E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 48 votes, 4.75 average. Display Modes
Old 01-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #101
CrisB02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Visalia, Ca
Posts: 110
My Ride: 330I
Send a message via AIM to CrisB02
I cant find the obd.ini file. I keep getting the error that needs the obd.ini file. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
CrisB02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 03:59 AM   #102
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,029
My Ride: 1999 328i
Have you deleted obd.ini?

If so here is a copy to replace it with rename obd.pdf obd.ini.

Put it in
C:\EDIABAS\Bin\obd.ini
C:\WINDOWS\obd.ini

Code:
[OBD]
Port=Com1
Hardware=USB
RETRY=ON
MODE=NORMAL
;MODE=KBUS
UBAT=OFF
;Tracelevel=0xFFFFFFFF
;Tracelevel=0xFFFFFFFF
;Tracelevel=0xF0000000
;Tracelevel=0x0000FFFF
; Bit 0    = Funktionsaufruf
; Bit 1    = io Ergebnis
; Bit 2    = nio Ergebnis
; Bit 3    = Detailinfos
; Nibble 0 = readchar_wait
; Nibble 1 = main
; Nibble 2 = cmd
; Nibble 3 = obd
; Nibble 4 = send_and_receive_...
; Nibble 5 = read_telegram_...
; Nibble 6 = send_telegram
; Nibble 7 = SendData


[UNIT_A]
Port=Com2
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_B]
Port=Com3
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_C]
Port=Com4
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_D]
Port=Com5
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_E]
Port=Com6
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_F]
Port=Com7
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_G]
Port=Com8
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_H]
Port=Com9
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_I]
Port=Com10
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_J]
Port=Com11
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_K]
Port=Com12
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_L]
Port=Com13
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_M]
Port=Com14
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_N]
Port=Com15
Hardware=OBD

[UNIT_O]
Port=Com16
Hardware=OBD
Attached Files
File Type: pdf obd.pdf (1.0 KB, 717 views)
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #103
hsverma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Murphy, TX
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2004 M3 Coupe
Hi Guys,

I read this thread and I am still confused: I have a 2004 M3 and wanted to get this setup working for it. I looked under the hood and did not see any round 20 pin connectors there. The only thing I see is the rectangle OBDII connector in the cabin near the driver foot. What cable do I need to get for this? Will this cable suffice: http://www.amazon.com/OBD2-Diagnosti...5627499&sr=1-1
hsverma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:12 AM   #104
test123123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2
My Ride: x5
After I connect my cable to the car.

Do I need to start the engine? OR leave car off? OR turn on power on without start engine?
test123123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:31 AM   #105
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,029
My Ride: 1999 328i
Ignition must be on. Engine can be on or off, depending on what jobs you wish to attend to. Be aware that a prolonged session (40+minutes) can flatten the vehicle battery. Do not reset the Adaptations with the engine running.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:00 PM   #106
The_Don
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 551
My Ride: 2001, 325Ci
Has anyone with MS.43 DME used the any software packages/cables to open DSC pump valves for brake bleeding? I have been reading a ton of information on various sites, and this information still proves to be alluding me. I just ordered a USB to OBDII cable and realize that I will need to do a pin mod in order to access both k-lines, but I am unsure as to whether the ABS/DSC module will be available for bleeding out the air (yes I let my brake fluid get too low while changing brake lines and rebuilding calipers ) Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
- UUC Stg. 1 LTW Flywheel - UUC SSK + DSSR - UUC TM +TME - UUC Rear Adjustable Control Arms - UUC Swaybarbarians - AST Sportline II -
- RE Underdrive Pullys - RE FCABs - BMW Performance Control Arms - Shark Injector - EMP High Flow Water Pump - TMS Adjustable Endlinks - K&N CAI -
- M3 Motor Mounts -

For Sale
The_Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:03 PM   #107
SL Blak Soldier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Woodland Hills < SFV < LA < SoCal
Posts: 27,360
My Ride: 3 Pedal SG S54B32
Send a message via AIM to SL Blak Soldier
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Don View Post
Has anyone with MS.43 DME used the any software packages/cables to open DSC pump valves for brake bleeding? I have been reading a ton of information on various sites, and this information still proves to be alluding me. I just ordered a USB to OBDII cable and realize that I will need to do a pin mod in order to access both k-lines, but I am unsure as to whether the ABS/DSC module will be available for bleeding out the air (yes I let my brake fluid get too low while changing brake lines and rebuilding calipers ) Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

yes, it's available via INPA.
__________________
SL Blak Soldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:14 PM   #108
The_Don
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 551
My Ride: 2001, 325Ci
Awesome! Thank you!
__________________
- UUC Stg. 1 LTW Flywheel - UUC SSK + DSSR - UUC TM +TME - UUC Rear Adjustable Control Arms - UUC Swaybarbarians - AST Sportline II -
- RE Underdrive Pullys - RE FCABs - BMW Performance Control Arms - Shark Injector - EMP High Flow Water Pump - TMS Adjustable Endlinks - K&N CAI -
- M3 Motor Mounts -

