E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 4.83 average. Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 10:00 AM   #201
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
I emailed jolly yesterday after she emailed me asking for feedback.
I sent her a list of questions, she replied this morning and acknowledges there is a problem with audio:

Quote:
Thanks so much for your feedback of our unit.

Yeah,there are really so many issues need to improved,I will tell these to our engineers.

1. When the system turns on, it jumps from a number of settings
Digitial Tv, to Blue tooth to AUx in, not the option that was last
used. Is there a way to get it to go to the last setting used or at
least just the main menu at turn on ?(It should be show the interface you used last time)

2. The time setting some times seems out by up to 12 hours or so when
it switches on. Is there a lithium battery that is meant to retain the
settings ? Will this improve as it charges or is there a fault ?(You can setup it on Setup Interface.and then choose Time setup.After you choose,please click"Apply"it will be ok)

3, 3. The SD card corrupted within 1 day and could not be found by the
gps. i put it in to my laptop and all the files had been wiped and it
said the card was not formatted. Thankfully I had a copy of Igo Primo
that I was able to install on a different card, and it works. The gps
side seems to work great with good signal most of the time. The system
did say it could not find the second card once, however I removed it
and wiped it and put it back in and it found the files. The fact it
corrupted i am unsure if is the fault of the data card or the system,
but perhaps the quality of the cards is the issue.
The SD card really in bad quality after heard your feedback.

4,The volume setting is very loud, usually 2-3 on the setting is loud
but some times I can go up to 14 but not higher than this. I am using
only car speakers not an amplified system such as harman Kardon that
some BMWs come with, do you have any suggestions as to how this could
be improved on the system ?
(A lots of customers feedback of this issue.You can buy one converter.Please check attachment picture)



5, 5. On digital tv setting, the reception and picture quality is very
good most of the time that is a great addition. However I can find no
way to select the digital radio stations. The system scans and finds
the frequency and lists them, but I can only select the channels that
have TV, do you have any suggestions for this ? as it would be a great
addtional feature to select digital radio too.

This unit cannot support Digital Radio.

Best regards,

Ms Jolly
have edited some other stuff about about potential future orders.
but any one have an ideas what how you wire up her suggestion???

found them on amazon usa:
Quote:
Converts High Level Speaker Output to RCALine Level/Adjustable Level Control Sleek Black Color Allows the Easy Installation of EQ's &Amplifiers toSystems with No RCA Outputs

issues seem to be acknowledged but no resolution supplied....

Last edited by mrwhite; 04-27-2012 at 10:06 AM.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:09 AM   #202
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
I bought the exact same one as the picture LEGACY, two infact front and rear pair
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:24 AM   #203
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by china man View Post
I bought the exact same one as the picture LEGACY, two infact front and rear pair
I havent got an amp though, so can I use this ?

how would I wire it up ?
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:03 PM   #204
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
but if i were to put converter on radio wouldnt that affect other modes.radio would be normal but now everything else would be way too quit and might not be able to get loud enough,correct?when i play dvds or music off sd card i play it around 25 or so.so if converter was on it would be at max and then not be loud enough if that makes sense.
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:17 PM   #205
massimo9060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
My Ride: E46 330xd
Hi guys,
I have also bought a enco b146 from a UK dealer and i have it installed since last week. So after a week of driving and testing this unit, i have some problems which i would like to discuss with you. Because my dealer told me after 3 emails that my problems are "normal" but i dont wont to life with that strange things. So maybe you have the same things and you could help me, if its possible

1. If i start this unit again it dont start with my last used function. If i heard after my drive for example radio, the unit starts after a new boot with aux in or whatever

2. My MFL works pretty well until i use the bluetooth function. So if i have connected my mobile phone the remote from the steering wheel dont works longer.

3. My dvb-t works only 3 to 4 minutes , than i get an black screen with noises on my speakers and i dont see the osd any time longer. After i start dvb-t again i have the same problem.

So guys please let me know what do you thinking and maybe you can test this problems on you enco...

Thank you in advance
massimo9060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:50 PM   #206
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
1 yes

2 and 3 = no
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:44 PM   #207
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawracerx View Post
but if i were to put converter on radio wouldnt that affect other modes.radio would be normal but now everything else would be way too quit and might not be able to get loud enough,correct?when i play dvds or music off sd card i play it around 25 or so.so if converter was on it would be at max and then not be loud enough if that makes sense.
That's exactly what I am thinking would happen. It will "fix" one thing and "break" four more... Not a viable "solution" in my opinion.
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 05:23 PM   #208
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
ive noticed the sound from sd card was louder yest too and i cant really go above 15 for anything
i dont have an amplified system though so not sure one of these things is going to be any use.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:57 PM   #209
jayjay_dee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 41
My Ride: '10 X5 35d, '05 ZHP
I got my B146 today and installed it, took me almost half an hour, the backlight (orange) is on but when i press the power button, the screen remains blank...
I also pressed the reset and still the same, blank screen, what gives?

