E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2013, 01:35 PM   #1
terzinator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 220
My Ride: 325iT 5-sp RWD Sport
Has anyone replaced stock amp with Technic's wiring harness?

Here's a link to his FS thread:

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=793352

I'm interested in swapping my amp (HK system) eventually... just wondering if anyone's done it with this harness, or if anyone's seen a DIY... (says it's plug and play, but there are some 12V connections that need to be made, etc...)

Anyone?
__________________

E46FANATICS Touring Forum!

Last edited by terzinator; Today at 11:56 PM. REASON: Fear.
terzinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-18-2013, 02:16 PM   #2
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
I just did mine, but I didn't use the adaptor. Just found a wiring diagram and cut the wires one by one according to the diagram. You will need a line level if you're keeping the stock radio btw.
__________________
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
But yes you will need to run a separate power cable and ground cable for your new amp. They are both easy. Run a fused cable to your battery, and use the ground by the stock amp up towards the shock tower.
__________________
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
terzinator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 220
My Ride: 325iT 5-sp RWD Sport
You kept the stock HU?

Speakers?

What kind of amp did you go with?
__________________

E46FANATICS Touring Forum!

Last edited by terzinator; Today at 11:56 PM. REASON: Fear.
terzinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:38 PM   #5
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
I have the stock hu and I'm using an audio control lc6i for my line level. My amplifier is an alpine mrp-f300. I'm using German maestro (the old mb quart) component set up front. The rest is factory for now.
__________________
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:39 PM   #6
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dirty South
Posts: 3,390
My Ride: E90 M-Sport
I used the Technic harness- it works great. I cut the harness on my first E46- it's a total waste of time. Spend the money and buy the Technic harness.
__________________


"All lies and jest, still a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest."
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:12 PM   #7
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
+1 it is a pain in the ass being in the truck for a couple hours soldering connections to extend my original harness. But for myself saving 75 bucks it was worth it. Just depends on how valuable your time is really. And after I put all the time and money in speakers and an amp I wouldn't want to take it all back out to put stock stuff back in so the adaptor is really only good for saving time in my opinion.
__________________
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use