E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 48 votes, 4.83 average.
Old 01-21-2013, 08:24 PM   #981
vorceb23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 227
My Ride: 04 330i
With dynavin is the double DIN bezel required? Might be a dumb question & Tried searching on google but didn't find anything.
__________________



R.G.V. 1929-2013 Forever Loved
vorceb23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:38 PM   #982
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,024
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
You dont. There is a setting in the radio settings called BRAKE.
But when I researched the same question, I saw you had to ground the parking wire? I don't know which to believe.
__________________

trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:53 PM   #983
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by vorceb325i View Post
With dynavin is the double DIN bezel required? Might be a dumb question & Tried searching on google but didn't find anything.
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentcdrums View Post
But when I researched the same question, I saw you had to ground the parking wire? I don't know which to believe.
You don't know which to believe?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:26 PM   #984
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,024
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
No



You don't know which to believe?
This is quoted from the dynavin instal guide.

"Using the video functions while you are driving is illegal in many areas so there is a “parking brake” wire in the dynavin harness that is supposed to be hooked to the hand brake circuit so that you cant use the video functions while driving. To make the video functions work all the time you will need to ground the pink parking brake wire in the dynavin harness, easiest way is to splice it to the black ground wire in the dynavin harness. This function is for your passengers only! If you do this and you crash your car because you are watching movies...don't look at me, thats your own fault!"
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:45 PM   #985
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
That was written almost 3 years ago and 4 generations of dynavins ago. Also, I wrote it. So it is advisable that you take the advice I give today over the advice I gave years ago....probably more relevant....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-21-2013 at 09:46 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:55 PM   #986
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,024
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
That was written almost 3 years ago and 4 generations of dynavins ago. Also, I wrote it. So it is advisable that you take the advice I give today over the advice I gave years ago....probably more relevant....
Haha awesome! Is that option only in Dynavin Units?
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:23 AM   #987
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
dont know, most stereos require some kind of brake wiring connections....the dynavin is the only one Ive seen that puts the "bypass" option in a menu. Of course you do so at your own risk and if you crash your car because you are watching videos....well thats on you.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-22-2013 at 10:25 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:51 AM   #988
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,024
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
dont know, most stereos require some kind of brake wiring connections....the dynavin is the only one Ive seen that puts the "bypass" option in a menu. Of course you do so at your own risk and if you crash your car because you are watching videos....well thats on you.
What's the difference between android version and windows. I use an iPhone, so which would I want?
__________________

trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:49 AM   #989
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Read the FAQ on my website, the link is in my signature. In general: If you have to ask....you probably dont want the android unit.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:45 PM   #990
AMG-ETR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,269
My Ride: S54B32 On Boost
Send a message via MSN to AMG-ETR
Does the Wifi automatically connect to a known network or do you have to manually connect it to a tethering device each time?
__________________


AMG-ETR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:52 PM   #991
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
depends on the wifi and settings but in general it will connect automatically.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:15 PM   #992
GeorgeWendt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cheers
Posts: 5
My Ride: 325i
Big shouts to Jeff for all his unwavering assistance with us Dynavin nuts.

I Google'd this literally a zillion times in every way imaginable but I can't seem to find a step-by-step on how flash the software necessary to disable the PDC/OBC screen, audio mute, etc. when reversing. When attempting to install the drivers necessary for the computer to read the black box I get a code 10 error from Windows 7. Without the drivers, the miniUSB cable that I plug into my laptop does nothing.

HALP! I've got the D99 unit and the MC100 SW 2.0.0 software.

Last edited by GeorgeWendt; 01-23-2013 at 06:16 PM.
GeorgeWendt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:16 PM   #993
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,426
My Ride: 2000 323i
Anyone in Dallas Ares, will pay to have someone setup android side for me. I just can't seem to get it right.

Sent from my HTC One V using Bimmer App
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:18 PM   #994
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeWendt View Post
Big shouts to Jeff for all his unwavering assistance with us Dynavin nuts.

I Google'd this literally a zillion times in every way imaginable but I can't seem to find a step-by-step on how flash the software necessary to disable the PDC/OBC screen, audio mute, etc. when reversing. When attempting to install the drivers necessary for the computer to read the black box I get a code 10 error from Windows 7. Without the drivers, the miniUSB cable that I plug into my laptop does nothing.

HALP! I've got the D99 unit and the MC100 SW 2.0.0 software.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDRick323 View Post
Anyone in Dallas Ares, will pay to have someone setup android side for me. I just can't seem to get it right.

