E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 125 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 11:38 PM   #721
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Yes they have RDS. Ours come with a licensed copy of sygic. Igo 8 is what they used to come with a few years ago.....some people are probably still selling them with it (but it's hacked....probably not a good move as a business)....
Thanks Jeff,

Which Nav SW is the better of the 3?
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:14 AM   #722
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViperZ View Post
Thanks Jeff,

Which Nav SW is the better of the 3?
Neither, I think a lot of people would say that igo primo is the best, but it's also hacked/not licensed.....but that doesnt seem to stop people from getting it. We sell ours with licensed sygic software but what you do with it after that is your business.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 08-30-2012 at 12:16 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:54 AM   #723
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Well, I jumped on the bandwagon with this D99.... I hope I've made the right decision to replace the fine working OEM Business Radio with the D99
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:02 AM   #724
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
I seen somewhere (which I can't seem to find again), these Dynavin units booting with a BMW logo screen? Is this standard or a add on Hack? Does this occur during power on of the Unit or when?

Thanks!
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:13 AM   #725
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
On the d99 it's just a setting, dynavin logo by default but can be set to match the vehicle. it's seen for a couple seconds when the unit starts up.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:29 AM   #726
syd9d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2003 E46 M3
Hi Jeff, I just purchased the Dynavin D99 WinCE model from you along with the E46 camera. Everything looks good so far and I appreciate the prompt service. I'm still doing the install myself but I am having a problem with the how to on installation. There are really no installation direction provided with the unit so I had to go to a how to site which shows how it is done on a SAT/NAV E46 but it was done with a V5, should I be following those instuctions exactly? Here is the page :

http://lemalife.wordpress.com/2010/1...em-navigation/

I have a couple of questions :
1) I have installed the camera on my boot but about the wiring, Could you tell me where the wires go? Do I connect it to the fakra cable with the green wire that has a label "reverse"? And if so, do I have to send the extra long Video jack (yellow RF plug) wire that was provided with the camera back to the front to plug into the the Dynavin to the labelled jack that says "Camera"?
2) How do i connect the steering wheel controls? Are they also done in the back with a small box that was provided? I'm tailking about the little box that has a mini usb input on one side and a rectangular eight pin on the other. If not, what is this box for?

Please get back to me ASAP as I have my car all opened up and I can't wait to use the Dynavin.

Cheers,
Sydney (syd9d@yahoo.com)

Last edited by syd9d; 08-30-2012 at 07:51 AM.
syd9d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:59 AM   #727
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
On the d99 it's just a setting, dynavin logo by default but can be set to match the vehicle. it's seen for a couple seconds when the unit starts up.
Great, Thanks! Looking forward to it Jeff!
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:51 AM   #728
slackjack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
My Ride: E46 325ci Convertibl
Quote:
Originally Posted by syd9d View Post
I have a couple of questions :
1) I have installed the camera on my boot but about the wiring, Could you tell me where the wires go? Do I connect it to the fakra cable with the green wire that has a label "reverse"? And if so, do I have to send the extra long Video jack (yellow RF plug) wire that was provided with the camera back to the front to plug into the the Dynavin to the labelled jack that says "Camera"?
2) How do i connect the steering wheel controls? Are they also done in the back with a small box that was provided? I'm tailking about the little box that has a mini usb input on one side and a rectangular eight pin on the other. If not, what is this box for?

Please get back to me ASAP as I have my car all opened up and I can't wait to use the Dynavin.

Cheers,
Sydney (syd9d@yahoo.com)
Sydney - can't help with most of it but I do know the black box is for the steering wheel controls. The mini usb port goes nowhere, but the eight pin connects to the unit. There is a lot of info about it in this thread so I guess a careful read of the other pages will help you with your Question 1.
slackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 07:26 AM   #729
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
I see nothing's changed around here
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 08-31-2012 at 07:28 AM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:32 AM   #730
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
I just noticed a new "official" ROM on the Dynavin site. Anyone tried it yet?