For Sale
The_Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 05:05 AM   #109
Alpine 7even
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 5
My Ride: 01 DINAN7, 00 e46
How car I add the e46 profile to my inpa software?
Alpine 7even is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 06:16 PM   #110
CroVlado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 667
My Ride: 2004 MB BMW M3
Send a message via AIM to CroVlado
a bit of a revival.... but since were on INPA topic...

how do you go thru and tell the SMG trans to re-adapt itself for clutch wear..? any quick tut or something?

I've heard when you do this the SMG starts doing some funky noised for a minute or so and then it stops and ur good to good with much smoother shifts etc...

how often is it recommended for this to be done?

TIA!!
__________________

| 04 Mystic Blue M3 | 07 White R6 |

MY LAGUNA SECA BLUE INTERIOR DYE PROJECT
CroVlado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 06:51 PM   #111
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,029
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroVlado View Post
a bit of a revival.... but since were on INPA topic...

how do you go thru and tell the SMG trans to re-adapt itself for clutch wear..? any quick tut or something?

I've heard when you do this the SMG starts doing some funky noised for a minute or so and then it stops and ur good to good with much smoother shifts etc...

how often is it recommended for this to be done?

TIA!!
I never looked at a car with SMG, but this sort of function usually is kept under the ACTIVATE button.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 07:19 PM   #112
CroVlado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 667
My Ride: 2004 MB BMW M3
Send a message via AIM to CroVlado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
I never looked at a car with SMG, but this sort of function usually is kept under the ACTIVATE button.
ill try to glance at it.. see if i find it.
__________________

| 04 Mystic Blue M3 | 07 White R6 |

MY LAGUNA SECA BLUE INTERIOR DYE PROJECT
CroVlado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:47 PM   #113
putyoursoxon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 147
My Ride: 03 M3
How to you pull up the E46 profile in INPA my INPA screen shows models E60 and up, and it isnt under the older model screem either. Any help?
__________________
putyoursoxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:59 PM   #114
putyoursoxon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 147
My Ride: 03 M3
Figured it out to get the E46 to show
Edit the file 'C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT\INPA.INI' in Notepad, locate the section that starts with '//F3', remove the slashes at the beginning of the three lines of text, and amend any instance of 'F10' to 'E46'.
__________________
putyoursoxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:55 PM   #115
toffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milan, I
Posts: 43
My Ride: 320ci
Send a message via MSN to toffa
hello guys: which are the steps do I should follow for clear the airbag light (passenger side)? Thanks!
__________________
toffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 04:10 PM   #116
GreatFrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 43
My Ride: 2005 325i w/spt pkg
Quote:
Originally Posted by toffa View Post
hello guys: which are the steps do I should follow for clear the airbag light (passenger side)? Thanks!
I think you need to choose multi-restraint system, in the dialog window where you have Engine, Chassis, etc to choose from. Or maybe it is buried under some other category, can't remember... And then choose error, there you will be able to read/clean the code.

Last edited by GreatFrog; 07-18-2013 at 04:10 PM.
GreatFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:34 PM   #117
toffa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milan, I
Posts: 43
My Ride: 320ci
Send a message via MSN to toffa
anyone had found this issue?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...&v=-6OMM0HIsOk
__________________

Last edited by toffa; 07-24-2013 at 04:36 PM.
toffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 09:59 AM   #118
invisible132
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46
Hello. I've tried to connect my e46 to inpa, but i get error ifh-0003 data transmission to interface disturbed. I haven't set latency to 1, because there is no option to do that.
invisible132 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 06:00 PM   #119
skull
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Salinas/Monterey California
Posts: 3
My Ride: 2002 330i, 2006 325i
I would like info on this as well. Just got the S/W

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
PM Sent.
Have the cable and the software but hardly know how to use it.
skull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 06:05 PM   #120
GreatFrog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 43
My Ride: 2005 325i w/spt pkg
Quote:
Originally Posted by toffa View Post
I know it is beyond the scope but it INPA doesn't work for you, you can try DIS, which has better compatibility I believe. I might have cleaned my airbag code using DIS, but I am not 100% sure. It can be done.
GreatFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use