Sent from my HTC One V using Bimmer App
answered both of these on other threads.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 01:56 AM   #995
sanfransoxfan04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 61
My Ride: 2004 330i SMG sport
Send a message via AIM to sanfransoxfan04
Received my Dynavin tonight, followed the many picture tutorials as well as the videos from BSW on you tube. I've read every FAQ I could find.

THe problem is when I turn the key in the ignition, the Dynavin hard buttons glow orange but nothing ever appears on the screen.

2004 330i with Business CD and HK sound. I have the OEM iPod and I believe the car was pre-wired for phone, alarm and CD changer, but I never connected either of those options.
My main harness looks very different from others (I'm guessing because of the OEM iPod.) I removed the iPod adaptor but kept all wiring in place.

I did not see any wire to my business CD, nor do I see any breakout cable for IR or steering wheel controls.

What the heck is the DVN-MC100 v1.06.1 box for? I dont see it mentioned in any google search. It has a Mini USB female port.
What is the TMC-IN cable for?


EDIT - All working now.

Last edited by sanfransoxfan04; 06-11-2013 at 02:57 PM.
sanfransoxfan04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 02:29 PM   #996
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
basic question before we go any further.....did you turn it on (press the left side knob)?

The box that says DVN MC100 on it is the ibus interface box (steering wheel controls, etc...), it just plugs into the dynavin wire harness, go look at everything again, you will see where it goes. The usb on it is for programming, not part of the install.

TMC-IN is not used in your install.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-11-2013 at 02:29 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:02 PM   #997
sanfransoxfan04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 61
My Ride: 2004 330i SMG sport
Send a message via AIM to sanfransoxfan04
Thanks Jeff, Everything is working now, of course it was installer error (me)
The OEM iPod wiring made things confusing as nothing matched the tutorials I had seen online. There was a 4 wire connector I had missed that went to the OEM harness. I didnt even notice it as I uninstalled the OEM iPod adaptor.

The steering wheel controls should have been more obvious to me, but I got so hung up on the fact that there was nothing in google or here about this part number. That's all working now.
sanfransoxfan04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:04 PM   #998
sanfransoxfan04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 61
My Ride: 2004 330i SMG sport
Send a message via AIM to sanfransoxfan04
One thing that is bothering me is a bit of static noise when the volume is at 1. Turn the volume to zero and its silent, turn it to 1 and its present. Worst on the Radio, but also present on CD, Aux, etc. My amp setting is set to NONE but I also tried Common. None is the correct setting for me I believe. I have an aftermarket amp in the trunk, the installer located the PAC LOCs in the trunk as well.

In a few weeks we are re-wiring everything to use the RCA connections to an Audison Bit Ten D so it may be a moot point.
sanfransoxfan04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:24 PM   #999
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,728
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanfransoxfan04 View Post

The steering wheel controls should have been more obvious to me, but I got so hung up on the fact that there was nothing in google or here about this part number. That's all working now.
Trust your eyes more than 3 year old posts found on google! Male plug goes in female receptacle.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanfransoxfan04 View Post
One thing that is bothering me is a bit of static noise when the volume is at 1. Turn the volume to zero and its silent, turn it to 1 and its present. Worst on the Radio, but also present on CD, Aux, etc. My amp setting is set to NONE but I also tried Common. None is the correct setting for me I believe. I have an aftermarket amp in the trunk, the installer located the PAC LOCs in the trunk as well.

In a few weeks we are re-wiring everything to use the RCA connections to an Audison Bit Ten D so it may be a moot point.
If you have an aftermarket amp running your highs....your amp gain is too high and/or your LOCs are too low. Set the dynavin AMP setting to NONE, and turn your gain down on your amp. You should see volume numbers in the 40s, if less than that your gain is too high, its all about correctly setting gain....google that instead!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-11-2013 at 03:26 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 03:54 PM   #1000
mcmikeyb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: London
Posts: 3
My Ride: E46 M3
Hi there, wonder if anyone can help me please... joined to post on this truly epic thread as it seems this may actually the only place on the interwebs that can help...

Installed my Dynavin head unit and Fakra cable but CANNOT understand how to connect the little box labelled DVN-MC100. Hopefully I'm just missing something basic but would be much obliged if anyone can point out my foolishness.

Pics show the box I want to connect plus the only cables I have in the back of the BM. All left over from removal of the OEM Satnav kit in the boot. There are no cables that have 8 connectors which is what it needs... any ideas?!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130625_212206.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	513049   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130624_212743.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	69.7 KB
ID:	513050   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130624_212717.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	56.0 KB
ID:	513051   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130624_212709.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	58.4 KB
ID:	513052  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20130624_212654.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	513053  
mcmikeyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use