E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > BMW Regional Forums > Regional Forums > Australia

Australia
Check out other E46Fanatics members rides in the Enthusist Directory!

If you don't have your garage setup, sign up today HERE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 05:10 AM   #1
DesiredM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 519
My Ride: E46 M3
Will a mk3 sat nav unit from the US work here

Dumb question I'm sure but will a head unit from the US work as a replacement or will there be anything that I would need to change? Just so much cheaper over there! Any insight would be great!

Thanks
DesiredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-24-2013, 05:27 AM   #2
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,107
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Ubits are just plug and play, whats wrong with your headunit?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
I hope he isn't using Pirelli condoms..
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:11 AM   #3
DesiredM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 519
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS330 View Post
Ubits are just plug and play, whats wrong with your headunit?
It has pixelation all over the screen, looks like it has grey worms everywhere and it's really annoying and got a quote just to replace the screen which was $250 and then people here want $400-500 for a used unit so just easier to get it from the states.
DesiredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,354
My Ride: 332Ci
Might as well upgrade to MKIV if you have to replace the unit anyway.
__________________


DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:49 PM   #5
LSM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 659
My Ride: E46 ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
Might as well upgrade to MKIV if you have to replace the unit anyway.
Agreed.

I thought you'd have a MKIV DesiredM? Isnt your car an 02'
__________________
___________________________________________


2006 CS M3 | ESS Tune : CSL SMG tune : Eisenmann Race : Eibach : Tekarbon
LSM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:57 PM   #6
DesiredM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 519
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSM3 View Post
Agreed.

I thought you'd have a MKIV DesiredM? Isnt your car an 02'
The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?
DesiredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:18 PM   #7
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,107
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Is your Headunit 4:3 or 16:9?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
I hope he isn't using Pirelli condoms..
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:55 PM   #8
DesiredM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 519
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by js330 View Post
is your headunit 4:3 or 16:9?
16:9
DesiredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:59 PM   #9
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,354
My Ride: 332Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiredM View Post
The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?
The MK III and MK IV is the sat nav unit (disc drive in the boot). That component will work worldwide because the disc inserted determines region.

If you are replacing the screen itself then there are 2 options for the 16:9.. Cassette and CD. I assume they work worldwide but I can't confirm for sure.

Maybe post a link of what you're looking at?
__________________


DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:22 PM   #10
Tymatk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiredM View Post
It has pixelation all over the screen, looks like it has grey worms everywhere and it's really annoying and got a quote just to replace the screen which was $250 and then people here want $400-500 for a used unit so just easier to get it from the states.
You can replace the screen by yourself .... with a bit of patient! Also i have MKIV on my X5 that i'm thinking of getting rid of ..... at the right price ;-) ........ if you want.
Tymatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:03 PM   #11
DesiredM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 519
My Ride: E46 M3
This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive

Last edited by DesiredM; 02-24-2013 at 08:04 PM.
DesiredM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:24 PM   #12
Tymatk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 52
My Ride: X5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiredM View Post
This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive
I think you're only getting the GPS unit, MKIII with support CD only. The picture of the 16:9 screen is only there to show that it has the latest software!
Tymatk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:27 PM   #13
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,354
My Ride: 332Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiredM View Post
This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive
Yeah that's just the drive (navigation unit). Sounds like you have diagnosed that you need a new screen.

Try this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221184285531
__________________



Last edited by DeclanM3; 02-24-2013 at 08:36 PM. Reason: Auto-save 1361759777
DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:49 PM   #14
E46 Coupe
Registered User
 
E46 Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,964
My Ride: Rules1 & 2: S T F U!
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
Yeah that's just the drive (navigation unit). Sounds like you have diagnosed that you need a new screen.

Try this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221184285531
The way that ad is worded, it's hard to determine if the unit he is selling is damaged with dead pixels or not
__________________
E46 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:56 PM   #15
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,354
My Ride: 332Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46 Coupe View Post
The way that ad is worded, it's hard to determine if the unit he is selling is damaged with dead pixels or not
Yeah, maybe not the best example. Was the first one I found on my phone.. OP should get the idea though, need to look at auctions for the screen, not the CD / DVD drive.
__________________


DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:54 AM   #16
LSM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 659
My Ride: E46 ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesiredM View Post
The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?
Nah. I had an 02 M3 with MKIV DVD nav
__________________
___________________________________________


2006 CS M3 | ESS Tune : CSL SMG tune : Eisenmann Race : Eibach : Tekarbon
LSM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:35 AM   #17
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,354
My Ride: 332Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSM3 View Post
Nah. I had an 02 M3 with MKIV DVD nav
Must've been a late 02.. Mine is 02/02 and has MK III
__________________


DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 04:07 PM   #18
02PRUV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,793
My Ride: E46 M3 Turbo
I still have a mk3 sitting here if you need one
__________________
Rides:

BMW E46 M3 Turbo 570rwhp @18psi (old setup)
BMW E46 M3 LSX 427ci 800hp N/A
Ultima GTR LSX 440ci 800hp N/A
VY SS Ute Turbo 1004.6rwhp @ 28psi E85
Ford Escort Mk2 2JZGTE 600rwhp @14 psi
04 Yamaha R1 154.3rwhp
ISUZU FZR550 tilt tray (GT35 Turbo)
02PRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use