E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 337 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 10-04-2012, 01:51 PM   #2841
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahiilseth View Post
Hi:
The wifi on my unit is not working properly, when I turn it on, it tries scanning and then shuts off. Here is what I have tried:
- using the front reset button to reset it
- used setting privacy -> erase all data
- used the sd card to flash the firmware
- disconnected and reconnected the wifi card: this + formattin again worrked. so I installed a extension cable to put the wifi stick in glove box (just in case it happens again).
- Put all the apps back in... and I am again back to square one...
and have tried everything again... but nothing !!

Guys please help!
what happens if you connect to an open wifi network?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 01:10 PM   #2842
sahiilseth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
My Ride: BMW 325i
It is just unable to find a wi-fi network (open or restricted). If I just remove the wifi adapter I get the same error, perhaps that says something.
Jeff I got this from you, help will be really appreciated.
sahiilseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:17 PM   #2843
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Sounds like the USB extension you are using could be at fault or the wifi antenna could be the problem. Plug the wifi directly into the back to rule out the cable, then Email me if you need further assistance.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:15 AM   #2844
mattfarrington
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Londonderry
Posts: 278
My Ride: 04 325xi
Hey I was thinking of buying one of these. The Android version.
Curious if I need to remove the iSimple (Ipod integration) unit I have?
I know that I wouldn't need it anymore now that I will have the Dynavin D99.

Also, I've looked up a lot in the last few hours, and I'm curious..

The maps will work if I don't have an internet connection, correct? As long as I download the right apps or whatever?
(It's late so I may be a little off in my explanations. Normally I'm good with tech stuff)

And does the unit come with a 3g modem, in which I can pop a sim card into?
If not, how much extra is this?

Do the units come updated?
mattfarrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:04 PM   #2845
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,422
My Ride: 2000 323i
Still cannot get android side to update, or work at all for that matter, did all the formatting and downloaded software installed in root and nothing.
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:57 PM   #2846
sahiilseth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
My Ride: BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Sounds like the USB extension you are using could be at fault or the wifi antenna could be the problem. Plug the wifi directly into the back to rule out the cable, then Email me if you need further assistance.
Hi Jeff:
I removed the unit to get the extension out and plug in the wifi stick directly.
- restarted the unit, tried searching for networks... Nothing
- did a reset using the front button... Nothing
- reinstalled the firmware as the last resort, even this did not work.

Have the same error as before - unable to scan wifi networks

Have had the issue for months, always thought it was a software issue, and never got around reinstalling it. Now it seems it's deeper than a minor bug
sahiilseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:39 AM   #2847
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Sahilseth, Email me, sounds like it might be something hardware related, either in the wifi antenna or the main unit, might be a warranty situation.



Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDRick323 View Post
Still cannot get android side to update, or work at all for that matter, did all the formatting and downloaded software installed in root and nothing.
Contact your dealer for warranty service, either you are doing something wrong or the card reader is not functioning.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-14-2012 at 08:44 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:06 PM   #2848
steeck1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Williamsport, PA
Posts: 7
My Ride: 2003 330ci
Just a quick question? What all won't work with the Android version if I don't have internet connected at all times? I understand the Nav and using the web or certain apps but will the clock still keep the correct time? I like the looks of the Android version and some of the stuff it can do but I dont want a monthly bill for my car stereo.
Thanks
steeck1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:19 PM   #2849
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
If you connect to your home wifi to set everything up and get the apps you want you can get away without having it tethered, But it will basically be a clock, music player, and nav (if you get an offline nav app). When I have an android unit in my car I rarely have it tethered for day to day use but when im on a longer trip having pandora or google nav is nice (although the same functionality can be had on a cell phone and audio streamed to the dynavin).
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:44 PM   #2850
BMWboi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 87
My Ride: 04 330ci 6spd
Sorry if this was asked already, will this unit work on a car that never came with a screen/gps? I'm mainly looking for in-dash gps solution.
BMWboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:51 PM   #2851
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
Yes, please see the FAQ on my website, the link is in my sig. You will need the "Fakra cable" to connect the radio wiring in your trunk to the dynavin in your dash.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:05 PM   #2852
rev4turbomonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: midlands
Posts: 14
My Ride: toyota
Hi Jeff you talk about a tool to reformat the sd card to do a firmware update. I lost my original card have another 2gb card what do i need my dealer in the uk has been no help with the problems i Have had including the cd drive failing although that is not a big concern a response regarding my email would have been nice. Would really like some help to reinstall my firmware and get my wifi working again which stop recently.

