E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 80 votes, 4.95 average. Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 12:40 AM   #361
e46 330ci vert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: cov uk
Posts: 25
My Ride: e46 vert
Send a message via ICQ to e46 330ci vert
im happy with my dynavin d99+ android
my cars audio is being upgraded over the next few weeks
the dynavin must have 2v preout,but that don't matter,coz my alpine h800 sound processor will boost it to 4v going to the amps.
ive even got the rue c800 controller that commands the h800 from the dash,modded into a custom lower ash tray panel ive been working on for a couple of weeks,nearly finished it now tho.
then theres a 12" fi ib3 infinite baffle going into the ski hatch that im working on.
so the many things I want the dynavin to do it does.
its a good all rounder,maybe not the most reliable unit out there,but ive had no problems so far.
e46 330ci vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 01:33 AM   #362
matt0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 212
My Ride: 318i e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by e46 330ci vert View Post
im happy with my dynavin d99+ android
my cars audio is being upgraded over the next few weeks
the dynavin must have 2v preout,but that don't matter,coz my alpine h800 sound processor will boost it to 4v going to the amps.
ive even got the rue c800 controller that commands the h800 from the dash,modded into a custom lower ash tray panel ive been working on for a couple of weeks,nearly finished it now tho.
then theres a 12" fi ib3 infinite baffle going into the ski hatch that im working on.
so the many things I want the dynavin to do it does.
its a good all rounder,maybe not the most reliable unit out there,but ive had no problems so far.
Thanks for that.

Are Dynavin still making the Android units or have they gone back to just the Windows ones? My local stockist only has Windows
matt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:15 AM   #363
Elvis530i
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 10
My Ride: 2002 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt0 View Post
I'm trying to decide between the Android and Windows OS, straight up I would rather have the Android but people are saying there's is **** etc but I don't know if that's just a hand full of users and most are fine etc. I would love to have Android and the App Store that comes with it for so many things.

Could people with working android units please post also as I haven't seen many, or if they're aren't working what issues you had?
I haven't any "issues" per se; you just need to be conversant with Android and getting it set up correctly. The Android units need a wifi connection, and you may or may not be able to do with your phone. I could not get mine to connect to my HTC One XL and had to get a portable hotspot.

You also need to be cognizant of how Android works in the background: The system can get corrupted if you turn off your car when it's in the middle of booting up or updating apps. I have mine set to update apps manually, not automatically.

Like all Android-based systems, it can occasionally go haywire and require reinstallation of the software. This hasn't happened to me, but it's been reported. Reflashing the OS isn't a big deal, but you do need to be comfortable with that kind of thing.

If you just want it all to work out of the box, get a WinCE unit. If you want the extra flexibility of Android and are willing to deal with the extra effort involved, you should be okay. Now that I have mine all set up and running smoothly, I love it.
Elvis530i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:58 AM   #364
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Elvis, very well said....

If you are going to get an android unit you must be: "conversant, cognizant, comfortable with android" couldn't say it better myself!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 11:36 PM   #365
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Elvis, very well said....

If you are going to get an android unit you must be: "conversant, cognizant, comfortable with android" couldn't say it better myself!
Hey Jeff, been a long time since I've posted here but just had to inform you of something unusual.
I've had the V4 Dynavin for quite a while and as you know the phone book feature has never worked with these however, out of the blue the other day while waiting to pick up my son from school I was playing with the Bluetooth settings and lo and behold my phone contacts list with name and number now shows up on the Dynavin screen.
Very strange but in a good way.
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 05-18-2013 at 02:44 AM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 11:50 PM   #366
ocellatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tehran, Iran
Posts: 34
My Ride: 325i 2005
Hi there guys,
I was installing my D99+ Android unit and before fit it in the place I decided to check its functionality. Everything works fine but I couldn't go to the android part. Shouldn't the Navi button take me there? It just brings a screen with Navigation on the left ( which does not work because it wants to read from a non existing SD card ), Setting and Entertainment on the right. In the setting there is a System icon indicating Win CE 6.0.

Am I missing something or they have just sent me a Win.CE unit?

A side question, anyone know why my factory air condition unit ( it is a manual one ) wont fit in the AC relocation panel?

Last edited by ocellatus; 05-17-2013 at 11:51 PM.
ocellatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 01:32 PM   #367
E46Enthusiast20
Modded ///Member
 
E46Enthusiast20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 682
My Ride: 2008 135i M-Sport
Re: Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocellatus View Post
Hi there guys,
I was installing my D99+ Android unit and before fit it in the place I decided to check its functionality. Everything works fine but I couldn't go to the android part. Shouldn't the Navi button take me there? It just brings a screen with Navigation on the left ( which does not work because it wants to read from a non existing SD card ), Setting and Entertainment on the right. In the setting there is a System icon indicating Win CE 6.0.

