E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 4.20 average. Display Modes
Old 09-28-2012, 09:42 AM   #201
rafasp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1
My Ride: E46 - 318i
Can the Car Kracker do in the same boot mode the following things: ???
- Button remaping
- Data logging
- Show engine values in the radio display
- Monitor custom sensors
- Read the climate control fan speed and change the volume of the stereo

Also a I can't download the file KMB_Kracker_Demo.spin the link http://www.gadgetgangster.com/script...set.php?id=687 takes me to nowhere.
rafasp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:24 AM   #202
kmartgt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 8
My Ride: 2002 M3 Convertible
I know ive asked it before and I know I am one of at least 10 people interested in this but

can we please get a write up for how to use this to stream music via bluetooth???

Suggested bt dongle and any additional required hardware would also be really helpful to know. This is truly all I want this device for and its the one thing nobody has given any instructions on how to do. I know it might be "simple" to figure out but I'm not an EE and I dont know what 3/4 of the acronyms being discussed on here mean.

I just need some instructions.

Thank you.
__________________

///MARTINY
kmartgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:15 AM   #203
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmartgt View Post
i know ive asked it before and i know i am one of at least 10 people interested in this but

can we please get a write up for how to use this to stream music via bluetooth???

suggested bt dongle and any additional required hardware would also be really helpful to know. This is truly all i want this device for and its the one thing nobody has given any instructions on how to do. I know it might be "simple" to figure out but i'm not an ee and i dont know what 3/4 of the acronyms being discussed on here mean.

I just need some instructions.

Thank you.
+1 !!!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:51 AM   #204
jr23xit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phila
Posts: 7
My Ride: 325xiT
For those of your trying to do audio via bluetooth, you could try and do what I am trying to do. Of course I have not been able to get my kracker to work at all yet, so I have that to concern myself with.

Anyway... I bought this: http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-F8Z492T...dp/B0047T79VS/ , and took out the insides. What you see in the picture is a 5v car charger powering the kracker and the bluetooth adapter, and the audio out of the bluetooth adapter jumpered to the audio pins on the kracker. In theory this should work. Like I said for me, I can't get my kracker to work so I have not been able to try it yet, although the bluetooth adapter part works just fine in pairing with my phone and putting out audio.

12v is pretty easy to find in the trunk, either on the phone connectors or on another connector I found lurking back there. So far have not been able to find 12v that switches on/off with the ignition but that doesn't mean it isn't there. Ideally I would wire the car charger power supply into that and just leave the whole mess in the trunk.

Apologies for the bad picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kracker.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	90.5 KB
ID:	472321  

Last edited by jr23xit; 10-03-2012 at 10:56 AM.
jr23xit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:39 PM   #205
CSL323
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Keilor East, VIC
Posts: 882
My Ride: '06 320Ci SpecialEd
Send a message via Skype™ to CSL323
Is there any activity going on with the development of the kracker firmware anymore?
__________________

2006 BMW 320Ci Special Edition
CSL323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:35 PM   #206
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 8,494
My Ride: '06 330CiC, '03 M5
Took over 1 month for my kit to finally arrive.

I need to put it together and start playing around with it a bit.

I have some specific things I want to try and accomplish.

I have both a E39 with a NAV setup and a E46 with just the Business CD so I will be interested to see what the differences are between the cars.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temps, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose fan switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:03 PM   #207
serdar255
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,109
My Ride: '01 325ci / '90 325i
Hmmm.. got my kracker today soldered it up and plugged it in, nothing. I've been toying with it for 2 hours and can't get the clown nose confirmation no matter what. What should i do, feeling like i threw out 40 bucks and not happy about that. I double checked all of my solder points and they are fine. I just want the jukebox for now, but nothing seems to work. Everything lights up and all, but no car connection.

Can someone send me a more detailed image of the 6 pin connection plug? And which holes go into the prongs? I'm really stumped here and any help will be greatly appreciated.
__________________

image (10) by serdar.gurhan, on Flickr
For coding, custom shift knobs, and vinyl stickers: PM me

