E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 125 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-14-2012, 05:35 PM   #601
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
wow! I dont know who you are talking to but they definitely dont know what they are talking about....SIM cards are for modems and cell phones.... the wifi dongle is just that....its a little blue and white USB device, it plugs into the USB plug labeled GPS USB.....Maybe you were sent a modem instead of a wifi dongle???

It should have come with your dynavin and if it didnt you need to tell your dealer to send you one.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-14-2012 at 05:36 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:54 PM   #602
majordavehan817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 28
My Ride: 325ci Convertible
WTF over? So the dongle doesn't need a SIM card? I am trying to figure out why the radio would be "unable to scan for networks." The only thing I can think is maybe the wifi dongle got knocked out when they were pushing the radio in. I gotta wait 2 weeks before the company that installed the radio can take time to look at my car and see if they installed it properly. They are not real big on customer service.

Can you tell me definitely what I need to get my Dynavin to connect to the internet? I have a freaking iphone with personal hotspot already. I bought a T-Mobile mobile hotspot (because the unit says T-Mobile in it already) and the android part still doesn't work.
__________________
Dave Han


David R. Han, MBA, PMP, CISSP, CISM, CRISC, GCIH, ITIL, prISM PSM, FITSP-M, ISO27K, S+
Major USMC (Retired) Mustang
majordavehan817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 07:15 PM   #603
mpower3330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: san jose
Posts: 12
My Ride: E46 M3
Jeff,

Thanks for your help this week. I received the unit (you shipped it to San Francisco for me) and am going to All Pro Audio in San Jose tomorrow morning to have it installed. I will give you a call if there are any problems. Thanks again for making this a quick and easy process.

Regards,
Aneal
mpower3330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:29 PM   #604
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by majordavehan817 View Post
WTF over? So the dongle doesn't need a SIM card? I am trying to figure out why the radio would be "unable to scan for networks." The only thing I can think is maybe the wifi dongle got knocked out when they were pushing the radio in. I gotta wait 2 weeks before the company that installed the radio can take time to look at my car and see if they installed it properly. They are not real big on customer service.

Can you tell me definitely what I need to get my Dynavin to connect to the internet? I have a freaking iphone with personal hotspot already. I bought a T-Mobile mobile hotspot (because the unit says T-Mobile in it already) and the android part still doesn't work.
Go to my website, look at the install guide, note the wifi antenna, then pull the unit out yourself and see if its there, I bet its not.

Ive said this before and I dont mean to be rude...... I cant spend a lot of time walking other dealers customers through this. I do everything I can to make sure our customers understand the install and have all the info they need for things to go smooth.

I hate to see people have a bad experience but if you choose to do business with my competitors you are on your own, Im a VERY busy guy and I cant spend my time helping their customers.




Quote:
Originally Posted by mpower3330 View Post
Jeff,

Thanks for your help this week. I received the unit (you shipped it to San Francisco for me) and am going to All Pro Audio in San Jose tomorrow morning to have it installed. I will give you a call if there are any problems. Thanks again for making this a quick and easy process.

Regards,
Aneal
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:39 PM   #605
majordavehan817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 28
My Ride: 325ci Convertible
Absolutely! Thanks for your assistance. If I could return the unit and buy from you instead, I would. Too bad I didn't research it enough to know that you offered the unit I wanted.

I have PTSD and don't handle stress very well. So I really appreciate your help!
__________________
Dave Han


David R. Han, MBA, PMP, CISSP, CISM, CRISC, GCIH, ITIL, prISM PSM, FITSP-M, ISO27K, S+
Major USMC (Retired) Mustang
majordavehan817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:03 PM   #606
jonnyb482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 3
My Ride: 2002 Mercedes C180K
Hi Jeff, not sure if anyone else has had this issue but when my MC2000 Dynavin D99 Android was installed I tried the DVD player out and it played the DVD in colour but for some reason this time when I went to use it it plays but only in black and white. Im just wondering if this is common and if there is something I can do to rectify the issue? Would resetting to factory settings help at all. Just confused - any advice or info would be awesome, Thanks Guys,

Jono
jonnyb482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:07 PM   #607
majordavehan817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 28
My Ride: 325ci Convertible
Jeff,

The installers replied back to my email in which i explained the install for the wifi dongle. They put it in the wrong USB slot. They put the wifi dongle in the slot for USB Audio instead of USB GPS.

