E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 03:23 PM   #1
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Radio pixel display..

This happened randomly while driving on the interstate last weekend. I thought it might be from the cold weather but it was about 35F and the car has been in much colder temps before. Any ideas?

Also forgot to add, radio still works fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1362432033.809706.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	74.7 KB
ID:	493735  

Last edited by Importjunkie; 03-04-2013 at 03:26 PM.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-04-2013, 03:25 PM   #2
NCLee
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 53
My Ride: 2004 330xi
Send a message via AIM to NCLee
Agreed that it doesn't look like temperature. Mine tends to lose vertical lines when it's really cold, but it comes back. That sort of looks like an electronics failure.
NCLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:43 PM   #3
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Any simple approach I can take to fix this? It's pretty annoying.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:46 PM   #4
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: wow such city
Posts: 5,751
My Ride: Has no throttle
Very strong chance your radio's display system is going bad. Maybe not the LCD display, but the things underlying it.
__________________
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:50 PM   #5
djdrabick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Coopersburg, PA
Posts: 78
My Ride: 00 328ci
Same thing happened to my radio about 5 years ago. Everything still functions great today, just no display.
djdrabick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:32 PM   #6
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
I need to know if this is an easy DIY fix. If not ill probably just leave it alone.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:47 PM   #7
330iPilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 579
My Ride: Titanium Silver 330i
I repaired mine by using another radio that was broken. I just pulled off the functional faceplate from the broken one and installed it on my radio and now my display works great again!
330iPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:50 PM   #8
Adionik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: MURICA
Posts: 581
My Ride: Bavarian Panzer
Looks like a virus/malware. When's the last time you put an unknown CD in?

;D
Adionik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 07:12 PM   #9
orb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,288
My Ride: Coupè
Very common in the E39. At the dealer, my dad had all of the LEDs replaced, I guess that's what causes the dead pixels? It cost 2K and took all week. All under warranty.

Anyway, I've never seen this problem on an E46.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
orb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:00 PM   #10
330iPilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 579
My Ride: Titanium Silver 330i
2K for a business CD display? That sound awfully expensive, not to mention totally unnecessary. I'm sure it would have been a whole lot cheaper just to give him a new head unit.
330iPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:00 PM   #11
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDubois View Post
Very common in the E39. At the dealer, my dad had all of the LEDs replaced, I guess that's what causes the dead pixels? It cost 2K and took all week. All under warranty.

Anyway, I've never seen this problem on an E46.
2k for LEDs? Dealer is scary...
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:41 AM   #12
|2eckLesS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 184
My Ride: 2004 330ci
mine did this a few months back. Screen started to roll then went out all the way. No controls on the front of the NAV (I know not business cd) but the radio still works through the controls on the steering wheel. Been looking for a fix and nada. I took it out one day and took it apart and could not find any fuses or capicitors that were blown but there were some boards I could not get to. In more more details.
|2eckLesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:26 AM   #13
orb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: East Coast
Posts: 1,288
My Ride: Coupè
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330iPilot View Post
2K for a business CD display? That sound awfully expensive, not to mention totally unnecessary. I'm sure it would have been a whole lot cheaper just to give him a new head unit.
Not just the head unit, every led in the car. It wasn't even that bad, either. Didn't look like OP's.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjpgolf1 View Post
The e46 M3 is by far the most boring and worst M3 that BMW has made to date.
orb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:28 AM   #14
NCLee
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 53
My Ride: 2004 330xi
Send a message via AIM to NCLee
Importjunkie, I think you're going to have to replace parts. The cheapest would be buying a partially functional replacement head unit, taking it apart, and replacing your screen. It will be far, far easier to buy a replacement head unit. That is what I would recommend.
Maybe you could use the opportunity to upgrade, if you have one of the older units.
NCLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 03:31 PM   #15
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCLee View Post
Importjunkie, I think you're going to have to replace parts. The cheapest would be buying a partially functional replacement head unit, taking it apart, and replacing your screen. It will be far, far easier to buy a replacement head unit. That is what I would recommend.
Maybe you could use the opportunity to upgrade, if you have one of the older units.
Thanks. I have a 2001 325i with sport package. What would be considered an older unit? I thought all the e46 head units were the same.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:49 PM   #16
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
How about an aftermarket head unit? I did a search on here and it doesn't seem like many are using them besides a dynavin.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use