reinstalled the mediabridge. I'm still getting no sound from the setup. It will control the iphone and the tracks are displayed on the radio but just no sound whatsoever. I double checked the trunk connections and they are right. What should I try next? Do you think I have a defective unit?
tmckinl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 08:52 PM   #79
nickboston328i
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 1
My Ride: 2000 328i 4dr
Any recommendations? Want to install a media bridge with blue tooth for my IPhone 4 into my 2000 328i w factory navigation.
nickboston328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:52 PM   #80
Aking23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, US
Posts: 80
My Ride: 1999 BMW 323i
iam having an issue with an alternator noise and the chirping....an example...
__________________
Aking23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use