E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 50 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 03-25-2012, 01:32 PM   #1001
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATACINC View Post
just wanted to share that I got my Enco B146 unit can't wait to install the unit.

Enjoy!!! I love staring at it, I haven't install mine yet because I'm busy with school
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:30 PM   #1002
androofoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 03 BMW M3
im thinking of getting the b046, but a while back i heard the wifi was not compatible. are the current shipments wifi compatible now?
also, are there two different usb sticks for wifi and 3g? is it possible to plug in both at the same time and use either or?
androofoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:41 PM   #1003
FISH330XI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 52
My Ride: 03' 330xi
Hey Guys, I Don't have an Enco, but I did install my Dynavin earlier this week. Just wanted to share some Ideas and Install options that I used. I guess these units are pretty much the same. Of course if they are not then some of these Ideas may not work. Either way. The Dynavin has two USB's and a Headphone (for AUX purposes) these come out of the back and can be extended. Below is a picture of two usb and one headphone Aux jack that I extended to the back portion of my Euro tray. I also extended the Ipod input to the inside of my euro tray. There is also the picture of the backup camera that I in stalled in the trunk Keyhole. Like I said I don't know if the Encos have all these inputs but if they do. here are some options. One of the USB's is connected to the CD/DVD/AUX board so you can play music files from a USB. the other USB is connected to the nav board. I guess for updates and such. either way I extended them both so I had access to them without having to remove the radio again. if you have any questions, let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin2.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	443599   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin3.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	90.2 KB
ID:	443600   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin5.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	62.9 KB
ID:	443601   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin4.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	93.9 KB
ID:	443602  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin1.jpg
Views:	179
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	443603  
FISH330XI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 08:18 PM   #1004
Ron ///Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 30
My Ride: 325XI
Quote:
Originally Posted by FISH330XI View Post
... Just wanted to share some Ideas and Install options that I used...
Nice work!!! thanks for the great tips. They are awesome. I'll be doing them too!
__________________
Ron ///Man

'04 330XI Sport 6 Speed Winter Snomobile
'91 M3 Club Racer
'91 M3 Faux EVO III Driver
Ron ///Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:02 PM   #1005
FISH330XI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 52
My Ride: 03' 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron ///Man View Post
Nice work!!! thanks for the great tips. They are awesome. I'll be doing them too!
No Problem hope it helps out. running all the cables is a pain in the ass but it's worth it for a nice clean install. good luck. Like I said if you have any questions, just shoot me a pm.
FISH330XI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:06 PM   #1006
norcal420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 33
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by androofoo View Post
im thinking of getting the b046, but a while back i heard the wifi was not compatible. are the current shipments wifi compatible now?
also, are there two different usb sticks for wifi and 3g? is it possible to plug in both at the same time and use either or?
No, apparently the wifi is still not working but I'm not entirely sure what that issue is. I just emailed Jolly and she said they won't be fixing the android wifi for the next few months (according to her boss).

dr
norcal420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:41 PM   #1007
Press22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 436
My Ride: 01 325ci
Definitely want this thing for my 325 coupe! Will have to wait though...
Press22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:43 AM   #1008
fuzioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: BMW 330ci
Got my Sat Nav working

iGo seems a bit convoluted to search for a UK Postcode though, does anyone have a user manual for planning a route, or can detail steps needed to create a route based on a postcode (or zip code for you USA guys ) ?

Secondly is there any way of listing music in iPod mode in Album format not just a long list of all the individual tracks ?
fuzioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:44 AM   #1009
fuzioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: BMW 330ci
oh and did anyone else have issues getting a USB cable into either of the rear USB Connectors ?

