E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 09:37 AM   #1
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
ESS TS3 Supercharger for 328

Hi, (I have a 328 TS2)

I would like to upgrade to a ESS TS3.
I have been informed that I can not as I use the MS42 DME not the MS43 DME.
It must be possible because "Kevinterkelson" has the TS3 setup up on his 328.

As this kit requires the istall of lower compression poistons, I was going to install the M54B30 Crank and Rods to increase my displacement to 3.0l at the same time.

Does any one know of others who have this kit on their 328 or MS42 DME?

Thanks
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #2
BartenderPlease
OEM ///Member
 
BartenderPlease's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 9,148
My Ride: 328i Sport
In....my dream kit for this engine and will do it when it dies.
__________________

awaits: hot cams, headers, tune
image
AERA Performance Engine Builder
| BBS | FK | Rogue Eng | K&N | Exhaust | 330i Brakes |
| b30 manifold | ported head | FX-R/Orion V4 | LEDs |
| Alcantara | Khoalty Knob | JL Audio |

BartenderPlease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:38 PM   #3
AndyN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 206
My Ride: ESS TS2 325ci
Hey, I would have presumed that upgrading the displacement between the 328 and 330 would have been the easier part. Have you emailed ESS for the upgrade. I thought the even agreed to do a TS3 on a guy who has a TS2 2.2 (cant remember his name but did a great build DIY). Maybe I am imagining it was him but I thought that someone said before that ESS would do the build!..

If it wasnt possible would it not be possible to source a 330 engine with the DME attached and get that sent off for a tune while you install the pistons and rods on you new engine while it is already not attached?
Just a suggestion
__________________
AndyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:40 AM   #4
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by BartenderPlease View Post
In....my dream kit for this engine and will do it when it dies.
LOL, yeah... I'm dreaming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
Hey, I would have presumed that upgrading the displacement between the 328 and 330 would have been the easier part. Have you emailed ESS for the upgrade. I thought the even agreed to do a TS3 on a guy who has a TS2 2.2 (cant remember his name but did a great build DIY). Maybe I am imagining it was him but I thought that someone said before that ESS would do the build!..

If it wasnt possible would it not be possible to source a 330 engine with the DME attached and get that sent off for a tune while you install the pistons and rods on you new engine while it is already not attached?
Just a suggestion
Yes, changing the crank and rods is not too difficult to get 3.0l.
Yes, I Emailed Hans, he has informed me that the upgraded is only available for MS43 software.
I am looking at this possiblility as well, M54B30 motor and MS43 DME, but not sure what else I would have to consider to make this a reality. If it was just a straight swap (M54B30 with MS43 DME) then I would do this. As, the M54B30 has electric throtle and the M52TUB2.8 has a cable.

I may just source a piggy back module to tune-in the TS3 @ 15psi.

Cheers
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:39 PM   #5
AndyN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 206
My Ride: ESS TS2 325ci
That sounds like a plan! I wonder would it be more expensive than buying a second hand b30 engine and replacing all the parts and just mounting it! (Provided you can get a good price on engine + DME). Im sure with the 330 DME you would also need the 330 throttle body also so this would completely replace your cable operated system.
Hopefully someone else can chime in who has done a 328 330 conversion!!!?
Best of luck with it anyway, seems like it will be much easier when I upgrade from TS2 to TS3 on the 325.. (soon......)
__________________
AndyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:48 AM   #6
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
That sounds like a plan! I wonder would it be more expensive than buying a second hand b30 engine and replacing all the parts and just mounting it! (Provided you can get a good price on engine + DME). Im sure with the 330 DME you would also need the 330 throttle body also so this would completely replace your cable operated system.
Hopefully someone else can chime in who has done a 328 330 conversion!!!?
Best of luck with it anyway, seems like it will be much easier when I upgrade from TS2 to TS3 on the 325.. (soon......)
If I buy a M54B30 + MS43 DME, I will still have to pull out the crank and rods to replace the pistons to the LCP's.

Yes, when changing to the M54 throtle body I will also have to update the accelerator as well.

Yes, you will have an easy option with your TS3, all I can say... is go for it. And you might as well bump the capacity to 3.0l as well.
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:03 AM   #7
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,912
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
Back in 2008.. I asked ESS

Quote:
to Hans
Hello Hans. I have started a new project and I was wondering if you can answer me a couple of questions.

I have a spare M54B22 engine with 39000 miles in my yard. The engine is burning oil due to weak piston rings, nevertheless it was pulling strong with no water-oil mixing or anything similar.
I am thinking (one step at a time):

1. Dismantle engine completely
2. Polish cylinders, head, valve seats, weld oil pump shaft nut
3. Port & Polish exhaust
4. New VANOS seals, gaskets, valve seals, whatever needs replacing due to wear/tear
5. Throw lower compression pistons
6. Put my current twinscrew supercharger in that engine with raised PSI (11-13psi)
7. Install ESS Spec Camshafts
8. New custom tuned software
9. Once finished, throw it in my current car.

After doing some research, it appears that the 2.2 can be stroked to 2.6L (bore: 80,00 mm stroke: 84,00 mm effective capacity: 2532 ccm, compression ratio: 10,5)

Can You provide the stroker kit? (pistons/rods/crankshaft)

Can this configuration work with 13PSI ? What can be done regarding software? And finally, what's the projected HP output of such engine if you have a rough idea? Have you ever done this before?

Thank you in advance,
Reply
Quote:
Sent: Thursday, December 04, 2008 1:15 AM
Subject: Re: Stroked 2.2 to 2.6L & Supercharged Engine Project

Hi Paris,

This can be done. You can use the M54B30 crank/rods and custom TS3 pistons with M54B22 bore.