Whew! I was really beginning to think I was losing my mind.

Kindly,
__________________
Dave Han


David R. Han, MBA, PMP, CISSP, CISM, CRISC, GCIH, ITIL, prISM PSM, FITSP-M, ISO27K, S+
Major USMC (Retired) Mustang
majordavehan817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:08 PM   #608
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyb482 View Post
Hi Jeff, not sure if anyone else has had this issue but when my MC2000 Dynavin D99 Android was installed I tried the DVD player out and it played the DVD in colour but for some reason this time when I went to use it it plays but only in black and white. Im just wondering if this is common and if there is something I can do to rectify the issue? Would resetting to factory settings help at all. Just confused - any advice or info would be awesome, Thanks Guys,

Jono
sounds like the color setting in the radio settings menu might be turned down, if not then something is wrong and you will need to contact your dealer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by majordavehan817 View Post
Jeff,

The installers replied back to my email in which i explained the install for the wifi dongle. They put it in the wrong USB slot. They put the wifi dongle in the slot for USB Audio instead of USB GPS.

Whew! I was really beginning to think I was losing my mind.

Kindly,
One of the most common installation mistakes.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-14-2012 at 11:10 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:15 PM   #609
jonnyb482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 3
My Ride: 2002 Mercedes C180K
Jeff,
Mmm sounds like there could be a more serious issue then, because its weird - the radio is colour, the nav area is colour, ipod is all colour its just when i go to play a dvd the image is black and white.
Ill have a muck around and see if theres some settings that have been inadvertently adjusted.

Cheers Mate

Jono
jonnyb482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:17 PM   #610
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
the color/contrast/brightness settings only apply to video playback, check it, center all the settings, then see where you are at.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-14-2012 at 11:21 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:20 PM   #611
jonnyb482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 3
My Ride: 2002 Mercedes C180K
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
the color/contrast/brightness settings only apply to video playback.
ahhh that could be it, cheers Jeff, yeah I reckon I may have played with those thinking it was for the unit itself. Wow I hope thats it, awesome.

Thanks heaps for that Mate,

Jono
jonnyb482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:57 PM   #612
majordavehan817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 28
My Ride: 325ci Convertible
Jeff,

I sent the people that installed the radio, a picture of the wifi dongle. They say they don't recognize it. They also say that they returned any spare parts to me. I checked everything. When I gave them the radio to install, the box was unopened.

Do you sell the wifi dongle? If so, how much would it be?

Kindly,
__________________
Dave Han


David R. Han, MBA, PMP, CISSP, CISM, CRISC, GCIH, ITIL, prISM PSM, FITSP-M, ISO27K, S+
Major USMC (Retired) Mustang
majordavehan817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 10:01 AM   #613
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
The dealer you buy from has a lot to do with how your experience goes, your complaints are primarily the result of your dealer, the units we sell have maps included and the basics are already configured, and there is a setup guide and FAQ on our website.



You can reprogram the ibus box to remove the reverse features. Contact your dealer....
Not an option with my dealer, not something he will entertain.

There has to be another way surely?
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 11:25 AM   #614
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by majordavehan817 View Post
Jeff,

I sent the people that installed the radio, a picture of the wifi dongle. They say they don't recognize it. They also say that they returned any spare parts to me. I checked everything. When I gave them the radio to install, the box was unopened.

Do you sell the wifi dongle? If so, how much would it be?

Kindly,
You should have got one with your unit so if you confirm that you dont have it contact your dealer and tell them to send you one ASAP. I can sell you one but I shouldn't have to, your dealer needs to make it right.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CTRob View Post
Not an option with my dealer, not something he will entertain.

