E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 51 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 01-21-2013, 04:21 PM   #2001
madbull1986
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 6
My Ride: 320d Touring
Hello to all community,
This is my first post.
I my must thank you all for all the information that you share.
I am searching to buy a new radio for my touring and i have read all the available information about all units available on the market,
i end up here, in my opinion this new Enco unit have all that i search in a radio and you guys are providing excelent tips and sharing your thoughts which help me a lot on my decision.
But i have one question:
There isn't anybody with the new unit thinking in making a youtube video???
That would be awesome to see this unit working.
Please consider that and hope in the near future i can help you guys in some troubleshoots on this unit!!!
Keep the good work.
Regards
madbull1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:25 PM   #2002
bjornh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 16
My Ride: 320iAT
This is awesome news. Congrats PainBreak and jchuillier, and thanks on behalf of the community. ENCO should compensate you for the boatloads of sales you just ensured them. I'm getting two of them asap. :-D

Last edited by bjornh; 01-21-2013 at 04:47 PM.
bjornh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:23 PM   #2003
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,019
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
I don't see a price on this.. anyone have it? http://www.szenco.com/page-8-94.html
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:54 PM   #2004
monty13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 100
My Ride: 1999 e46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by PainBreak View Post
Via the forum link. I had trouble with it on the external SD card, but was able to make it work fine from the "internal" sd at /mnt/sdcard.

Here was the process I used with success:

1. Downloaded the file.
2. Renamed it to update.zip
3. Used ES File Explorer to move it from a LAN SMB share to /mnt/sdcard
4. Went to Settings > About tablet > System updates > Install system update > From internal storage > Install now
5. Watched it reboot, go through two different Android load screens, then the progress bar started as the Droid robot held a crystal-ball looking thing...
6. It finished up, rebooted. Rooted.

Here's the bad news:
I was able to inject my custom framework.jar into /system/framework, and while it did fix the reported speed issue, Google Navigation still doesn't work. There's a separate problem afoot. Multiple GPS applications show that I'm getting a lock on anywhere from 14 to 22 satellites, so there's no reason Google Navigation should be "Searching for GPS..."

With root, though? It will get fixed.

More good news, though... Now, you can put a reboot widget on your desktop. You can also run Adaway.
Any chance you can figure out how to get into recovery without the Android system starting up?

Mine is still in a continuous bootloop, and I'm thinking if I can load a particular file/ROM onto the SD card and then turn on the unit, I might be able to get it into Recovery and then wipe Dalvic cache, etc. to get it to boot up again... I'm pretty sure I just need to wipe davlic cache, cache, and then I should be able to get the Android side to boot properly.

Thanks,
monty
__________________
monty13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:24 PM   #2005
PainBreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by monty13 View Post
Any chance you can figure out how to get into recovery without the Android system starting up?

Mine is still in a continuous bootloop, and I'm thinking if I can load a particular file/ROM onto the SD card and then turn on the unit, I might be able to get it into Recovery and then wipe Dalvic cache, etc. to get it to boot up again... I'm pretty sure I just need to wipe davlic cache, cache, and then I should be able to get the Android side to boot properly.

Thanks,
monty
Unfortunately, I haven't found any way do that. Don't you have the 2.3 version? It's an entirely different Android board than this one.
__________________
Is your car a Stu Stu Stammering Stan at 2800 RPMS? FLASH THE DME! http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=966614
Enco B046 Android 4.04 Root/FAQ/Help: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=967737
PainBreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:48 AM   #2006
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
Besides that....found my sound problem !!!

The long cable is dead....I found in the shipment that they have also sent 2 short cables, 1 with the 17 pins connector and 1 with the 40 pins connector, I put the unit in the trunk, connected the short cable and voila....

So in the same 24 hours we have root and I have sound....I should quickly play the lottery....
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 03:51 AM   #2007
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchuillier View Post
Besides that....found my sound problem !!!

