E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 08:51 AM   #1
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Is this an Aux in?

Recently I found what seems to be an aux input, it is to the left of my steering wheel, above the light controls on the side of the panel there is a cable that comes out and has tape on it, it is like a stand for a gps or something and on the side it says aux in, not sure if this can be used as an aux in or not
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-20-2013, 11:09 AM   #2
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-Diaz View Post
Recently I found what seems to be an aux input, it is to the left of my steering wheel, above the light controls on the side of the panel there is a cable that comes out and has tape on it, it is like a stand for a gps or something and on the side it says aux in, not sure if this can be used as an aux in or not
Sounds like you are describing a power cord...
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:00 AM   #3
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketthis View Post
Sounds like you are describing a power cord...
What exactly is that? The thing says aux in on it
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:09 AM   #4
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
A picture would help. If it says "aux" it probably is an audio input. We are only speculating at this point. So let's see this thing!
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:46 AM   #5
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketthis View Post
A picture would help. If it says "aux" it probably is an audio input. We are only speculating at this point. So let's see this thing!
here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	491743  
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:10 PM   #6
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
Satellite radio mount. Nothing will play through your stereo... Unless you mounted a satellite radio there. That is an aux output, not input to the radio. How that makes sense
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:47 PM   #7
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketthis View Post
Satellite radio mount. Nothing will play through your stereo... Unless you mounted a satellite radio there. That is an aux output, not input to the radio. How that makes sense
So it is an aux, so if I plug my iPod into the aux will it connect to stereo
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:47 PM   #8
Japanrot_325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 223
My Ride: 03 325i
Try it
__________________
Japanrot_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:48 PM   #9
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Yeah I'm trying to find out first before I go out and buy an aux cord
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:15 PM   #10
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
No. It won't. Sorry if I didn't make that clear enough.
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:21 PM   #11
BMW-Diaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 46
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by basketthis View Post
No. It won't. Sorry if I didn't make that clear enough.
Damn what is that thing good for then
BMW-Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:30 PM   #12
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
It's a satellite radio docking station. You need the satellite radio.

EDIT: and you would only use it if you have an existing aux port in the car...

Last edited by basketthis; 02-21-2013 at 07:32 PM.
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:47 PM   #13
Japanrot_325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 223
My Ride: 03 325i
If there is aux cord run from that to your stereo it shouldn't matter what you plug in it you should hear it.
__________________
Japanrot_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:14 PM   #14
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46325i03 View Post
If there is aux cord run from that to your stereo it shouldn't matter what you plug in it you should hear it.
There's no aux cord run from that to his stereo.
What that is designed to do is take the satellite radio audio signal and send it through a 3.5mm cord into the "aux" port INPUT if it already exists in the vehicle.
Like this:
Satellite radio antenna -----> Satellite radio audio ------> aux input in vehicle
The other option (which was used in this particular case; hence, no existing aux port) is the wireless broadcast option:
Satellite radio antenna -----> Satellite radio audio ------> wireless broadcast to an FM station which the existing FM receiver will pickup.

EDIT:


You can go to Best Buy or any car audio shop and have an aux port put in. My recommendation: search around. There are great guides on how to use the cd changer input to get high quality aux input although it does take a little work on the installer's part. And good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	auxconfusion.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	101.2 KB
ID:	491814  

Last edited by basketthis; 02-21-2013 at 08:25 PM.
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:06 PM   #15
Japanrot_325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 223
My Ride: 03 325i
You shouldn't have to go through the cd changer. You can order an aux install kit from bavauto. It plugs right into the back of your stereo.
__________________
Japanrot_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:20 PM   #16
basketthis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 299
My Ride: state to state
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46325i03 View Post
You shouldn't have to go through the cd changer. You can order an aux install kit from bavauto. It plugs right into the back of your stereo.

I didn't say "through the cd changer"...
This is working great for me!
basketthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:56 PM   #17
Japanrot_325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Martinsburg WV
Posts: 223
My Ride: 03 325i
You said through the cd changer input. Unless that's the same as the aux in on the back my bad lol
__________________
Japanrot_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use