There has to be another way surely?
???? Your dealer wont send you a file so you can reprogram the ibus box? This isnt some crazy random thing im talking about, its the alternate ibus box program FROM DYNAVIN.
Frankly these other dealers are starting to piss ME off now.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-15-2012 at 11:29 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 11:30 AM   #615
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
???? Your dealer wont send you a file so you can reprogram the ibus box? This isnt some crazy random thing im talking about, its the alternate ibus box program FROM DYNAVIN.
Frankly these other dealers are starting to piss ME off now.....
Jeff... PM sent
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 12:37 PM   #616
majordavehan817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 28
My Ride: 325ci Convertible
Thanks Jeff. I will contact them again. Frankly, I don't think they know what they are selling as well as you do. Especially given that they told me that the wifi dongle needed a SIM card.
__________________
Dave Han


David R. Han, MBA, PMP, CISSP, CISM, CRISC, GCIH, ITIL, prISM PSM, FITSP-M, ISO27K, S+
Major USMC (Retired) Mustang
majordavehan817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 06:44 PM   #617
AProudSailor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
My Ride: '06 330ci ZHP (e46)
Send a message via AIM to AProudSailor Send a message via Skype™ to AProudSailor
Dynavin D99 in BMW e46 (Non-Android)

Jeff,

I'm glad to say my Dynavin arrived yesterday (QUICK!) and I'm mid-install.

However, I see 31 pages of thread before me, and while I've tried to skim it the best I can, I'm losing time while I'm installing.

I've soft-installed everything without remounting it to do a quick test, but I've noticed an irritating 'skip' or 'bounce' in both the iPod and the Radio playback..

Not that I think it makes a difference (since it affects Radio play too), but I have a dealer-installed OEM BMW iPod interface cable that I'm bypassing with this setup.

I'm assuming this is nothing new, but could you point me towards a quick solution so I can proceed please.

Thanks!
Carl

P.S. If you have a quick solution, please feel free to call my cell.
__________________

Car not for sale, driver negotiable..

Last edited by AProudSailor; 06-23-2012 at 04:03 AM.
AProudSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 06:55 PM   #618
speedypm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Jose
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Hey guys - I'm in the process of upgrading my OEM business CD stereo to a Dynavin clone and cannot get it to work. I have an OEM iPod interface that was installed by the BMW dealership at the time i purchased the car in 2004 when brand new. I noticed that the main stereo harness has been modified to accommodate the OEM iPod interface. Have you guys come across this and can you recommend a workaround?
speedypm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 09:00 PM   #619
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by AProudSailor View Post
Jeff,

I'm glad to say my Dynavin arrived yesterday (QUICK!) and I'm mid-install.

However, I see 31 pages of thread before me, and while I've tried to skim it the best I can, I'm losing time while I'm installing.

I've soft-installed everything without remounting it to do a quick test, but I've noticed an irritating 'skip' or 'bounce' in both the iPod and the Radio playback..

Not that I think it makes a difference (since it affects Radio play too), but I have a dealer-installed OEM BMW iPod interface cable that I'm bypassing with this setup.

I'm assuming this is nothing new, but could you point me towards a quick solution so I can proceed please.

Thanks!
Carl

.

Dont know....that could be a lot of things....but the most obvious would be that your battery is getting low (doors open, interior lights on while you installed) causing your amp to cut out....

The next possibility is that the nav program is up to something that you dont realize, take out the Nav SD card to disable the nav part of the unit to rule this out....

Also you might want to go back and delete your phone number from your post, you dont want these weirdos on this forum getting your phone number
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-16-2012 at 09:01 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 12:59 PM   #620
MidnightBeemer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 19
My Ride: BMW 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
^ I have the V4 Dynavin and the supplied GPS cable was long enough to reach the rear parcel shelf.
I have the antenna magnetised to the centre restraint bolt location.
I had the same issue with not picking up the signal and I didn't want it visible anywhere to have a clean install so I installed mine in the head liner where the garage opener functions are. There is a metal plate to stick it on and fished the wire across the liner by taking out the reading lights under the sun visor and took the passenger pillar cover off to fish the wire down to the glove compartment. Went around the glove compartment and into the unit. Fishing it through wasn't easy but was able to by tying a small gauge wire to fish with and pull it through once it came across.

Take a look at the picture. If anyone wants more infor, PM me.

By the way, I have an e39 but I'm sure the steps are repeatable on an e46.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	132.6 KB
ID:	458154  
MidnightBeemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use