The long cable is dead....I found in the shipment that they have also sent 2 short cables, 1 with the 17 pins connector and 1 with the 40 pins connector, I put the unit in the trunk, connected the short cable and voila....

So in the same 24 hours we have root and I have sound....I should quickly play the lottery....
Good so it wasn't the unit after all

Much better to ask them to ship out a new cable than a new unit!

Btw did you have to pay more cash for the long cable that runs to the boot or was it included??

Last edited by CTRob; 01-22-2013 at 04:07 AM.
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:03 AM   #2008
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
I got the long cable for $20 extra, and they also sent the 2 short cables, I think that they include the short cables all the time no matter what
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:09 AM   #2009
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchuillier View Post
I got the long cable for $20 extra, and they also sent the 2 short cables, I think that they include the short cables all the time no matter what
Perfect

Any chance you could do me the biggest favour and take a pic of the radio end connector and also how the connector is wired (there should be a picture on top of the head actual unit explaining where each wire goes)?

Reason I ask is I have a Dynavin currently with the long Fakra cable and I have a hunch it is the same cable used between all these systems
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:15 AM   #2010
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
Easy one....the unit is in the boot right now so fully visible
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:35 AM   #2011
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD






jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:12 AM   #2012
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Thanks jchuillier,

Here is the Dynavin sticker - looks fairly similar however I do know on the Dynavin if you plug in the black connector and look at the back of the unit, the yellow wire (battery power) would be the first wire on the top coming from the right hand side whereas on your connector it seems to be the pink wire (your first pic) so the Fakra cables may indeed be wired different..

Alos did you get right angled USB leads with the unit or did you purchase those seperately??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20121204_202333.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	154.9 KB
ID:	487191  

Last edited by CTRob; 01-22-2013 at 06:14 AM.
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:16 AM   #2013
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
It gets more.....complicated

I had a very long chat with Charles on skype.

It turns out that he's sent the softare update to painbreak, he's finished some installation instructions for the update so that's the good news.

The bad news is the definition of "customer service".

As you know I had no sound with the unit with the long cable and when I tried with the short cable it worked, so it's definitely a cable problem, either a short circuit, a bad wiring, it can happen and I'm not willing to scream murder.

I sent a mail to Charles about this problem and got no reply, after 5 days I started a Paypal complain ang got a reply within 1 hour, now we have moved along the complain and I finally sent a message to szenco this morning through the paypal system to leave a trace saying that I had narrowed down the problem to the cable, that they shoild send me a new cable and once I have it I would immediatly cancel my complain.

the conversation with Charles was going smoothly up to the moment when he told me that I had to cancel the complain BEFORE he would send the cable, and since the ONLY way for me to get their attention and a reply was to use the paypal complain I am not ready to give up this weapon yet, I cannot imagine what would happen now if I haid paid with Western Union as Charles insisted I did upon purchase.

I tried explaining to him that :

1) I paid for the long cable
2) It was dead on arrival
3) They should have checked it before sending it

But he kept on telling me that "his boss" (whomever that might be) demanded that I cancel the complain before they send me the cable, I told him politely that it was HIS fault if the cable was dead and that since I had paid for a working system (with the cable) i would cancel my complain when I had a working system, I explained to him that I put his in writing on the paypal site so that there would be a trace of that in case i didn't cancel my complain after having received the cable.

His final reply was to tell me to send the COMPLETE unit back to China (at my expense) and that they would refund my money afterwards.

I don't want to get impolite but you can all imagine how I can feel about such business behaviour, they sent me a defective system, I find the dead component for them and yet they want me to take a $70 charge (shipping) and a $650 risk by cancelling the only weapon I have because they don't want to send me a $20 cable.

So in any case that's where we are now, the unit can be rooted thanks to everybody's efforts, I have sound but "the boss" in china is not ready to send me a $20 replacement cable.

The bottom line for me is as follows.

