E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 51 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 09:01 PM   #761
bin01123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8
My Ride: 2001 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Dynavin changed something with the touchscreens that required a different set of drivers, so there is a ROM for the older units, and a ROM for the newer units.
Jeff,

I'm still rocking my Windows version of the Dynavin unit. Are there any updated maps for 2012 or late 2011?
bin01123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:09 AM   #762
BMWMad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
My Ride: 323Ci E46
Question Dealer in Shanghai?

Hi guys,

I am not sure if this is the right tread but anyhow. I would like to upgrade/replace my Dynavin E46 V5 due to I got a lemon version from a dealer in UK that disappeared one month after I bought my unit. I will be till Wednesday Sep 19th in Shanghai, does anyone of you know a good dealer here (as good as Jeff ) I want to buy the D99 version.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
BMW 323Ci E46
BMWMad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 10:08 AM   #763
kaikkonen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1
My Ride: E46 320d
Humm. I bought that D99 and I like it. But I thought that it would have a bit nicer radio and other controls like:

but no :/
I haven't found yet different solution for that.
For android I have found modified firms.
Does someone have a way to change that UI?
kaikkonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:23 AM   #764
Pahkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46 330D
Hello there guys! Got myself the D99 WinCe Dynavin for my E46 bimmer and I have to say I'm really happy about the device. But a couple of questions... first, is it at all possible to change the "splash screen"/boot logo to something else? I'd kinda like it show something bimmer related

And then the other bigger question. About the navi-side of the device. The navi-program has frozen a couple of times in such a way that the only way to wake it up was to reset the device by for example unplugging the power cable. Can this be related to the currently low gps signal strength? I'm gonna put the gps-reciever box to a better place, right now the gps signal strength isn't the best possible. Have you guys experienced this navi freeze problem at all? When the navi frozes it just shows a blank screen and nothing happens... I'm using Sygic's latest maps.

Last edited by Pahkis; 09-17-2012 at 12:27 AM. Reason: Added some more info
Pahkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:25 AM   #765
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaikkonen View Post
Humm. I bought that D99 and I like it. But I thought that it would have a bit nicer radio and other controls like:

but no :/
I haven't found yet different solution for that.
For android I have found modified firms.
Does someone have a way to change that UI?
that is a pic of the older D95 unit.... Ive never heard anyone say they like the D95 radio interface more than the D99....but I suppose its a matter of opinion. But to answer your question, no it cant be changed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bin01123 View Post
Jeff,

I'm still rocking my Windows version of the Dynavin unit. Are there any updated maps for 2012 or late 2011?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pahkis View Post
Hello there guys! Got myself the D99 WinCe Dynavin for my E46 bimmer and I have to say I'm really happy about the device. But a couple of questions... first, is it at all possible to change the "splash screen"/boot logo to something else? I'd kinda like it show something bimmer related

And then the other bigger question. About the navi-side of the device. The navi-program has frozen a couple of times in such a way that the only way to wake it up was to reset the device by for example unplugging the power cable. Can this be related to the currently low gps signal strength? I'm gonna put the gps-reciever box to a better place, right now the gps signal strength isn't the best possible. Have you guys experienced this navi freeze problem at all? When the navi frozes it just shows a blank screen and nothing happens... I'm using Sygic's latest maps.
for the splash screen.....in the D99 there is a setting in the "hidden" factory settings menu for that, there was a sheet with your manual that explained the factory settings menu.

Your GPS problems are not from the antenna but dont sound good..... maybe a defective nav card?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 09-17-2012 at 10:28 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:50 AM   #766
dayusmc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Posts: 175
My Ride: 01 325ci & 06 325ci
Believe it or not... After having both the v5 and D99 unit in our cars for awhile - I like the older interface better. The old unit matchs the car better...

