E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2011, 12:42 PM   #1
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Dynavin Subwoofer out

Does anyone know if this rca output is pre-crossed over? If so, at what Hz?
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-25-2011, 04:01 PM   #2
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,718
My Ride: BMW
Amazingly.......this has NEVER come up in all of the dynavin stuff here or anywhere else that I have seen!


I just tried it out on my test board and it it absolutely crossed over......Im going to go experiment a little bit to see if I can figure out at what frequency......
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:07 PM   #3
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Excellent news. Will be great if we can figure out the frequency. But just knowing that it is crossed over is great, because now you don't have to get robbed of db's by using the low pass filter on the amp.
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:11 PM   #4
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,718
My Ride: BMW
hhmmmmm.......from what I just heard in my quick test you will want to keep using a crossover.....I played around with it and from what I could tell it either has a real shallow slope or its crossed over real high.....like 150hz, Maybe even higher. Not all that useable.....

I didnt use any test equipment, just a quick test with my ears and the crossovers on my test amps to estimate the roll off, but it was high enough to give me my answer....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-25-2011 at 04:13 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:36 PM   #5
m3evolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 265
My Ride: M3
Which would put out a stronger signal using the left rear and right rear rca output or using a rca y splitter from the single subwoofer rca out?

nvm I tried both and it sounds better using the sub line out

Last edited by m3evolution; 05-18-2011 at 03:54 PM.
m3evolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:15 PM   #6
johnnySV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 28
My Ride: AWDsprtwgn
does my dynavin v5 have a Subwoofer pre-amp output? considering sub install in the very near future... was assuming to use Rear Channel (non-sub) output.
If v5 has sub output then is Sub Level adjustable thru the head unit once installed?
johnnySV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 03:46 PM   #7
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Yes it has a Sub line out. No it isn't adjustable thru the head unit, why, I have no idea.
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 07:10 PM   #8
johnnySV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 28
My Ride: AWDsprtwgn
so then that being said..... i want to hookup a sub via RCA's to Dynavin v5 and my amp has built-in crossovers.... which set of Pre-amp Outputs from the DVN should I use and why ??
johnnySV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 09:02 AM   #9
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
While lack of sub control through the head unit sucks, I don't see any disadvantage to using the sub out. If you use the rear channel, you have to run a pair of wires as apposed to a single wire, and you would lose the rear channel if you ever decide to go with a separate amp for speakers. Not to mention then the sub would be subject to any F/R fading you may setup in your soundstage. So the short answer, use the sub line out.
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 09:09 AM   #10
johnnySV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 28
My Ride: AWDsprtwgn
i follow you on F/R fading and that's enuff of a reason for me to use the Sub Out.
thanks....
johnnySV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:40 AM   #11
JerzyBoy973
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orange, NJ
Posts: 359
My Ride: 01 330ci
Gonna bump this thread instead of making a new one. But does anyone know pre-amp output voltage on the Dynavin units?
__________________
JerzyBoy973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:23 PM   #12
~evil_evooooo~
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: los angeles
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3
hey its 2013. but i am stuck with this same question. i want to use the line out sub. but i have left and right rca connector coming from the amp. should i use just one (L or R?) or use a y splitter?
~evil_evooooo~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:55 AM   #13
N4NOOK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria AUS
Posts: 1,378
My Ride: 323ci
Y splitter is fine.
N4NOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use