E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 41 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 08:23 PM   #181
project330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal909, CA
Posts: 72
My Ride: steel grey 02 325ci
and im using a iphone 4
project330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:29 PM   #182
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by project330ci View Post
ok i need help, i tried the DF BMW and it didnt work. no sound. now, i said screw it ill try the PA12, plugged it in. same problem! no sound! can i get some help with this? 2002 bmw 325ci e46 business CD w/ prewire in the trunk.
Hi, I have helped one other guys with the same problem a long time ago.

After hitting the mode button are you getting text on the display and/or can you confirm that you have control of your iPhone from the HU?

This is step one to confirm that your 3pin interface is plugged in and is talking to your iPhone. If this is ok, sound is the easy part.

With the guy I helped before, I asked him if the HU was ever changed/swapped. He was not the original owner but was able to confirm that the HU was replaced.

He pulled the HU and found that the BLUE 10pin audio connector was not properly seated in the bottom of the big 17pin main connector at the back of the HU.

I can attach pics or reference to post earlier in this thread if necessary.

Last edited by steve.325i; 03-21-2013 at 08:30 PM.
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:02 PM   #183
project330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal909, CA
Posts: 72
My Ride: steel grey 02 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.325i View Post
Hi, I have helped one other guys with the same problem a long time ago.

After hitting the mode button are you getting text on the display and/or can you confirm that you have control of your iPhone from the HU?

This is step one to confirm that your 3pin interface is plugged in and is talking to your iPhone. If this is ok, sound is the easy part.

With the guy I helped before, I asked him if the HU was ever changed/swapped. He was not the original owner but was able to confirm that the HU was replaced.

He pulled the HU and found that the BLUE 10pin audio connector was not properly seated in the bottom of the big 17pin main connector at the back of the HU.

I can attach pics or reference to post earlier in this thread if necessary.
could you please? thanks for the help!
project330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:30 PM   #184
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by project330ci View Post
could you please? thanks for the help!
Ok, maybe the pics are not in this thread

Here's how to pop the dash & HU out. Really easy. This is from a Parrot Bluetooth install so it includes the vents and a bunch of wire - but the beginning shows the HU coming out.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...=#post10913435

This shows that the CD inputs are on Connector A

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...5#post11321705

This is a picture of the big 17pin connector with the smaller 10pin (2 rows of 5) on the bottom (pic 2) and then the back of the HU (pic 3)

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...6#post11759496

I thought mine was blue ... maybe the harness lock clip is blue.

The smaller 10pin connector can be slid out of the big connectors housing before it is mated to the HU. If it slides out during insertion, it will not get fully connected.

Last edited by steve.325i; 03-21-2013 at 09:30 PM.
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:32 PM   #185
project330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal909, CA
Posts: 72
My Ride: steel grey 02 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.325i View Post
Ok, maybe the pics are not in this thread

Here's how to pop the dash & HU out. Really easy. This is from a Parrot Bluetooth install so it includes the vents and a bunch of wire - but the beginning shows the HU coming out.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...=#post10913435

This shows that the CD inputs are on Connector A

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...5#post11321705

This is a picture of the big 17pin connector with the smaller 10pin (2 rows of 5) on the bottom (pic 2) and then the back of the HU (pic 3)

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...6#post11759496

I thought mine was blue ... maybe the harness lock clip is blue.

The smaller 10pin connector can be slid out of the big connectors housing before it is mated to the HU. If it slides out during insertion, it will not get fully connected.
Thanks! ill test this out, and get back to you on this!
project330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:35 PM   #186
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Here is a quick pictorial of extracting the harness from the back of the HU.

(That's not blue either ... loosing my mind)

http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=255380
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:21 PM   #187
project330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SoCal909, CA
Posts: 72
My Ride: steel grey 02 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve.325i View Post
Here is a quick pictorial of extracting the harness from the back of the HU.

(That's not blue either ... loosing my mind)