1) Now that it is rooted it will be a great device
2) These people can ABSOLUTELY NOT be trusted
3) Use paypal to buy and use the complain system, it is the ONLY way to get their attention

I told Charles I would explain the situation there as I feel that transparency is the most efficient way to deal with his boss and hopefully before buying anything from them people will ask the relevant questions.

I knew since the beggining that there would be no warranty on this unit but I expected at least to get a WORKING system, apparently they are not able to provide that, OK, it can happen, anybody can have a bad wiring, but their refusal to admit it and solve the problem by sending a $20 (I don't even want to speculate on how much it actually costs them) part is really annoying, I am not really confident that if the screen breaks down in 6 months during the warranty period they will fulfill their after sales obligations....

I will keep you guys informed on the follow up and we'll see what happens...for those interested I have the complete log of the skype conversation...
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:47 AM   #2014
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG


now what next?
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:06 AM   #2015
PainBreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchuillier View Post
It gets more.....complicated
That's definitely the downside to this, is that customer support is extremely lacking. I think it's a combination of the language barrier, and that given the distance, extreme cost of shipping, and the chance the radio will sit in customs forever and not reach its destination, they feel like we're not empowered enough to demand service.

That said, I did receive the update.zip from Charles last night. It's about 150MB, and I will host it somewhere for the community. However, given that I now have root, and I was able to get the GetSpeed() function corrected in framework.jar on my own, I'm hesitant to apply the update at this moment.

Also, the first thing Charles did when talking on Skype was asked me to cancel the Paypal dispute. I explained to him that it's not a dispute, it was a partial refund request, and that when he declined it, it's as good as canceled. I have not elevated it to a dispute, but that option is available to me, to protect my financial investment.

At that point, he sent me the zip file.

jchuillier: I think your best bet is going to be testing that long cable, figuring out what part of it is bad, and replacing the individual wire(s) along the run. You shouldn't have to, they should send you out a new cable, but it's got to be easier than trying to leverage them into sending you a new one.
__________________
Is your car a Stu Stu Stammering Stan at 2800 RPMS? FLASH THE DME! http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=966614
Enco B046 Android 4.04 Root/FAQ/Help: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=967737
PainBreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:08 AM   #2016
PainBreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by china man View Post


now what next?
What version of Android is that?
__________________
Is your car a Stu Stu Stammering Stan at 2800 RPMS? FLASH THE DME! http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=966614
Enco B046 Android 4.04 Root/FAQ/Help: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=967737
PainBreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:14 AM   #2017
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
2.2.3 I think
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:19 AM   #2018
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by PainBreak View Post
given that I now have root, and I was able to get the GetSpeed() function corrected in framework.jar on my own, I'm hesitant to apply the update at this moment.
Would it not be worth a try to see if Google Nav works using their update pal?
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:53 AM   #2019
PainBreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 128
My Ride: 2004 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTRob View Post
Would it not be worth a try to see if Google Nav works using their update pal?
Before I blindly apply the update, I'm going to do a comparison of the files currently on the system vs the ones in the update. If it fixes the Google Navigation issues, then at least I will know what had broken it.

I REMOVED THE LINK TO THE UPDATE -- IT IS WORTHLESS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by china man View Post
2.2.3 I think
Did you root it using the method mentioned earlier in the thread? If so, that is awesome! Looking at your system, and seeing the popup on the bottom, the first thing I'd do is install Adaway.
__________________
Is your car a Stu Stu Stammering Stan at 2800 RPMS? FLASH THE DME! http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=966614
Enco B046 Android 4.04 Root/FAQ/Help: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=967737

Last edited by PainBreak; 01-23-2013 at 05:26 PM.
PainBreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:00 AM   #2020
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
Given my experience with their customer service I would be super careful with that update....

Painbreak you're right and I've pulled the cable out of the car but still it's hard to recommend this product to someone who can't do some coding himself or use a multimeter for the cable...
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use