E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Classifieds > Buyer/Seller Feedback Forum

Buyer/Seller Feedback Forum
Post your positive or negative feedback about transactions with members here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 10:04 AM   #1
E46 Love
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 15
My Ride: ///M3
Beware of VAC Motorsports

I just had a long headache of an issue with VAC motorsports I wanted to relay to everyone. If they have such a difficult job completing a simple order, Iím not sure how anyone can trust them with something serious like building a motor. This is what happened with me. I got Recaro seats and needed mounting hardware for them and decided to go with all VAC parts since I hear they are the best.

8/15/12
I placed an order with VAC Motorsports. I purchased their seat belt adapters and side mounts for Recaroís. These were placed after speaking on the phone with 2 different representatives and confirmed that these parts are necessary and what would fit my seats.

9/11/12
I attempt installing seats in my car. I begin working on driverís side seat and when I attempt to mount the side mounts to my seats there isnít enough of a gap for a bolt to be put under to fit to the floor mounts. I initially contact VAC and explain the problem. They look it over with their engineer and say that maybe Iím putting the side mounts on backwards. I try flipping them around (they are now the opposite of what the install instructions I am provided with say) and they still donít work. They agree that their side mounts are the issue and I request these to be replaced with Recaro side mounts. My car remains apart as I figure the replacement mounts will be here shortly and I donít want to go through the labor and spend the time to put my car back together when Iíll just have to pull it apart again in a couple days.

9/12/12
Am told by VAC rep that they will place a order for them to be drop shipped to me.

9/13/12
I find out that there is only 1 side of Recaro side mounts in stock through phone call and I should be receiving it tomorrow. I figure Iíll just get the one side for now as my car is apart and waiting for these parts to put it back together. Later that day I sent a email to VAC asking which ones they ordered. Steel/Aluminum and to confirm a pic of what they ordered.

9/14/12
I get a reply saying he BELIEVES they are the aluminum Recaro universals.

9/15/12-9/23/12
I call and email every 1-2 days requesting tracking information. I either get no replyís, take messages and never here back, or a let me check and call you right back and nothing ever happens.

9/24/12
I finally get the VAC representative on the phone and he says that he forgot to order me the side mounts. Not sure how that is possible as he had already told me that he has done it and I kept bugging him about it. He said he would order them right then and I would be getting them in a few days.

Then towards the end of the day I get a email saying that they cannot order me my replacement side mounts until I have a tracking number for them for the return of the old mounts. I respond with an email saying how ridiculous it is that they couldnít have told me this 2 weeks ago when we initially had the issue. I have already waited a long time with no resolve. I leave my class and rush home to make it to the UPS store and send the brackets out. Send him the tracking info.

9/25/12
Get a response saying that he is sorry and they are short staffed recently.

9/28/12
VAC receives the side mounts I shipped back to them. I still do not have a tracking number.

9/29/12
I inform VAC that I have shipped their side mounts back to them across the country before they can even provide me with a tracking number for my replacements. I also ship back the seat belt adapters and provide them the tracking number for that item. I request a refund for both items. Order side mounts through another distributor.

10/1/12
I get a response from VAC rep in shock that I have not received the mounts yet. Well, why would I have if he never placed the order? Agrees to send me a refund for my order.

10/9/12
I still have not received a refund from VAC. I open a credit card dispute.

11/6/12
Was expecting credit card company to contact me and get my side of the story and emails that I have from VAC. They close the case stating that VAC has a tracking number for the replacement side mounts for me (still doesnít explain the seat belt adapters either). I am still waiting on that tracking number or any info. They also stated that I have damaged their side mounts in the process of attempting to install them as they have scratches on them and are now unsellable. So for those of you who decide to use the VAC mounts, do not torque your bolts down as that is apparently not the way they are supposed to be installed. I have reopened my credit card dispute and will be submitting all paperwork so they can see who clearly is at fault and the liar in this case.

After close to a month of not receiving mounts, now I am close to a month without a refund either. Take it for what itís worth but I will not be ordering from VAC anymore. I donít mean to bash them because they make some good products like their floor mounts, but this was just ridiculous and I needed to share. There are plenty of better vendors who have gone above and beyond in helping me and they deserve my business.
__________________
2005 ///M3 Titanium Silver/Black 6SPD
E46 Love is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use