http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=255380
Ok i finally got around to checking it out. DUDE THANK YOU SOO MUCH. Haha. it was the A plug. it fell right off when i took the radio out. And for some reason the bottom of the plug harness (where it hold the A&B plugs) was totally missing and the plastic was mangled. idk why. but oh well, it worked! thanks once agian
project330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #188
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by project330ci View Post
Ok i finally got around to checking it out. DUDE THANK YOU SOO MUCH. Haha. it was the A plug. it fell right off when i took the radio out. And for some reason the bottom of the plug harness (where it hold the A&B plugs) was totally missing and the plastic was mangled. idk why. but oh well, it worked! thanks once agian
I am happy you have found the problem.
Thank you for the update.
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:44 AM   #189
Viktimize
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 278
My Ride: 2002 325i,2003 330ci
So has anyone installed satellite radio with this thing?? I already had an SCC1 Sirius tuner hooked up through my Dice unit that sh!t the bed. Looks like I can just buy some pre made 8 pin mini Din to RCA cable off Ebay, and plug the SCC1 into the USA-spec module. But is there a mode on the radio for it so that you can control your Sirius through the head unit?
Viktimize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:26 PM   #190
Viktimize
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 278
My Ride: 2002 325i,2003 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viktimize View Post
So has anyone installed satellite radio with this thing?? I already had an SCC1 Sirius tuner hooked up through my Dice unit that sh!t the bed. Looks like I can just buy some pre made 8 pin mini Din to RCA cable off Ebay, and plug the SCC1 into the USA-spec module. But is there a mode on the radio for it so that you can control your Sirius through the head unit?
Figured out my own answer. SCC1 is now useless. I can get a 3.5mm aux jack to RCA cable and use that to have the USA-spec play the audio through the headunit, but I will still need a regular car kit like the Stratus 6. SO that's what I'm going to do and just mount the display in the ashtray.
Viktimize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:01 PM   #191
Rezist09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 277
My Ride: 325i sedan
Found one on eBay USA-SPEC PA-12 dsp can I purchase this one for my car or do I have to find the one without dsp, eBay has it with dsp logo on it.for about 100.00!????

Last edited by Rezist09; 08-21-2013 at 08:10 PM.
Rezist09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:38 PM   #192
Rezist09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 277
My Ride: 325i sedan
USA-SPEC PA-12 dsp does this work for our cars? Found some one eBay but have dsp logo
Rezist09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:14 PM   #193
AgentJBOND
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 105
My Ride: '01 M3
DSP model will NOT work.
AgentJBOND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 10:59 PM   #194
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
^ +1
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 09:16 PM   #195
nakalol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
My Ride: BMW 325ci
Reviving this thread, I just installed a PA12BMW on my '02 325ci and i keep getting the "no disc"(when #1 switch is off) and "no magazine" (when the #1 switch on SPEC is on). However it Tells me AUX on the dashoard when the iPhone is connected through the charging cable(sorry my english is bad) and there is no sound coming from the car stereo, just the iPhone.I havent tried an iPOd on it yet, but i tried an iPhone 4. can somebody guide me ? And Yes i have read the posts describing the same problem, i just didnt understand the solution. Thank You

Last edited by nakalol; 03-18-2014 at 09:21 PM.
nakalol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:35 PM   #196
steve.325i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 763
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakalol View Post
Reviving this thread, I just installed a PA12BMW on my '02 325ci and i keep getting the "no disc"(when #1 switch is off) and "no magazine" (when the #1 switch on SPEC is on). However it Tells me AUX on the dashoard when the iPhone is connected through the charging cable(sorry my english is bad) and there is no sound coming from the car stereo, just the iPhone.I havent tried an iPOd on it yet, but i tried an iPhone 4. can somebody guide me ? And Yes i have read the posts describing the same problem, i just didnt understand the solution. Thank You
Hi, I was away this week and just seeing this now. Have you found your solution yet? I only connect to an iPod, not an iPhone, but I expect you should still get the message on the iPhone screen stating "BMW - Ok to disconnect".

First thing to debug is the 3 pin connector to the PA12. Do you have 12V between pins 2 and 3 on the 3 pin connector?


Car side connector
___________________
|...............................___|
|...3.....2.....1....___|
|___________|


1 : k-bus : white with red/yellow
2 : 12V : red with green
3 : gnd : brown

note: the USAspec document has a similar pic but it has the pin numbering reversed.

Last edited by steve.325i; 03-22-2014 at 04:38 PM.
steve.325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 10:42 AM   #197
fmzip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northeast
Posts: 3,007
My Ride: 2001 330cic & 530i
anyone using one of these with NAV? I don't see why it wouldn't work as its tapping off the CD changer cable.....
__________________
fmzip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 01:47 AM   #198
houstonwireless
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
My Ride: car
Send a message via ICQ to houstonwireless
repairing

plz share ur experience of repairing of digital equipments?
houstonwireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2014, 01:47 AM   #199
houstonwireless
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
My Ride: car
Send a message via ICQ to houstonwireless
Cricket Wireless
Houston Wireless Repairs - Houston's Cell Phone & Tablet Repair Specialist
Houston wireless repairs Relax. we can fix it while you wait...

Houston Wireless Repair services everything from broken iPhone, iPad, and
iPod devices to other smartphones like Blackberry and Android phone. We offer
every type of repair from cracked glass, broken LCD screen, water damage and any other component that may need a fix or replacement.

http://www.houstonwirelessrepairs.com
Contact : 832-887-7073
Cricket wireless
Houston Wireless Repairs
1112 Silber Rd # 40
Houston TX 77024
AND
Cricket Wireless
Houston Wireless Repairs
7670 Katy Freeway
# 40
Houston TX
77024
houstonwireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 08:16 PM   #200
pox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1
My Ride: 325 wagon
Where are the pictures of this pictorial. I know I used it to install my usa spec, but now I can not see the pictures anymore.

Thanks for your help.

pox
pox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use