E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 12:48 PM   #21
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,485
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
It could be dozens of reasons. I'll throw 2 more...

Make sure the MB isn't grounding out on the case. AKA extra stand off pins

Connectors all plugged in correctly that control the ON button, Reset, LED lights, etc?

That's the most common cause
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.

Last edited by JonJon; 10-05-2012 at 12:49 PM.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:53 PM   #22
Press22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 436
My Ride: 01 325ci
Always test motherboards outside the case before builds.
Press22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:22 PM   #23
deafboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 26,609
My Ride: 2000 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lusticles View Post
When I had an HP desktop the motherboard went out just after the warranty was up. So about a year after the purchase.

The buttons would light up, the backlight on the monitor would come on, but otherwise nothing would happen. The sound didn't work either.

Might be the same problem you're having.

I had a lot of photos and work saved on it.

Took it to a repair place hoping that at least they could recover my files but to no avail.
Then the tech was an idiot...the data will still be accessible on the hard drive if the motherboard dies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJon View Post
It could be dozens of reasons. I'll throw 2 more...

Make sure the MB isn't grounding out on the case. AKA extra stand off pins

Connectors all plugged in correctly that control the ON button, Reset, LED lights, etc?

That's the most common cause
Agreed.

Before RMA'ing it...because that's just going to be a bitch.

Take it all outside the case, put the mobo on a cardboard box and power it up using the on-board power button.
__________________
-Cole aka bigtall*****

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owtlaw333 View Post
You'll always be pretty in my eyes, Cole :luv:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrissspyy View Post
i was like passed out while she's shoving the entire bar in my mouth. :rofl: :rofl:
deafboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:45 PM   #24
BimmersGarage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas, TX (USA)
Posts: 2,199
My Ride: E46 330i
Send a message via Skype™ to BimmersGarage
Have you tried to reset/clear the EFI?
BimmersGarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:55 PM   #25
BWOODM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 412
My Ride: 2002 M3 convertible
Did you try control-alt-delete?????
BWOODM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:23 PM   #26
Owtlaw333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HB, CA
Posts: 7,609
My Ride: 2009 Mazdaspeed 3 GT
Quote:
Originally Posted by braymond141 View Post
Power on Self Test is NOT the same thing as standby power to the board. You don't understand.



That is not what I said. What I wrote is correct and applicable to this issue. I was specifically calling you out for incorrect diagnoses from your post referencing CPU, and RAM. These items do not cause a system to not POWER ON, meaning come out of standby power, they are what prevent the computer from completing the POST. You will still get a flicker on of power then immediate system off if the CPU is physically damaged, sometimes the caps will sizzle and smoke.

Standby Power
Power On
POST
Boot

These are all different things. The OP is not getting power on, just standby power. When he says NOTHING happens, that means nothing turns to on. No fans, no lights, nothing... just standby power stuck. See the difference? If the OP has some type of power on (a standy power LED is NOT power on), THEN these components need to be checked.
You're making a ton of assumptions based on things that don't exist in the dude's original post. And no, a mobo WON'T necessarily just turn off if there is a faulty CPU. He never said standby or otherwise... just that there was power.....................
__________________
Bringing it back for the new people...

productionof1.com
|||_Buy my photos?_|||

Last edited by Owtlaw333; 10-06-2012 at 06:24 PM.
Owtlaw333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:08 PM   #27
deafboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 26,609
My Ride: 2000 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owtlaw333 View Post
You're making a ton of assumptions based on things that don't exist in the dude's original post. And no, a mobo WON'T necessarily just turn off if there is a faulty CPU. He never said standby or otherwise... just that there was power.....................
I don't really think he's making any kind of assumptions... there is power, but nothing happens except the buttons light up, implying that it's just on standby power.

A good mobo better freaking turn off if their is a faulty CPU, lol.
__________________
-Cole aka bigtall*****

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owtlaw333 View Post
You'll always be pretty in my eyes, Cole :luv:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrissspyy View Post
i was like passed out while she's shoving the entire bar in my mouth. :rofl: :rofl:
deafboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:20 PM   #28
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,766
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Owtlaw333 View Post
You're making a ton of assumptions based on things that don't exist in the dude's original post. And no, a mobo WON'T necessarily just turn off if there is a faulty CPU. He never said standby or otherwise... just that there was power.....................
I gave a thorough list of things to check and making corrections to things others said. Go back and read it again. This is based on his description of the issue.

Same kind of BS that happens when people say their car won't start.

Last edited by braymond141; 10-06-2012 at 11:21 PM.
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use