E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-03-2013, 06:50 PM   #1
ryanwhite74115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,774
My Ride: 2011 Hyundai Sonata
Coax and speaker wire double gang wall plate?

Can someone point me to where I can buy a coax and speaker terminal wire double gang plate?

Preferable 3 speaker ports (6 total) on the left gang and 1 coax socket on the right gang?

I've been looking on amazon and google and haven't found anything so far?

Add these together on a double gang and I'm good:

http://www.amazon.com/GLS-Audio-Bind...nal+wall+plate

http://www.amazon.com/Petra-11-0415-...oax+wall+plate
__________________
(\ /) or \(`' )/
( . .)
c('')('')

Last edited by ryanwhite74115; 02-03-2013 at 06:52 PM.
ryanwhite74115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
MpoweredM
Wants to be Orange
 
MpoweredM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 13,302
My Ride: 1098S; RR Sport; CRZ
I'd custome wire it myself to be honest. Purchase open plates and purchase the individual fillers.

This is what I did in my theatre room.
Something like...

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-sSzkCkB...s-Inserts.html
__________________

Santa Hats thanks to Scott!
Click for pics of my bikes
Click for pics of my old 335
Click for pics of my old S4 avant
Click for pics of my old M3


Quote:
Originally Posted by v8 5 View Post
Constatine would of thrown his dildo at the kidnapper and proceed to cry in his closet after said kidnapper escaped.

Last edited by MpoweredM; 02-03-2013 at 07:32 PM.
MpoweredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:55 PM   #3
Chris3Duke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 222
Yep, purchase the modular ones (like the On-Q or Levitron) to give you exactly what you want. This is what I do.
Chris3Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:17 PM   #4
Andy2108
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 8,036
My Ride: E46 M3, '67 Cobra
I used these

http://www.amazon.com/DataComm-45-00...e+pass+through



That's not speaker wire, but you get the idea.

Last edited by Andy2108; 02-03-2013 at 08:20 PM.
Andy2108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:30 PM   #5
v8 5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jarzy, New Jarzy
Posts: 343
My Ride: 6 speed BMW
I'm here for the double gang
__________________
Gutted with a Getrag



We have 4 websites within the family.
v8 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:01 PM   #6
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,474
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8 5 View Post
I'm here for the double gang
Well played.
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:40 PM   #7
ryanwhite74115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,774
My Ride: 2011 Hyundai Sonata
Quote:
Originally Posted by MpoweredM View Post
I'd custome wire it myself to be honest. Purchase open plates and purchase the individual fillers.

This is what I did in my theatre room.
Something like...

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-sSzkCkB...s-Inserts.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris3Duke View Post
Yep, purchase the modular ones (like the On-Q or Levitron) to give you exactly what you want. This is what I do.
Yea, that's what I just did. Quite a bit more expensive than the standard plates but that was really my only option.
__________________
(\ /) or \(`' )/
( . .)
c('')('')
ryanwhite74115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:05 PM   #8
dauble2k5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 46204
Posts: 354
My Ride: Facelift Coupe
Would MonoPrice have what you're looking for?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/se...ana+wall+plate
__________________
dauble2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:39 AM   #9
blownE30M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego, SoCal
Posts: 192
My Ride: 2004 JB M3
Send a message via AIM to blownE30M3
You can get them all in one gang or double, whatever you want to do, they are all snap in connectors anyways... Just use Leviton's Quickport System.

Coax Insert

Speaker Terminal Inserts

Quickports
__________________


Home Automation and A/V Programming
http://www.xsdesignstudios.com
blownE30M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:03 AM   #10
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,947
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy2108 View Post
I used these

http://www.amazon.com/DataComm-45-00...e+pass+through



That's not speaker wire, but you get the idea.
^ This is the answer. They make single gang versions as well.

They also make the flush versions. ($2-$4 for DataComm)



More connections = more resistance.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci

Last edited by GlockMan; 02-04-2013 at 07:08 AM.
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:41 AM   #11
Chris3Duke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
^ This is the answer. They make single gang versions as well.

They also make the flush versions. ($2-$4 for DataComm)



More connections = more resistance.
He already went the On-Q / Levitron route.

IMO, that route looks superior to the passthrough option (from a looks perspective). I'm not sure I buy the resistance is going to have a measurable impact. Certainly not on the coax...
Chris3Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:50 AM   #12
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
http://www.mycablemart.com/store/car...t_detail&p=965
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:02 AM   #13
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,947
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy2108 View Post
I used these

http://www.amazon.com/DataComm-45-00...e+pass+through



That's not speaker wire, but you get the idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris3Duke View Post
He already went the On-Q / Levitron route.