I would think the 330 TS3 software would be very close so it could work just fine at 15-16PSI..
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:35 AM   #8
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Hi paraklas,

My problem is I have a MS42 DME and you have a MS43 DME, Hans told me the tune for TS3 is only for MS43 DME.

Cheers
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:36 PM   #9
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,138
My Ride: '02 330iT
Once you are getting into TS3 kind of money you might as well swap the engine management. Use your block with B30 crank.
__________________
Because sleeper.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:46 PM   #10
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
Once you are getting into TS3 kind of money you might as well swap the engine management. Use your block with B30 crank.
The MS43 Engine management swap looks like it is a bit too involved from other posts I have read on here, one person giving up totally.

As I will be installing Low Compression Pistons, I have already diecided to source a B30 crank and rods to increase capacity to 3.0l or if cheap enough I will rebuild a M54B30 motor using my MS42 DME. Then sell my M52TUB28 to off set the cost.

It looks like the easiest solution for me is to buy a Piggyback Module and tune the TS3 setup this way.

Cheers
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #11
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,138
My Ride: '02 330iT
If you thing that tuning a standalone or piggyback is easier than a harness swap ...
I don't.
I'll say it again TS3 and low budget doesn't mix.
It might be even easier to just sell your car and start with another one.
__________________
Because sleeper.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 03:42 AM   #12
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
If you thing that tuning a standalone or piggyback is easier than a harness swap ...
I don't.
I'll say it again TS3 and low budget doesn't mix.
It might be even easier to just sell your car and start with another one.
LOL, I have thought about starting again.
I have spoken to some tuners about the piggy back option, they all say it will work fine using the AEM 30-1910.
I am in the process of speaking with tuners who can map my current MS42 as well for the SC application.

Cheers
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 12:59 PM   #13
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
TS2 with 15psi pulley setup using Haltech PS2000

Engine: M54B30
Kit/Stage: ESS TS2. (using ESS 15 psi pulley)
Other Power adders: Custom 2.5" exhaust, Haltech PS2000
Type of Dyno: Dyno Dynamics
Miles on car: 193K Km's (120K Miles)
Miles with S/C: 50K Km's
HP: 329 whp
TRQ: 424 ftlb

Dyno is of: Old M52TU28 on E85 (296whp) Vs New M54B30 on 98 Fuel (93 USA) (329whp)

I will hopefully post up E85 tune after a couple of weeks once completed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	M52TU28 on E85 v M54B30 on 98 RON.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	557126  
__________________

Last edited by cosmos328Ci; 05-07-2014 at 01:14 AM. Reason: Clarification
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 03:24 PM   #14
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 289
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos328Ci View Post
Engine: M54B30
Kit/Stage: ESS TS2. (using ESS 15 psi pulley)
Other Power adders: Custom 2.5" exhaust, Haltech PS2000
Type of Dyno: Dyno Dynamics
Miles on car: 193K Km's (120K Miles)
Miles with S/C: 50K Km's
HP: 329 whp
TRQ: 424 ftlb

Dyno is of: Old M52TU28 on E85 (296whp) Vs New M54B30 on 98 Fuel (93 USA) (329whp)

I will hopefully post up E85 tune after a couple of weeks once completed.

can you please elaborate a little more about the stand alone installation:
- Where did you get the harness
- Do you still have your MS42 DME installed in your car
- You can tune the VANOS in the Haltech?
- Do you know if you can tune the drive by wire gas pedal using the Haltech?
- Who can tune your Haltech?
- When you install the Haltech, were did you get the base tune?
- Your tuner can made web tuning (maybe using skype or something?)

regards,


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 04:25 PM   #15
diablorojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA ..now Houston, TX
Posts: 312
My Ride: Supercharged 330i
That dyno seems way low for 15psi....
__________________
Started ESS...ended CUSTOM!
diablorojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:39 PM   #16
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdjg View Post
can you please elaborate a little more about the stand alone installation:
- Where did you get the harness - modified from the original harness.
- Do you still have your MS42 DME installed in your car - yes, it takes care of the dash, Etc.
- You can tune the VANOS in the Haltech? - Only the inlet cam and lock the exhaust cam.
- Do you know if you can tune the drive by wire gas pedal using the Haltech?not sure, mine is cable.
- Who can tune your Haltech? We have a lot of Haltech tuners here or your can tune it your self if competent.
- When you install the Haltech, were did you get the base tune? My tuner.
- Your tuner can made web tuning (maybe using skype or something?)

regards,


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablorojo View Post
That dyno seems way low for 15psi....
Yes, my tuner is very conservative, considering I am still running OEM compression. I have heaps of flywheel torque which makes the car fun to drive.
The reason for OEM Comp is the car is set up for E85 fuel.
Once tuned for E85 should pull some better HP numbers, even with a conservative tune.

329 whp on Dynodynamics is about 365 whp on a Dyno Jet. (still low I know)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	M52TU28 on E85 v M54B30 on 98 RON.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	557176  
__________________

Last edited by cosmos328Ci; 05-05-2014 at 07:42 PM.
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 04:59 AM   #17
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablorojo View Post
That dyno seems way low for 15psi....
What Hp and Tq are you at?

Do you have a dyno of your setup?

Chees
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 12:56 AM   #18
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 227
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Today: 357 Hp / 450 ft/lb - Dyno Dynamics

M54B30 on E85 - Still got the Meth/Water Injection to go. (could not get the controller to work ) So no meth yet, it's all hooked up and ready to go though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	E85_V1. M54B30 on E85 Vs 98 RON.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	187.1 KB
ID:	559180  
__________________

Last edited by cosmos328Ci; 05-25-2014 at 12:02 AM. Reason: No Meth.
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use