E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 12:59 PM   #1
stango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Powder Springs
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2000 328i
Help with instrument cluster, broken display screen

I had the bright idea to take apart my cluster in my 2000 328i and try to fix my broken clock. In the process i did something to break my display screen. All the words and numbers show up broken.

looks like this
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG4199.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	226.1 KB
ID:	478696

Im wondering if it is some type of anti-tamper reaction from the computer. I'm trying to fix it myself before i give up and take it to the dealer.


Any advice at all will be a great help.
stango is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-19-2012, 01:17 PM   #2
jerseyzillest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,576
My Ride: 325 CI
You broke the pixels :/ you'll need a new cluster and get it reprogrammed
__________________
Photobucket


^Taken with iPhone^
:rofl:
jerseyzillest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:01 PM   #3
stango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Powder Springs
Posts: 2
My Ride: 2000 328i
Do you know how much that will cost at the dealer? and can i buy a used one and use that?
stango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
kinglozzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 28
My Ride: 2001 318ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by stango View Post
Do you know how much that will cost at the dealer? and can i buy a used one and use that?
Before you do that, take it apart again, remove the screen and put it back in the other way up.
__________________

kinglozzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:22 PM   #5
flashmeow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,220
My Ride: E30-E46-E90-E90M-F30
Believed it or not but that lcd is removable. I have a bunch of spare instrument cluster parts to include that lcd screen

sent from my dahc-6900 using Bimmer App
flashmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
instrument cluster broken

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use