Kyle
dayusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:54 PM   #767
Georgeramosjr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 1
My Ride: 2003 X5 3.0
Hello all! I'm new to the forum but I've done a lot of reading with respect to the D99 unit which I have in my 2003 BMW X5 E53. I actually bought this car about three months ago with this head unit installed. When I purchased it everything worked fine. The radio reception worked well with Am/FM no matter how hard I pressed display or the frame around the radio it would never reset and it wouldn't bring up is volumevand color*settings. However, I had a guy install a backup camera, big mistake! After the installation if I hit a large bump, press the display too hard, or press the plastic frame around the display too hard, the volume setting comes out or if I was off completely. This wasn't happening before the installation. I'm unsure if the wires or crimped or pinched, or if there's an issue with the actual unit itself. It's currently running the Windows CE version of the operating system. Also now it is very difficult for me to get a.m./FM reception at all. *I ensured that the radio adapter is plugged into the*head unit as much as possible. But it doesn't seem to be flush, it seems like it might be a little loose and maybe some play there. But even when I hold him tight and put it in place and test the frequency I don't get reception anymore. This wasn't always the case. I'm really unsure about what to do, I'm wondering if anyone has had a similar experience. Enclosed is a video with the symptoms of turning on and off

Georgeramosjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 01:46 AM   #768
syd9d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2003 E46 M3
ROM Update....

Hi Jeff,

I've had my D99 Dynavin for a month now and I have worked out the kinks by now and I love it. I did see that there is an update for the ROM on the Dynavin Android page. Is this for both the Android and WIN CE version? I have the WIN CE version and I was wondering whether I need to download that update.

Will this update fix the iPod Playlist reordering problem because that can really be annoying, if not will there be an update in the near future for the WIN CE D99?

Thanks and keep up the good work.
Sydney.
syd9d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:19 AM   #769
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeramosjr View Post
Hello all! I'm new to the forum but I've done a lot of reading with respect to the D99 unit which I have in my 2003 BMW X5 E53. I actually bought this car about three months ago with this head unit installed. When I purchased it everything worked fine. The radio reception worked well with Am/FM no matter how hard I pressed display or the frame around the radio it would never reset and it wouldn't bring up is volumevand color*settings. However, I had a guy install a backup camera, big mistake! After the installation if I hit a large bump, press the display too hard, or press the plastic frame around the display too hard, the volume setting comes out or if I was off completely. This wasn't happening before the installation. I'm unsure if the wires or crimped or pinched, or if there's an issue with the actual unit itself. It's currently running the Windows CE version of the operating system. Also now it is very difficult for me to get a.m./FM reception at all. *I ensured that the radio adapter is plugged into the*head unit as much as possible. But it doesn't seem to be flush, it seems like it might be a little loose and maybe some play there. But even when I hold him tight and put it in place and test the frequency I don't get reception anymore. This wasn't always the case. I'm really unsure about what to do, I'm wondering if anyone has had a similar experience. Enclosed is a video with the symptoms of turning on and off
Thats not a D99.....its an old "V5" D90 E39 unit. When your installer took the unit out and put it back in he did so in a way that is putting a lot of stress on the front panel, to the point where the plastic bezel is putting pressure on the edge of the screen. Might have even bent the metal frame on the back of the panel. In addition some of the wiring may be pinched or have a bunch of pressure on it. In any case, stuff got screwed up, you need to take it out, inspect for damage, and carefully put everything back in.....although things might be screwed up more than that, impossible for us to say from here.

The antenna or antenna adapter probably got damaged at the same time. Inspect and fix.


Quote:
Originally Posted by syd9d View Post
Hi Jeff,

I've had my D99 Dynavin for a month now and I have worked out the kinks by now and I love it. I did see that there is an update for the ROM on the Dynavin Android page. Is this for both the Android and WIN CE version? I have the WIN CE version and I was wondering whether I need to download that update.

Will this update fix the iPod Playlist reordering problem because that can really be annoying, if not will there be an update in the near future for the WIN CE D99?

Thanks and keep up the good work.
Sydney.
ROMs are android things, not for WinCE. Dynaivns sort things alphabetically. I would not expect that to change.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 09-24-2012 at 10:23 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 01:05 PM   #770
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Dynavin has made some changes with the latest batch of D99 units, they are calling them D99+, I started a dedicated thread here: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=946958
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 11:34 PM   #771
Pahkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46 330D
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post

for the splash screen.....in the D99 there is a setting in the "hidden" factory settings menu for that, there was a sheet with your manual that explained the factory settings menu.

Your GPS problems are not from the antenna but dont sound good..... maybe a defective nav card?
Okay, I got the splash screen changed so that's all good.

As for the GPS problems, they are getting worse. Now I haven't even been able to reset the device by unplugging it so the GPS is frozen. I did get a new screen in the NAVI mode, it was a blue screen (well, this is a windows based device after all with the text "welcome to navigation". But that didn't do anything, the screen didn't respond to touch.