Many thanks

Matt
rev4turbomonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:50 PM   #2853
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
email me for it, my email is on our website.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 12:30 PM   #2854
sconnors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Clairsville
Posts: 4
My Ride: '02 330i sedan
Okay, so I've finally finished reading all 143 pages of this thread. (Whew!!)

I'm only left with a couple of questions:

1. I'm only getting sound out of the front speakers. I saw Jeff's advice about changing the setting, do you think that would fix it?

2. Can I tether my Droid X to this unit?

3. This thing runs Android, so does that mean I can install apps on it?

4. Jeff, I bought a cheap Chinese version that looks just like the units you sell. I'm having some trouble with it. Would you mind stopping over at my house to help me out? I'm only a couple hours away. Thanks in advance.


..


..


..


Sorry...couldn't resist.
sconnors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:50 PM   #2855
rev4turbomonster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: midlands
Posts: 14
My Ride: toyota
Thanks to Jeff I am back up and running. I need to get a couple of things to get the best from this unit for me. I need to replace the wifi dongle as mine has fallen apart somehow wedged in the dash. What is suitable for me to use? I then need a usb hub bluetooth dongle and bluetooth obd reader to get torque working. Any recommendations on what to use and where to get it as I'm in the UK.

cheers

Matt
rev4turbomonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:53 PM   #2856
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,664
My Ride: BMW
You are going to have to ask the android experts on those questions.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:01 PM   #2857
E46er75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 298
My Ride: 323i Vert, 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by sahiilseth View Post
Hi Jeff:
I removed the unit to get the extension out and plug in the wifi stick directly.
- restarted the unit, tried searching for networks... Nothing
- did a reset using the front button... Nothing
- reinstalled the firmware as the last resort, even this did not work.

Have the same error as before - unable to scan wifi networks

Have had the issue for months, always thought it was a software issue, and never got around reinstalling it. Now it seems it's deeper than a minor bug
I'm having the same issue.. I have to reinstall the firmware to get it to work? I have my wifi usb stick plugged directly into the back of the unit. Every time I go to scan network it times out. Any other suggestions?

Another issue I have is when it boots up in defaults to the back up camera screen. I don;t have one so it is just a blank black screen with an error? Any suggestions?
E46er75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:15 PM   #2858
live2ride090
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 66
My Ride: 2002 M3 E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sconnors View Post
Okay, so I've finally finished reading all 143 pages of this thread. (Whew!!)

I'm only left with a couple of questions:

1. I'm only getting sound out of the front speakers. I saw Jeff's advice about changing the setting, do you think that would fix it?

2. Can I tether my Droid X to this unit?

3. This thing runs Android, so does that mean I can install apps on it?

4. Jeff, I bought a cheap Chinese version that looks just like the units you sell. I'm having some trouble with it. Would you mind stopping over at my house to help me out? I'm only a couple hours away. Thanks in advance.


..


..


..


Sorry...couldn't resist.
Droid X does NOT work for tethering. I used to have one and got a different phone that works.

You can install apps once you are connected to a wifi network or tethered to your phone.
live2ride090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:18 PM   #2859
sconnors
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Clairsville
Posts: 4
My Ride: '02 330i sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by live2ride090 View Post
Droid X does NOT work for tethering. I used to have one and got a different phone that works.

You can install apps once you are connected to a wifi network or tethered to your phone.
..I was afraid someone might miss the sarcasm
sconnors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:18 AM   #2860
live2ride090
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 66
My Ride: 2002 M3 E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by sconnors View Post
..I was afraid someone might miss the sarcasm
Haha I have seen so many of these on here I guess I did miss it, my bad.
live2ride090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use