E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 04:19 PM   #61
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
No, it shoots out the lambda integrators. As I'm going to be tuning a lot of these cars I imagine I will be able to locate and add that data in the future for a lot of the newer DMEs, or if someone can find me a datasheet for the sensor as I do currently have access to the voltage.

Last edited by smooth1; 08-14-2012 at 04:21 PM.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:21 PM   #62
NIVO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Worcester, Ma
Posts: 355
My Ride: 2004 330Ci ZHP
Send a message via AIM to NIVO
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth1 View Post
No, it shoots out the lambda integrators. As I'm going to be tuning a lot of these cars I imagine I will be able to locate and add that data in the future for a lot of the newer DMEs.

Definitely awesome!
__________________

www.E46Turbo330Ci.com
WARNING: This modification is known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm due to the extreme G forces once turbo kicks in. ~ Nivo
The rest of my signature is reserved for pointless modification bits like: Halos | window Tint | carbon fiber roundels | short shifter
NIVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:47 PM   #63
BimmerBrakes
The Brake Newbie!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 1,146
My Ride: 2005 ZHP BMW
Send a message via AIM to BimmerBrakes
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth1 View Post
No, it shoots out the lambda integrators. As I'm going to be tuning a lot of these cars I imagine I will be able to locate and add that data in the future for a lot of the newer DMEs, or if someone can find me a datasheet for the sensor as I do currently have access to the voltage.
Maybe this might help...

http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthr...e-lookup-table

-Anthony@BimmerBrakes
BimmerBrakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:02 PM   #64
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerBrakes View Post
Maybe this might help...

http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthr...e-lookup-table

-Anthony@BimmerBrakes
Thanks for looking around. It does not say there what the sensor they're using is from and they're not all the same. The 08M they're referring to is not a BMW.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:05 PM   #65
BimmerBrakes
The Brake Newbie!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 1,146
My Ride: 2005 ZHP BMW
Send a message via AIM to BimmerBrakes
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth1 View Post
Thanks for looking around. It does not say there what the sensor they're using is from and they're not all the same. The 08M they're referring to is not a BMW.
Yes, I know that. Its a 8 pin micro chip. I am not sure what voltage you get from the BMW DME but down on the list there is a voltage to AFR conversion. Might help but might not. Doesn't hurt to try.

-Anthony@BimmerBrakes
BimmerBrakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:15 PM   #66
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
Ya, but that's not likely for the sensor BMW is using for MS45. I see no mention of BMW at all.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 05:41 PM   #67
BimmerBrakes
The Brake Newbie!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 1,146
My Ride: 2005 ZHP BMW
Send a message via AIM to BimmerBrakes
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth1 View Post
Ya, but that's not likely for the sensor BMW is using for MS45. I see no mention of BMW at all.
17014, 17215 and 17216 is widely used for Wideband Monitor Tools. Difference between them is the Plug and Length of the Cable on the sensor. Can also make your own if you have the know how.

-Anthony@BimmerBrakes
BimmerBrakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 06:15 PM   #68
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
Aftermarket stuff, absolutely. I'll be checking to see if BMW uses any of those and I'll let you know what I find. Thanks for the info here and in PM!
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:04 PM   #69
jared_wiesner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 774
My Ride: 1999 328i (M54b30)
I'm definitely going to be purchasing this. I was just wondering if you already have or would be able to add the ability to see A/F ratio based on Lambda readings. Just makes it easier than for me to multiply each reading out myself to find the numbers. Even if it was just a toggle between Lambda voltages and A/F ratio.
__________________
jared_wiesner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 07:08 PM   #70
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
I'm currently researching what sensors are on what vehicles hoping to make A/F a logged datapoint for most DMEs. As for now you get to see the lambda integrators at work.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:58 AM   #71
xcar360
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: China
Posts: 350
My Ride: BMW 318i
Smile Renault CAN Clip Interface

Renault Can Clip main menu allows you to:
See all the information relating to the vehicle
Look at the function you want to use:- computer test
Automatic test of all computers
Reprogramming
Airbag test
Scantool (OBD tests)
Base Doc (access to Technical Notes)
Physical measurements
Antipollution
Multimeter

Renault CAN Clip package includes :
1. Renault CAN Clip Interface
2. 2 cables for CAN Clip <-> Car connection
3. 1 cable for CAN Clip <-> PC connection
4. 1 software CD (CLIP V115, can be installed on ANY PC)
It's very simple to diagnose a vehicle using Renault CAN Clip Diagnostic Interface: just select the vehicle make, enter the V.I.N. and press ENTER.

Renault CAN Clip Support language: English,German,Brazil,Denish,Spanish,Finnish,French,Italian, Norwegian,Dutch,Portuguese,Romania,Swedish.
see the following pictures shows.(Picture one shows the optional country; Picture two shows the Language available)

http://www.xcar360.com/renault-can-clip.html
xcar360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 03:03 AM   #72
xcar360
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: China
Posts: 350
My Ride: BMW 318i
Thumbs Up Renault CAN Clip Interface

Renault Can Clip main menu allows you to:
See all the information relating to the vehicle
Look at the function you want to use:- computer test
Automatic test of all computers
Reprogramming
Airbag test
Scantool (OBD tests)
Base Doc (access to Technical Notes)
Physical measurements
Antipollution
Multimeter

Renault CAN Clip package includes :
1. Renault CAN Clip Interface
2. 2 cables for CAN Clip <-> Car connection
3. 1 cable for CAN Clip <-> PC connection
4. 1 software CD (CLIP V115, can be installed on ANY PC)
It's very simple to diagnose a vehicle using Renault CAN Clip Diagnostic Interface: just select the vehicle make, enter the V.I.N. and press ENTER.

Renault CAN Clip Support language: English,German,Brazil,Denish,Spanish,Finnish,French,Italian, Norwegian,Dutch,Portuguese,Romania,Swedish.
see the following pictures shows.(Picture one shows the optional country; Picture two shows the Language available)

http://www.xcar360.com/renault-can-clip.html
xcar360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:26 AM   #73
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
Hey, thanks!
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:23 AM   #74
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,385
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
lol is he just spamming?
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:40 AM   #75
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
Ya lol. Just looking for some attention.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:20 PM   #76
NIVO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Worcester, Ma
Posts: 355
My Ride: 2004 330Ci ZHP
Send a message via AIM to NIVO
This software works!
cool to see the datalogs
__________________

www.E46Turbo330Ci.com
WARNING: This modification is known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm due to the extreme G forces once turbo kicks in. ~ Nivo
The rest of my signature is reserved for pointless modification bits like: Halos | window Tint | carbon fiber roundels | short shifter
NIVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 03:17 AM   #77
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 773
My Ride: 330iCA
realtime lambda values would be somewhat awesome
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 09:54 AM   #78
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
We talked about that above.

I'd like to see if you're running rich or lean too since you're unable to hit your top speed now. I also posted that log in the datalog demo area of the site. Thanks, btw.

Last edited by smooth1; 08-22-2012 at 09:55 AM.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 02:44 PM   #79
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,385
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
MS45 still have some bugs? Cant Register Battery and some error about can't read packet from DME...
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 03:07 PM   #80
smooth1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 269
My Ride: BMW FTW
NIVO and I got everything up and running with MS45 logging. Thanks NIVO! E46 doesn't require battery registration since it doesn't have IBS so you'll always be denied for that request. MS45 on the E60 5 series does have IBS, so it will work for that.
smooth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use