Dynavin Android Users, Please Advise - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum

BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by BAVSOUND

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 01:37 PM   #1
MiniDitka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 15
My Ride: 2004 M3
Red face Dynavin Android Users, Please Advise

I am preparing to swap out my Business CD unit with a new Dynavin Android Unit.

As you know there are two internal boards, the stereo/phone board and the Nav board. They each have their own USB inputs. I have ordered flushmount usb cabling for the Stereo side.

The most common application for the Android USB side is simply a WiFi dongle that is forever plugged in and out of sight.

My question for you is whether or not you think it might be worth it to run a USB cable from the Android side to a USB Hub (perhaps in the glove box) that can then connect the WiFi dongle, a Bluetooth Dongle, Thumb drive USB storage, additional USB devices like phones/cameras for charging, etc?

I know the app Torque allows you to read OBDII codes in real time through the use of a bluetooth OBD transmitter so this could be one reason.

Anyway, any insight that you might provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-MD
MiniDitka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #2
ZXERT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 15
My Ride: The Bus
Very interested as well. I'm not sure that you could just plug in a hub and receive power to all of the other devices. But maybe the dynavin units are more complex than I thought.
ZXERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:06 PM   #3
ccc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 33
My Ride: BMW 320D '02
The device must have had built-in Bluetooth least
Maybe in the next version will fix this problem
ccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,063
My Ride: BMW
There is lots of talk about this on the dynavin android thread and the M3evolution thread....search those threads.
__________________
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
android, bluetooth, dynavin, hub, usb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.