A friend of mine had IGO Primo nav software so I tried that one, but no luck. So it seems that the gps problems aren't related to the nav card. Ah this is so frustrating because otherwise the D99 really rules.
Pahkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:46 AM   #772
330touring
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 27
My Ride: 330d touring
Hi again, Iíve been using my d99 for almost a year now. The BT has been working great. Last week my wife paired her phone to the d99 and, ever since then, it has rejected my phone. My phone connects at first, but after a few second it disconnects. If I try my phone on my old BT earpiece it works fine, so I donít think anything is wrong with the phone (have reset my phone).

Any idea whatís up with my d99?

Cheers,
ojo
330touring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:48 AM   #773
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,424
My Ride: 2000 323i
I still have not been able to get navigation side to work. Considering moving on to something else. I have tried just about everything.

Sent from my VM670 using Bimmer App
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:16 PM   #774
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330touring View Post
Hi again, Iíve been using my d99 for almost a year now. The BT has been working great. Last week my wife paired her phone to the d99 and, ever since then, it has rejected my phone. My phone connects at first, but after a few second it disconnects. If I try my phone on my old BT earpiece it works fine, so I donít think anything is wrong with the phone (have reset my phone).

Any idea whatís up with my d99?

Cheers,
ojo
Delete the pairing from your phone and re-pair

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDRick323 View Post
I still have not been able to get navigation side to work. Considering moving on to something else. I have tried just about everything.

Sent from my VM670 using Bimmer App
Android unit? As I have mentioned before I cant help my competitors customers, not enough time, not a good business move either.... But I hate to see you give up on it just because you cant figure this out and you are not getting any help from your dealer (assuming). From looking at your previous posts all you need is the special formatting tool for the SD card. Email me about it and I can email it to you.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:33 AM   #775
bocaj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1
My Ride: 320D 2002
Sygic upgrade

Hi there,

Does anybody know if I can upgrade my D99 WINCE to Sygic version 12 in stead of version 10?

Regards
Bocaj
bocaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #776
Saginawesome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2003 330 xi
iOS 6 issues

Has anyone else been having trouble with BT streaming since updating your iPhone to iOS 6? I have a D99 (not plus) and before the update my phone would successfully pair about 90% of the time, but since switching over to iOS 6 it's about 30%. I saw that someone in the D99+ thread was having an issue since upgrading to a new iPhone 5 but his was just loss of the track forward button. Just curious to hear if I'm the only one or if others are having the same issue. Thanks!
Saginawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:49 PM   #777
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
I think "that person" was me......yes it seems that iOS6 definitely has a few issues with bluetooth. I have not seen any pairing issues but the track buttons dont work. If its not pairing regularly, delete the pairing and repair.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-04-2012 at 04:49 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:19 PM   #778
KamPow3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 827
My Ride: ....
I do apologize if this is a repeat question but I do not want to go through 40 pages of reading and if I can please skip that step, that be great!

I Just recently installed my Dynavin D99 to my E92 335i and have been having trouble with my Bluetooth connection. When I go to Bluetooth settings and click the "Turn On" button it trys to scan and then nothing happens after that. I am actually able to connect my phone but with the Dynavin I believe you are able to control music through your phone as well ... is that correct? Cause I really want to take advantage of that feature.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Thank you!!
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines..."
- Enzo Ferrari

Last edited by KamPow3r; 10-05-2012 at 12:20 PM.
KamPow3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:56 PM   #779
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,671
My Ride: BMW
you are in the wrong area, there is no bluetooth hardware in the android part of the dynavin, that menu option is just part of the android OS, doesnt mean there is any hardware attached to it. The bluetooth is part of the radio side of the unit, press the right side knob and the bluetooth screen will pop up, select music on your phone and you should be good to go.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-05-2012 at 03:58 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:24 PM   #780
KamPow3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 827
My Ride: ....
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
you are in the wrong area, there is no bluetooth hardware in the android part of the dynavin, that menu option is just part of the android OS, doesnt mean there is any hardware attached to it. The bluetooth is part of the radio side of the unit, press the right side knob and the bluetooth screen will pop up, select music on your phone and you should be good to go.
OK got it! Thank you!!
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines..."
- Enzo Ferrari
KamPow3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use