IMO, that route looks superior to the passthrough option (from a looks perspective). I'm not sure I buy the resistance is going to have a measurable impact. Certainly not on the coax...
3db is 3 db.

To each their own.

PS - What happens when he needs extra cables? HDMI? Component?
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:18 AM   #14
SamDoe1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesnowta
Posts: 3,464
My Ride: Clubs baby seals
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
3db is 3 db.

To each their own.

PS - What happens when he needs extra cables? HDMI? Component?
^ This.

I thought about going with the built in route but the thought of having to either get a new gang plate every time I get a new device would suck. Other option is to get many more ports than I need and that sucks too.

While the signal degradation on the digital side doesn't matter, the speaker signal will certainly degrade.
SamDoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:12 AM   #15
Chris3Duke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamDoe1 View Post
Other option is to get many more ports than I need and that sucks too.
Why? I've done two different things in my houses and my parents & in-law's:

- Gone with extra ports (ie. 4 when I only need 3) and used blanks in the extra hole. I usually do this when I know there's an extra, unused wire in the wall (maybe a second coax or something), but don't want to terminate it for whatever reason.

- Switched out the plates (upgraded from 2 to 3 or 4, 4 to 6, etc.). It's minimal work compared with running the cable through the wall. Dirt cheap too. The plates are cheap, and I'm never doing more than one or two at a time.

As for Glock's post, the whole point is that these systems are modular. Need HDMI? There's an insert for that. Need component? There's an insert for that too.

Either way, the hard part is running the cables in the wall. Terminating them is easy.

Edit: I'll also say, the downside to your way is the length of the cable. What happens if you need to move something and need a longer cable? You have to do an entirely new run. If you terminate, the in-wall stuff stays the same, and your patch cable is the only thing that gets switched out.

For the signal degradation, couldn't you run larger speaker wire in-wall to allow for this?

Last edited by Chris3Duke; 02-04-2013 at 11:16 AM.
Chris3Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 11:25 AM   #16
SamDoe1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesnowta
Posts: 3,464
My Ride: Clubs baby seals
To each their own, I just prefer to not have multiple terminations in my cables from a simplicity standpoint.

My home theater is set up in a way that I won't be moving anything ever and if a longer cable is needed, they make extension adaptors.

Larger speaker wire is more expensive so you add unneeded cost to your application.

I do see the advantages to your way and I'm certainly not knocking it, just not the way I'd do it.
SamDoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:44 PM   #17
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,947
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris3Duke View Post
Why? I've done two different things in my houses and my parents & in-law's:

- Gone with extra ports (ie. 4 when I only need 3) and used blanks in the extra hole. I usually do this when I know there's an extra, unused wire in the wall (maybe a second coax or something), but don't want to terminate it for whatever reason.

- Switched out the plates (upgraded from 2 to 3 or 4, 4 to 6, etc.). It's minimal work compared with running the cable through the wall. Dirt cheap too. The plates are cheap, and I'm never doing more than one or two at a time.

As for Glock's post, the whole point is that these systems are modular. Need HDMI? There's an insert for that. Need component? There's an insert for that too.

Either way, the hard part is running the cables in the wall. Terminating them is easy.

Edit: I'll also say, the downside to your way is the length of the cable. What happens if you need to move something and need a longer cable? You have to do an entirely new run. If you terminate, the in-wall stuff stays the same, and your patch cable is the only thing that gets switched out.

For the signal degradation, couldn't you run larger speaker wire in-wall to allow for this?
HDMI has enough issues in its own before you start "terminating" them into wall plates.

Show me the termination plate that properly handles a simple home theater receiver:

(3) HDMI
(2) Component (6 RCAs)
(2) Digital Coax
(3) Cat5
(7) Speakers
(1) Subwoofer Coax
(2) Coax
(1) Basebank AV Set (3 RCAs)

That is 27 connections - You would have to use 5 Gangs of 6 port plates vs one 2 gang shoot port with better signal quality.

Have you ever considered the fact that you are intercepting high end cables with cheapo connectors? Weakest link is the wall plate itself.

But hey, they make em for a reason.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci

Last edited by GlockMan; 02-04-2013 at 12:47 PM.
GlockMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:11 PM   #18
blownE30M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego, SoCal
Posts: 192
My Ride: 2004 JB M3
Send a message via AIM to blownE30M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamDoe1 View Post
While the signal degradation on the digital side doesn't matter, the speaker signal will certainly degrade.
It's negligible, in 99% of installs you wouldn't notice a difference at all.

I find it hilarious that there are proposals of monoprice parts and the topic of speaker level degradation in the same topic.
__________________


Home Automation and A/V Programming
http://www.xsdesignstudios.com
blownE30M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use