I tried testing if there is power to the main unit by hooking up my iphone to the back, and its not charging...

Fuses are okay... I also disconnected to car battery to reset everything...

Old radio still functions when i tried it ..... any clue?
jayjay_dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:25 PM   #210
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjay_dee View Post
I got my B146 today and installed it, took me almost half an hour, the backlight (orange) is on but when i press the power button, the screen remains blank...
I also pressed the reset and still the same, blank screen, what gives?

I tried testing if there is power to the main unit by hooking up my iphone to the back, and its not charging...

Fuses are okay... I also disconnected to car battery to reset everything...

Old radio still functions when i tried it ..... any clue?
if your certain all connections are plugged in correctly to the right place, and tightly and your not getting any thing, then contact the seller to request a replacement unit
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:48 PM   #211
jayjay_dee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 41
My Ride: '10 X5 35d, '05 ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwhite View Post
if your certain all connections are plugged in correctly to the right place, and tightly and your not getting any thing, then contact the seller to request a replacement unit
I already sent her messages thru Skype, hopefully she gets back to me asap...

one more thing, how come the backlight comes on? does it have a separate power source?
jayjay_dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:47 PM   #212
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
just hooked up mine today... took me ****ing forever due to those damn wires not fitting in the back... but for some reason my blinkers no longer work, along with my dashboard lights besides the air pressure problem light, abs breaks, and one other i can't remember...

also does anyone know how to get this stupid can't watch movies while driving warning bullshit to stop popping up and also why it won't work with my steering wheel?

sorry I'm quite the newb when it comes to this ****...

also the iPod adapter is only for charging? hmm i thought i read otherwise somewhere else...
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:02 PM   #213
jayjay_dee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 41
My Ride: '10 X5 35d, '05 ZHP
Mic, have you tried disconnecting your battery? maybe it will reset everything in your car and fix those lights issue youre having?
jayjay_dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:21 PM   #214
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayjay_dee View Post
Mic, have you tried disconnecting your battery? maybe it will reset everything in your car and fix those lights issue youre having?
I unplugged the battery when i hookedup veryhin but not since then... The headunit also no longer turns on or lights up, along with my blinkers, wipers, and gauges...

Could it be a fuse also?
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:34 PM   #215
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Would say it being fuse issue, check fuses behind glove box, and for dvd issue go to general settings and turn brake option to off

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:49 PM   #216
jayjay_dee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 41
My Ride: '10 X5 35d, '05 ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic Diesel View Post
I unplugged the battery when i hookedup veryhin but not since then... The headunit also no longer turns on or lights up, along with my blinkers, wipers, and gauges...

Could it be a fuse also?
yeah, could be just fuse issue....
jayjay_dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:18 AM   #217
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
I dont have extra fuses to check em...

Unplugged the negative on the battery and plugged it in again... Still no good...

Im guessing im ****ed lol

Last edited by Mic Diesel; 04-28-2012 at 12:29 AM.
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 01:20 PM   #218
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
did you connect the red can box to the wires.. thats whats works the steering wheel


you have to go to set up from the main menu

then press the test button to set it up
pressing each button on the screen then the steering wheel for what you want it to do



did you take air vents off and route spare cables on top of the unit ?
makes it much easier to go in and out that way, you can then move them to the side etc and put air vents back in


to get the brake warning as stated again you turn that off in the menu Brak_Check


if IPOD is connected and plugged in properly on the back (not loose )
it will play the music from it, when selecting IPOD off the main menu...


sounds like you have electrical issues with car... check fuses etc without the unit connected, then with the old head unit

then with new unit connected in tightly, making sure nothing is grounding or touching anything metal (eg tape off any spare cables, electrical black tape over any connections you have made.)

are you getting any dash warnings for the lights not working ?
may need a code reading scan if you are having other problems.

Last edited by mrwhite; 04-28-2012 at 01:25 PM.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:00 AM   #219
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
Wait can i play around with the wiring and **** if my battery is still plugged in? I was told not too...

Also when you say electrical tape the connections... You mean the ones that just plug in right? Cause i didnt have to splice anything...

Also whts the deal with those 2 random metal pieces they gave me

Last edited by Mic Diesel; 04-29-2012 at 08:02 AM.
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:16 AM   #220
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic Diesel View Post

Also whts the deal with those 2 random metal pieces they gave me
You talking about the Head unit removal keys?
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use