E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2012, 07:39 PM   #1
najsauto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323CI
hardwiring the v1?

So I was planning to hardwire my V1 to the home link connector using the do it yourself listed by the "m3madrussian.net" guy but as soon as I opened the sun roof motor cover the connector that was up in there did not have the green 12V wire that I need. The connector in my car is black and has 3 wire coming out of it, a yellow, black, and a clear plastic covered looking one. When I look at the pictures listed on madrussian's website I see a "whitefish" connected with a light blue, dark blue, green, and red wire. Am I missing a wire or something? I checked each of the wires for 12V but no dice. SO I checked the garage door fuse and it also looks ok.

Now the question is, is my connector the WRONG connector since it doesn't have 4 wires connecting to it?
OR
Is this the right connector, but for some reason the wire is not "hooked" up to carry the 12V?

Does anyone see any problems if I hardwired it into the front-overhead light (red/white wire)? I got a 12V reading out of it, but I'm not sure if there would be issues with that later on (blowing a fuse or something... I dunno). the light connector is picture ending in 889.

What would you do? (This is a 2000 BMW 323CI)

Sorry about the crappy photos... my digital camera is ancient.

Thanks guys,
A
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010885 2.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	479619   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010888 2.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	88.6 KB
ID:	479620   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010889.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	479621   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010886 2.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	479622  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010887 2.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	479623  
__________________
najsauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-26-2012, 04:41 AM   #2
Blind_Shooter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: bunga bunga
Posts: 246
My Ride: is your sister
thats the same wire i used to wire my passport escort. no problems after a year so far
__________________
smells like crayons

Blind_Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:27 AM   #3
woopaul5
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sahuarita, AZ/Victorville, CA
Posts: 317
My Ride: 2005 M3
Send a message via AIM to woopaul5
The madrussian DIY taps off of your homelink. Check to see if your car is prewired. If it is you might have to dig around for it. Mine was buried up and to the right
woopaul5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:02 AM   #4
najsauto
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2000 BMW 323CI
my bad, I forgot to mention that my car is pre wired for homelink.

thanks for the input blind shooter.
__________________
najsauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:59 AM   #5
VonGeiss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ exit 109
Posts: 1,262
My Ride: 2002 m3
don't they make some sort of inductive clamp for this? My buddy hardwired his v1 to his 996 turbo, and the hardwire kit came with this clamp that goes around one of the wires and powers the radar detector with out having to splice any wires.
__________________

2002 Carbon Black ///M3 - current
2002 Stahlgrau ///M3 - RIP
2001 325i - sold

Instagram: @VONGEISS
VonGeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:48 PM   #6
Solidjake
Zero. Oil. Leaks.
 
Solidjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 22,556
My Ride: 2002 330i
Just for reference, that wire might be tucked in deeper to the passenger side. It IS there.
Solidjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use