E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 03:38 AM   #81
CTRob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dublin
Posts: 127
My Ride: Alpine white e39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty19 View Post
Just to let you know that Torque works fine via USB
This is great news delighted ;-)
CTRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 04:03 AM   #82
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctrob View Post
this is great news delighted ;-)
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130208_095520-1.jpg
Views:	251
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	489866
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:51 AM   #83
tnhl1989
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hadley, MA
Posts: 442
My Ride: 02 330xi(RIP),03 ZHP
Send a message via Skype™ to tnhl1989
Charles will be away for Chinese New Years until the 18th.
tnhl1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:23 AM   #84
Kripas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BayArea California
Posts: 68
My Ride: 04 325ci convertible
just installed


Last edited by Kripas; 02-08-2013 at 10:45 AM.
Kripas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:25 AM   #85
HighxTech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty19 View Post
Yesssssss, how does it work? What do I need?
HighxTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:36 AM   #86
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
You need to buy the USB plug in the ebay link and torque pro on the playstore...

Total cost should be around 25 euros...
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:37 AM   #87
HighxTech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2002 330i
Should I get a USB hub because I have my WiFi dongle in the top port?
HighxTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:42 AM   #88
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
Yes, then you need more stuff...

On ebay you can find some 7 port USB hub with AC power for a whooping 4.78$ http://www.ebay.com/itm/130614851519...84.m1439.l2649

You also need a power converter 12V to 5V 5 amps for 3.13$ http://www.ebay.com/itm/251098936087...84.m1439.l2649

The idea to have a powered hub is that you can plug a HDD on it, leave a USB cable going our to charge your phone or whatever you want.

And for an extra cost of about 5$....it's not worth buying a non powered hub

Last edited by jchuillier; 02-10-2013 at 01:51 AM.
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:26 PM   #89
chouch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 4
My Ride: X5
Installed B039 4.0.4 Android unit on my X5 2001, I am hoping I get some detailed answers on how to fix those:

- Radio Reception: plugging the cable just doesnt enhance the reception, is there a better way of fixing the reception without buying an antenna amplifier for $200
- There's a blue cable with ANT written on it? what's that for?
- Sound is just too Loud: I found a way to reduce the sound level by putting the EQ to Rock mode, is there a better way of doing so? can someone explain how to install the speaker level converter?
- Wheel buttons: this is just crappy, laggy, buggy, whatever you want to name it ... it just works 30% of the times ... is this it forever?
- also on the radio side the next button is supposed to change to the next registered channel, mine hops on to the next frequency level
- Phonebook in Bluetooth: isnt it supposed to download the phonebook from my phone? how the hell do you add a number to the phonebook

I dont want to start with the android part, this is a whole other issue.
chouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:31 AM   #90
jchuillier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toulouse (France)
Posts: 103
My Ride: 330CD
Radio reception is good for me when I plugged into the existing antenna cable, I just need to extend this cable all the way forward.
Blue antenna cable is to tell the bmw amplifier to switch into the proper mode if you have the system where the amp and radio are in the back....if you have the system in the front maybe you don't need the blue wire if your amp and so on is in the front
Souns is loud, yes...you need to install a volume switch on the line between the enco and the amplifier
Wheel buttons are ok for me, I get about a 95% working response, make sure the red box is connected properly and that vibrations cannot move it too much
Phonebook, I'm not there yet....
jchuillier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:27 AM   #91
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Has anyone got bluetooth working on the Android side?
I have tried using a USB dongle with no joy, bluetooth just will not switch on.
I assume there is no way of tapping in to the bluetooth on the radio side?
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:00 AM   #92
kaciker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid
Posts: 12
My Ride: E90 320d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty19 View Post
Has anyone got bluetooth working on the Android side?
I have tried using a USB dongle with no joy, bluetooth just will not switch on.
I assume there is no way of tapping in to the bluetooth on the radio side?
Hello

I have proved 5 different, and none works. One of them of brand belkin, that is the one that they were recommending in Dynavi's forum.










But, Your you had managed to make work OBD2 for USB, it is not like that?

Last edited by kaciker; 02-12-2013 at 11:02 AM.
kaciker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:00 AM   #93
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaciker View Post
Hello

I have proved 5 different, and none works. One of them of brand belkin, that is the one that they were recommending in Dynavi's forum.






But, Your you had managed to make work OBD2 for USB, it is not like that?
The OBD2 for USB was a wired connection, not bluetooth. I would prefer to get Torque working over bluetooth but it seems this is not possible.
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 07:26 AM   #94
kaciker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid
Posts: 12
My Ride: E90 320d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty19 View Post
The OBD2 for USB was a wired connection, not bluetooth. I would prefer to get Torque working over bluetooth but it seems this is not possible.
Yep I know
Bluetooth now is not possible.
USB yes !! For you information THANKS, we are 9 persons that after you test we buy a USB Obd2

The USB connection is very fast and Bluetooth not.
The lag for de Bluetooth (tested whit one Samnsung) is not good
kaciker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 08:00 AM   #95
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Does anyone know if its ok to leave the OBD2 plugged in all the time? I notice there is a red light on even after the ignition is off.

I guess my questions are:
1) Will it damage the ECU by leaving the OBD2 plugged in all the time?
2) Will the battery drain be significant with the engine off?
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:10 AM   #96
kaciker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid
Posts: 12
My Ride: E90 320d
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty19 View Post
Does anyone know if its ok to leave the OBD2 plugged in all the time? I notice there is a red light on even after the ignition is off.

I guess my questions are:
1) Will it damage the ECU by leaving the OBD2 plugged in all the time?
2) Will the battery drain be significant with the engine off?
1) -> a good question...
2 -> My intention is to weld in the part of behind of the connector a cable pin to pin, to take this cable up to behind the radio, to use the cable of (12v WITHOUT key) in order that the OBD2 ignites simultaneously that the car.
kaciker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 07:35 AM   #97
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Whats the best 3g dongle to use with this unit without having to use PPP widget?

I currently have a ZTE MF190 but doesn't seem to work out of the box, though I can get it working using PPP.

Last edited by Marty19; 02-15-2013 at 07:44 AM.
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:57 AM   #98
bjornh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sandnes, Norway
Posts: 16
My Ride: 320iAT
Huawei E220 seems to be the industry standard. Worked on all my tablets so far, and it is reportedly the one ENCO ships with their devices.
bjornh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:57 AM   #99
Kripas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BayArea California
Posts: 68
My Ride: 04 325ci convertible
Just tested on my iphone 5 using bluetooth on enco device I can play my music playlist from my music apps and also can play pandora apps from my iphone.
Kripas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 02:48 AM   #100
Marty19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Welwyn Garden City, UK
Posts: 12
My Ride: 2004 330 ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kripas View Post
Just tested on my iphone 5 using bluetooth on enco device I can play my music playlist from my music apps and also can play pandora apps from my iphone.
Hi Kripas, thanks for the reply. There is no problem with the bluetooth on the "stereo" side of the unit but the "Android" side seems to need its own bluetooth device.

Last edited by Marty19; 02-18-2013 at 02:48 AM.
Marty19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use