E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 11:35 AM   #21
joegr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 230
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunsetcoast View Post
Is our sedan the only car in North America that doesn't have that button? If so, how difficult is it to retrofit?
What do you mean? My 325i has the button, although it could be in a better location.
joegr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:08 PM   #22
sunsetcoast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 802
My Ride: '99 323i & '00 323iT
I mean that, where our Touring has a button (above the hood release lever), our '99 323i has a smooth piece of plastic. No button. Power everthing else, but no remote trunk opening unless you use a key.
sunsetcoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #23
Brinkley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: asheville NC
Posts: 1,502
My Ride: 99 328i, 07 z4 3.0
That's odd. Perhaps you could simply install the release button, if it's prewired.
Brinkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:15 PM   #24
flickinswitches
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 25
My Ride: 2000 318i Executive
So to diagnose the problem which is the fuse for the trunk release ?
flickinswitches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:37 PM   #25
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 9,457
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Look at the cheat sheet that is in the fuse box.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:38 PM   #26
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 9,457
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinkley View Post
Huh?

haha i provided no context. There was just some kid up there who posted his age. I thought it was funny.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:00 PM   #27
Wolrab
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 485
My Ride: 330Ci MT, 545i SMG
Send a message via Skype™ to Wolrab
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
The only people who mention their age are all younger than 18.
I'm 58. And I'm not living with my mother.
__________________
Engineers do it with a torque wrench
Wolrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:08 PM   #28
flickinswitches
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 25
My Ride: 2000 318i Executive
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
Look at the cheat sheet that is in the fuse box.
None of them give any indication they relate to anything to do with the trunk release?
flickinswitches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 09:56 PM   #29
e4Tsex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,350
My Ride: '00 328i ZSP w/ 194k
I would GUESS that it's the same fuse as for the door locks. Take that one out and see if your trunk still opens.
__________________

dr-z400s / cannondale caad 5
'91 BMW 318is -> '95 BMW 318ti -> '00 BMW 328i

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330msport View Post
i heard that this cars go like 300k miles
e4Tsex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:38 AM   #30
cityjohn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,529
My Ride: 2001 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by e4Tsex View Post
I would GUESS that it's the same fuse as for the door locks. Take that one out and see if your trunk still opens.
Yes. I would start with #52, then try #49 and #60.

And to those retrofitting the switch by the hood release: Why not just use the touchpad switch above the license plate? The switch by the driver is redundant anyway. The only time I think the button is useful is with some passengers, it's easier to just "pop the trunk" for them to get in than explain how they need to press the pad below the trunk handle. They just stand back there looking at it...
__________________
cityjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:20 AM   #31
Brinkley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: asheville NC
Posts: 1,502
My Ride: 99 328i, 07 z4 3.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
haha i provided no context. There was just some kid up there who posted his age. I thought it was funny.
I know. Just trollin for some lols. This board needs some.
Brinkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 06:31 PM   #32
sunsetcoast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 802
My Ride: '99 323i & '00 323iT
Quote:
Originally Posted by cityjohn View Post
Why not just use the touchpad switch above the license plate?
Sort of like power windows on a coupe. Or remote locks when there is a place for a physical key. It is more convenient.
sunsetcoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 06:35 PM   #33
topdown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
My Ride: 323ci
So, my trunk button, soft trunk pad, or key fob (for anything) will not work - only the key will open the trunk.... and as we already know from the door, the locks will fail.
Input? and where is this wire you speak of that my be the culprit?
Thanks!
[2000 323ci conv]
topdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:41 PM   #34
wildirish317
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,832
My Ride: 2004 325Ci vert
First, check the position of your glove box lock. You have a convertible (deduced by your username). One position of the glove box lock will disable the trunk lock. It's called the valet position, and is a feature that has driven vert owners nuts for over 10 years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bentley
In Convertible models, the glove
compartment lock is integrated into
central locking functions. An additional
lock actuator is positioned above the
glove compartment lock, locking it
whenever central locking is activated.
A microswitch on the glove compartment
lock cylinder signals the GM V to lock
the trunk electrically. This is the
equivalent of valet key position. The
trunk can only be opened with either the
remote (FZV) key or the wallet key.
Also, the trunk is locked whenever the
top storage compartment is unlocked
while the top is raised or lowered. The
top storage cover motor Hall sensor
signals the GM V whenever the cover is
unlocked.
__________________


“The test of the machine is the satisfaction it gives you. There isn't any other test. If the machine produces tranquility it's right. If it disturbs you it's wrong until either the machine or your mind is changed.”

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Miller
I just don't know what I'd do with 560 hp that doesn't involve getting arrested.

Last edited by wildirish317; 03-21-2014 at 07:47 PM. Reason: added reference
wildirish317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 07:49 PM   #35
beeemerdude
Banned User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: near Vancouver
Posts: 1,053
My Ride: Cabrio. Stick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lusticles View Post
She was checking your trunk for drugs, and whatever else you crazy kids do these days.
also lookin for possible 3 dead hookers? (like that car trunk decal)
beeemerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
button, dash, trunk, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use