I got them in but they were preventing me pushing the unit fully into housing so left them loose until I could figure out how to get around it !
fuzioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:03 AM   #1010
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Hey fish, where you got the USB things for picture 3.
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:57 AM   #1011
eu teo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Livonia
Posts: 136
My Ride: 330xi
Ok so I installed the iGo 2.0 and I hit the turn off bottom thinking it wold exit the igo but now this shows up when I press the navi button:/ any ideas? I tried puling the maps sd card but no difference

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1332770272439.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	443675

Sent from my PG86100 using Bimmer App
eu teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:13 AM   #1012
robin325ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 453
My Ride: Helrot 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breyton-BMW View Post
I have researched about this as igo maps are not available for the Philippines so I have no other choice but to look for an alternative. The Dynavin seems to be ok with other like Papago and Garmin Xt etc. As long as they cn run on winCE, they should run on the enco too. This also goes for all chinese made gps. Try searching on GPSunderground.
Pare pm me your email. I have the Philippines map running on my Dynavin. It's compatible with igi8 and Primo. I'll send you the files
__________________
robin325ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 10:48 AM   #1013
teeach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: uk
Posts: 23
My Ride: punto power!
have igo primo installed on mine worsk sweet and full uk postcodes.

plus if sonme of you guys didnt know the WinCe version can be "jailbroken" and wifi dongle installed(3G aswe ll soon)
teeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:25 AM   #1014
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeach View Post
have igo primo installed on mine worsk sweet and full uk postcodes.

plus if sonme of you guys didnt know the WinCe version can be "jailbroken" and wifi dongle installed(3G aswe ll soon)


how do you do that? and with no android side what could we do with wince verion with 3g?
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 11:30 AM   #1015
teeach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: uk
Posts: 23
My Ride: punto power!
internet and email mostly buut there are apps out there for wince, just not very good lol
teeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:14 PM   #1016
m7alj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: london
Posts: 21
My Ride: 330 convertible
Hi all I installed the b146 at the weekend & I have 2 problems I hope someone can help me with 1st I fitted the rear camera & when I put it in reverse it works but as soon as I go out of reverse the the screen just goes black with a no signal message in the middle & the whole unit is blocked it won't even turn of the only way to get it going is to turn ignition of then back on & then the unit works fine until I use reverse gear. 2nd problem is I can't get the satnav software to work I purchased the card with unit basically I press the nav button & the message can't find navigation software appears . I would appreciate any help
m7alj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:46 PM   #1017
Press22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 436
My Ride: 01 325ci
Question... what are you guys going with? The winCE or Android one?
I personally don't care about wifi. Just want the navigation to work and to connect my iPhone.

The android one is looking like the better option since it's got 512mb DDR2 but that's just my thoughts from being a computer engineering major.
Do you need some sort of 3G service for the maps to work on the android version?

Last edited by Press22; 03-26-2012 at 12:50 PM.
Press22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 12:52 PM   #1018
fuzioneer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 17
My Ride: BMW 330ci
ok looks like reading from iPod it doesn't allow for Album browsing, so basically presented with a full long list of track names, however putting albums into folders and putting on SD card slot left hand side allows browsing via albums

Next question installed Torque app via sd card, but when I run it (trying to connect to my ELM Bluetooth ODB Scanner) it can't see it because BT not enabled, How do you enable BT within Android on the B046 ?
fuzioneer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:07 PM   #1019
FISH330XI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 52
My Ride: 03' 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickedly View Post
Hey fish, where you got the USB things for picture 3.
Hey Wickedly,
I purchased them thru Dynavin solutions, they were I think $19.00 each. And they are perfrct for flush mounting. Nice and clean.
FISH330XI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 01:08 PM   #1020
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by m7alj View Post
Hi all I installed the b146 at the weekend & I have 2 problems I hope someone can help me with 1st I fitted the rear camera & when I put it in reverse it works but as soon as I go out of reverse the the screen just goes black with a no signal message in the middle & the whole unit is blocked it won't even turn of the only way to get it going is to turn ignition of then back on & then the unit works fine until I use reverse gear. 2nd problem is I can't get the satnav software to work I purchased the card with unit basically I press the nav button & the message can't find navigation software appears . I would appreciate any help
not sure about your first question.for your second,go to setup on nav screen,touch nav setting,click folder choose sd card,then find the igo.exe then touch home button and now it is setup for nav.
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use