E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > BMW Regional Forums > Regional Forums > Australia

Australia
Check out other E46Fanatics members rides in the Enthusist Directory!

If you don't have your garage setup, sign up today HERE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 05:53 PM   #1
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Screw Essential Energy. I bought a generator.

In the area that I live we often get power going out from a few hours to a few days depending on the severity of the winds and storms that caused this.

Our energy grid is designed to fail at the first sign of wind; lines strung beside, below and between trees.

I rang them last week when our electricity went off for the 4th time in 2 weeks. I suggested that they change their name from "Essential Energy" to "Intermittent Energy"....except when we get a bit of a breeze, then they should call themselves "No Bloody Energy At All"

So, finally I bought a generator. It arrived this morning. It is a 4.4 kva (about 3300 Watts) that will power the fridge, lights, my computer, my son's monster computer and 5 monitors, the TVs and pump for water.

I made sure the generator is a sinewave inverter so that it delivers pure power with no surges so that electronic devices can be run safely.

I was pleased with the price of $610.

So, Intermittent Energy.....F*CK YOU

Last edited by gueste46; 02-28-2013 at 05:54 PM.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-28-2013, 06:01 PM   #2
E46 Coupe
Registered User
 
E46 Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,116
My Ride: Rules1 & 2: S T F U!

Model?
__________________
E46 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:05 PM   #3
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46 Coupe View Post

Model?
Good point....this one

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/370754728...84.m1439.l2649
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:12 PM   #4
E46 Coupe
Registered User
 
E46 Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,116
My Ride: Rules1 & 2: S T F U!
Interesting little stand alone.. Have you received it yet?
__________________
E46 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:14 PM   #5
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46 Coupe View Post
Interesting little stand alone.. Have you received it yet?
Got it this morning, but I won't be able to try it out till I get home tonight.

I will post tomorrow about what it is like.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:50 PM   #6
Davconelectric
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sunny melbourne
Posts: 2,099
My Ride: 330
Cool story dude,
Davconelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:36 PM   #7
DeclanM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,363
My Ride: 332Ci
We all know you got the generator to power all the heat lamps in your attic..
__________________


DeclanM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:39 PM   #8
CortinaD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,115
My Ride: lots
I wouldn't run my computers off that.
CortinaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:50 PM   #9
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by CortinaD View Post
I wouldn't run my computers off that.
Why not?

The power from an inverter generator is actually much more pure than mains power.

Last edited by gueste46; 02-28-2013 at 07:51 PM.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:21 PM   #10
CortinaD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,115
My Ride: lots
Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantine View Post
Why not?

The power from an inverter generator is actually much more pure than mains power.
We use similar generators to that on the work vans and always have a fluro work light connected to it to load it up a bit as we find on startup or without any load on them would cause issues with the computers but the rest of the stuff such as power tools, air compressors, portable fridges etc didn't mind.
CortinaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:41 PM   #11
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by CortinaD View Post
We use similar generators to that on the work vans and always have a fluro work light connected to it to load it up a bit as we find on startup or without any load on them would cause issues with the computers but the rest of the stuff such as power tools, air compressors, portable fridges etc didn't mind.
I will remember to connect computers last to avoid any issues. Many thanks
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:21 PM   #12
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
We all know you got the generator to power all the heat lamps in your attic..
You know, 10 years ago you may well have been right.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:05 PM   #13
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,109
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantine View Post
You know, 10 years ago you may well have been right.
You Byron Bay-ers.....way too close to Nimbin
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
I hope he isn't using Pirelli condoms..
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 12:31 AM   #14
rodsfromday
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Woongoolba,Queensland
Posts: 562
My Ride: 323CI
Nice. You gonna do a changeover switch at your switchboard?
__________________

German Engineering at its best
rodsfromday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:28 AM   #15
Davconelectric
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sunny melbourne
Posts: 2,099
My Ride: 330
If you do a changeover switch, make sure it's break before make.
Davconelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:34 AM   #16
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodsfromday View Post
Nice. You gonna do a changeover switch at your switchboard?
I will in the fullness of time. For the moment, if we get a blackout in the next few weeks I will just run a cable into the house.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:35 AM   #17
gueste46
Banned User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davconelectric View Post
If you do a changeover switch, make sure it's break before make.
I'm not sure what that means, unless you mean make sure the power does not come on to the appliances while the generator is running them.
gueste46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:40 AM   #18
rodsfromday
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Woongoolba,Queensland
Posts: 562
My Ride: 323CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantine View Post
I will in the fullness of time. For the moment, if we get a blackout in the next few weeks I will just run a cable into the house.
Too easy. If i lived any closer i would have done it in exchange for a car detail...
__________________

German Engineering at its best
rodsfromday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use