E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 02:35 AM   #1
stan330d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 6
My Ride: '02 330d Sport
TomTom on Dynavin Android

Can this be done?

I have just bought and installed a Dynavin Android D99 from the UK main distributor. Tried to download TomTom but it can't install maps due to insufficient memory. Worked out it was trying to install on the built in memory rather than the SD card.

Seems like there was a new release in December which fixed the problem but I was installing TomTom direct from the market last night and it wasn't working!

Sorry if this has been covered, I searched but couldn't find any fixes... Really keen to use TomTom because I use the traffic feature a lot... Thanks.
stan330d is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-19-2013, 08:51 AM   #2
tsawyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ny
Posts: 5
My Ride: e53 x5 2004
Ran into the same issue and got around it by installing to my android phone first, then copying over the tomtom data directory from the phone to the sd card for the Dynavin. Perhaps there is also a way to force it with App2SD or something similar, but for me the copying method was the easiest.

One thing I have found is that the app always thinks I am in GMT rather then GMT -5 (EST). The OS itself is fine and all the other apps are fine as well so I know the system settings are OK. What is this ...

1) Plan a route (current time is say 1pm EST) and it will take 3 hours to get there.
2) For a few seconds, TomTom will properly indicate an arrival time of 4pm EST
3) TomTom updates the arrival time to 9PM, which is +5 hours ahead of local (EST) time -- the total trip time of 3 hours remains correct

Haven't found a fix yet so I've learned to live with it for now. TomTom and Sygic seem to be the best apps, but for overall ease and simplicity in the interface I prefer the TomTom app. I've also tried CoPilot USA and Navigon .... CoPilot was OK but seemed a but rudimentary and Navigon would always force close while calculating routes.
tsawyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:29 PM   #3
stan330d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 6
My Ride: '02 330d Sport
So I need to buy an Android phone then!! I tried moving the TomTom app to the SD card from the Dynavin hoping that when I tried to redownload the apps it would just place them on the SD card, but no go... Very frustrating. The Co-Pilot app is fine but without traffic it is pretty useless for me. I can't even buy the Co-Pilot traffic service because the Dynavin won't allow in app purchases!!

Thanks tsawyer, might be the excuse I need to change from the iPhone...
stan330d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 03:23 PM   #4
stan330d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 6
My Ride: '02 330d Sport
TomTom have updated the app so that it installs to sd card. Now works fine, although it is a bit crashy with a fair few forced closures... Hopefully this will improve with later updates.
stan330d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use