Last edited by serdar255; 10-05-2012 at 11:04 PM.
serdar255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:24 AM   #208
bropane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 21
My Ride: nothing yet
I had a similar problem to you. Had lights on the board but no connection. The problem was that I assumed that this board functioned like a breadboard and that the each pin in a row was referenced to each other however that is not the case. The pins are referenced in triplets. So if you divide the board down the middle, on each side there is a pair or three referenced pins. Once I fixed my mistake, I used jumper wire to hook it all up and it worked like a champ.
bropane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:11 AM   #209
serdar255
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,109
My Ride: '01 325ci / '90 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bropane View Post
I had a similar problem to you. Had lights on the board but no connection. The problem was that I assumed that this board functioned like a breadboard and that the each pin in a row was referenced to each other however that is not the case. The pins are referenced in triplets. So if you divide the board down the middle, on each side there is a pair or three referenced pins. Once I fixed my mistake, I used jumper wire to hook it all up and it worked like a champ.
I don't understand what you're saying.
__________________

image (10) by serdar.gurhan, on Flickr
For coding, custom shift knobs, and vinyl stickers: PM me
serdar255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:04 AM   #210
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Just got mine in the mail today!! Great quality parts. To connect an iphone with a wire would i just get a USB to sterio adapter then hook it right into the wire that comes with that kit? Or how would i go about using bluetooth?? Thanks!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:20 AM   #211
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Anyone have a bluetooth write up? It would be greatly appreciated!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:06 PM   #212
bropane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Posts: 21
My Ride: nothing yet
http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/i...007_103928.jpg
This picture shows my car kracker with the jumpers hooked up. Also I noted how the board is connected only in sets of three. Until I corrected my previous set up the micro controller board got power but I didn't get connectivity.
bropane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:51 PM   #213
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
I am getting power, but no connectivity. its strange.. the radio shows that something is there with a weird symbol and an a.. then im not getting any music from my sd card.. also the clown nose doesnt blink when i turned on the chip and pressed p4. I hope i didnt waste money on this because at the moment it is not working and i checked every solder point, i did it just like the diagram.. any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:02 PM   #214
serdar255
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,109
My Ride: '01 325ci / '90 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriGregorio View Post
I am getting power, but no connectivity. its strange.. the radio shows that something is there with a weird symbol and an a.. then im not getting any music from my sd card.. also the clown nose doesnt blink when i turned on the chip and pressed p4. I hope i didnt waste money on this because at the moment it is not working and i checked every solder point, i did it just like the diagram.. any help would be greatly appreciated!
same
__________________

image (10) by serdar.gurhan, on Flickr
For coding, custom shift knobs, and vinyl stickers: PM me
serdar255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:18 PM   #215
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Quote:
Originally Posted by serdar255 View Post
same
dude if you get this issue fixed please lemme know :o im so excited for this to work !!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #216
nmcclana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 55
My Ride: 2000 323i
Hey guys! I'm back - I've been working on hardware for the past few weeks, although there is an update to the firmware;

Firmware .65 is out
Download
This fixes a significant USB bug - under some conditions, text meant for the Serial terminal would write into the radio display, causing problems. The new firmware fixes that. There were also a few small bugs like outputting mono instead of stereo for wav playback.

New iBus TX/RX circuit

I spent most of my time working on the RX/TX circuit - after a week of scoping, simulating and testing, I have a handle on the problem and solution.

First, the solution: The 22k resistor on the transistor needs to change to a lower value - 10k or lower. On some cars (like mine), the 22k resistor will work, but a 10k resistor will work on all cars.

The Problem: The bus is pulled up to 14v through a resistor - it idles at 14v. To communicate, you connect the bus to ground. If your car has a low value resistor pulling up the bus, the 22k resistor is too small to sink the bus.

I'm also finishing some additional updates - they're coming up!
nmcclana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:04 PM   #217
jr23xit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phila
Posts: 7
My Ride: 325xiT
looking forward to going back over everything with this new information.. any reason to think that a much lower resistor would not work, say 5k or 1k?

Also in bropane's pic above, I think he is just showing how he fixed a soldering mistake/problem.. those jumpers would not normally be necessary but I think he deviated from the layout and moved his transistor and connectors over by a row.. the jumpers just get it back to the original layout.. from what I can tell.
jr23xit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:38 PM   #218
nmcclana
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 55
My Ride: 2000 323i
@jr - Any value, 10k or less should work - I'm using 1k because it's a standard series value. Note that this on the transistor base. Do you have a 5k or 1k laying around? You can drop it in parallel with the 22k resistor on the board.
nmcclana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:46 PM   #219
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 608
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmcclana View Post
@jr - Any value, 10k or less should work - I'm using 1k because it's a standard series value. Note that this on the transistor base. Do you have a 5k or 1k laying around? You can drop it in parallel with the 22k resistor on the board.
do you have a bluetooth write up anywhere ?
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 01:56 PM   #220
alpine003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 276
My Ride: BMW
Although I applaud the OP and his efforts, if one only wants to do simple bluetooth streaming(and for users without dsp or nav), why not just get something ready to go out of the box like this?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/AUX-adapter-...d0c191&vxp=mtr
__________________
alpine003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use