I'll have a go later and report my findings.
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:17 AM   #731
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by syd9d View Post
Hi Jeff, I just purchased the Dynavin D99 WinCE model from you along with the E46 camera. Everything looks good so far and I appreciate the prompt service. I'm still doing the install myself but I am having a problem with the how to on installation. There are really no installation direction provided with the unit so I had to go to a how to site which shows how it is done on a SAT/NAV E46 but it was done with a V5, should I be following those instuctions exactly? Here is the page :

http://lemalife.wordpress.com/2010/1...em-navigation/

I have a couple of questions :
1) I have installed the camera on my boot but about the wiring, Could you tell me where the wires go? Do I connect it to the fakra cable with the green wire that has a label "reverse"? And if so, do I have to send the extra long Video jack (yellow RF plug) wire that was provided with the camera back to the front to plug into the the Dynavin to the labelled jack that says "Camera"?
2) How do i connect the steering wheel controls? Are they also done in the back with a small box that was provided? I'm tailking about the little box that has a mini usb input on one side and a rectangular eight pin on the other. If not, what is this box for?

Please get back to me ASAP as I have my car all opened up and I can't wait to use the Dynavin.

Cheers,
Sydney (syd9d@yahoo.com)
1)connect the cameras power wire AND the dynavin's "reverse" wire to the positive reverse light wire. That way when you put the car in reverse the camera turns on and the dynavin gets switched to reverse mode.

2)as stated above, just plug the ibus box into the harness. The mini usb is just for programming and is not used.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
I see nothing's changed around here
I could use your help around here.....sometimes it seems like the inmates are running the asylum.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 08-31-2012 at 10:22 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:50 AM   #732
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
I just noticed a new "official" ROM on the Dynavin site. Anyone tried it yet?

I'll have a go later and report my findings.
DO NOT USE THE NEW ROM UNLESS YOU HAVE A BRAND NEW UNIT.....

Dynavin changed the touchscreens on the last production batch and with that change came new touchscreen drivers. So if you have a unit that was manufactured before July/2012, use the old ROM, after July/2012, use the new ROM.

You can tell which one you have by looking at the source selection screen (thats why dynavin has pics of each next to the download link). Im going to contact them to help them make that page more clear.....

If you update and your touchscreen doesnt work, you used the wrong one.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 08-31-2012 at 12:29 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:13 PM   #733
sleeks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 89
My Ride: M3
Glare question

I know that glare was a big issue in the past....how is the glare with the new D99 units? Thanks.
sleeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:27 PM   #734
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
the screen has been the same since the V5 units.....so glare is not too much different. I think the D99s are a little easier to see simply because of the color scheme. D99s are mostly white on black instead of orange on black.

Glare was the worst on the old D30 (V4 and earlier) units as the screen was reflective like a mirror. Although there is still plenty of glare (the screen is pointed at the rear window after all) its not a complaint I hear much any more.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 08-31-2012 at 12:29 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:41 PM   #735
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
DO NOT USE THE NEW ROM UNLESS YOU HAVE A BRAND NEW UNIT.....

Dynavin changed the touchscreens on the last production batch and with that change came new touchscreen drivers. So if you have a unit that was manufactured before July/2012, use the old ROM, after July/2012, use the new ROM.

You can tell which one you have by looking at the source selection screen (thats why dynavin has pics of each next to the download link). Im going to contact them to help them make that page more clear.....

If you update and your touchscreen doesnt work, you used the wrong one.
Thanks Jeff. While it probably won't do any harm to the unit, Dynavin should make it a bit clearer about the appropriate ROM for the right unit.
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 12:44 PM   #736
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,753
My Ride: BMW
Ive already made some suggestions.

It wont do any harm, it just wont work!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:43 PM   #737
ecoce1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 109
My Ride: 2005 e46 M3
Jeff... been searching with no luck. Is there a new version of dynavin unit coming soon?
__________________
ecoce1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:52 PM   #738
podge3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 120
My Ride: Rover 75 CDTi
Does the D99 charge iPod or iPhone?
podge3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:33 PM   #739
syd9d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2003 E46 M3
Thanks Jeff for the help on the camera issue, I wired it like you said and it works great. I'm really loving the D99, I just completed the install myself and thanks to these forums, especially Jeff, I came out with no complains whatsoever. There is only one issue, well really a question :
My unit comes preinstalled with the Sygic program and the US maps. I live in the middle East, is there a Sygic site I can go to to obtain the middle east maps for my area? I have been to the Sygic site but it shows only maps for Mac based and Android based systems, no Windows CE. Should I download the android maps for my region and install them on my mini SD card, would that work?

Last edited by syd9d; 09-02-2012 at 01:17 AM.
syd9d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 01:04 PM   #740
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Does the D99 charge iPod or iPhone?
yes it does
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use