Am I missing something or they have just sent me a Win.CE unit?

A side question, anyone know why my factory air condition unit ( it is a manual one ) wont fit in the AC relocation panel?
If it looks like this, then its the Win CE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1368901897985.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	506153  
__________________
RIP little red :(

My hellrot sedan thread.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...382&highlight=
E46Enthusiast20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:13 PM   #368
ocellatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tehran, Iran
Posts: 34
My Ride: 325i 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46Enthusiast20 View Post
If it looks like this, then its the Win CE.
Yes that's it.
Thanks for clearing it up.
ocellatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:51 AM   #369
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Hey Jeff, been a long time since I've posted here but just had to inform you of something unusual.
I've had the V4 Dynavin for quite a while and as you know the phone book feature has never worked with these however, out of the blue the other day while waiting to pick up my son from school I was playing with the Bluetooth settings and lo and behold my phone contacts list with name and number now shows up on the Dynavin screen.
Very strange but in a good way.
Darkoz! Ive missed your help around here!

haha....you are going way back with the V4 phonebook but if I recall the V4 phonebook DID work with certain phones....the protocol it had was an older type though so it didnt work with all the iphone/android stuff that were at the time growing in popularity. My assumption would be that your current phone supports multiple formats including the old stuff......I think.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:13 PM   #370
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Darkoz! Ive missed your help around here!

haha....you are going way back with the V4 phonebook but if I recall the V4 phonebook DID work with certain phones....the protocol it had was an older type though so it didnt work with all the iphone/android stuff that were at the time growing in popularity. My assumption would be that your current phone supports multiple formats including the old stuff......I think.....
Good to hear from you Jeff, my evil days are over
The thing is I don't have a new phone, it's the same iPhone I had when I got the Dynavin which is why it's so strange that the phone book now works all of a sudden, so the Dynavin just gets better with age
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:37 PM   #371
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
maybe we were not patient enough....it only took 3 years to download your contacts list!

Actually, I wonder if apple tweaked the bluetooth profile at some point and now they are playing nice together.

I know that iOS6 screwed up the bluetooth streaming track buttons, maybe we traded those for a 4 year old phonebook profile
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-20-2013 at 05:39 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:56 PM   #372
lfhdez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Corona CA
Posts: 376
My Ride: 2004 BMW 325i
Send a message via AIM to lfhdez Send a message via Yahoo to lfhdez
probably already been covered (on the many many MANY pages) but...

1) Does the D99+ always start up on the radio side? is there any way to default to start on the WinCE side?

2) The volume seems pretty low for it to be at 30 or 40, I usually have to crank it up to 64 (the max) to have it be at a reasonable volume and even then, I wouldnt it consider it to be "loud" per se (this is with the treble/bass/sub levels up at 7, 6 and 14 respectively). Am I missing something?


3) Sometimes I'll be listening to a radio and then switch to ipod and when I switch back to radio nothing plays. You can tell the station is still broadcasting because it's still picking up the text the radio station transmits. I push the "af" button and it starts up playing again, but if I don't it doesn't ever come back on wether I turn the radio on or not. Anyone else had this?
thanks.

-L
__________________
~Lu

Transmitido en espaņol por SAP
lfhdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 10:15 PM   #373
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
......Actually, I wonder if apple tweaked the bluetooth profile at some point and now they are playing nice together.

I know that iOS6 screwed up the bluetooth streaming track buttons, maybe we traded those for a 4 year old phonebook profile
Possibly, I did update the OS on the phone a while back so it's more than likely that this is what caused the change
Take care Jeff you wise and patient guru and if there are any people out there still not buying from you then they have rocks in their head.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:47 PM   #374
Silverghost123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 325i
Hi all,

Just a couple of questions, I had my Dynavin E46 D99 (Android) unit installed in October/ November last year and have lived with it now for over 6 months.

Very often (At least 8 or 9 times) I have had to reinstall the firmware from the micro SD card, although this is not a particularly arduous exercise, it does take a couple of hours to re-load the apps.

Problems encountered:
1. Main radio screen appears to distort in areas, I am assuming this is down to interference, is it fair to say that it was installed incorrectly, or is likely to be down to the design of the unit
2. Bluetooth connection to the telephone is very sporadic, one minute it is fine, one minute it drops connection or doesn't get a connection when starting the radio, I appreciate this could be down to the mobile phone, but it happened on an iphone, and still happens now that I have a Samsung S3
3. The screen is awful, you can't use your finger to scroll up and down through the menus as you invariably end up either selecting an incorrect item on the screen or it quickly scrolls up/ down to the end of the screen. The supplied plastic stick thingy does help, but even then it doesn't work anywhere near as good as I would expect (Maybe I have been spoilt with touch screens over the last few years, going back 7 or 8 years one of the first I used was better than this)
4. Android appears to be a waste of time, I have downloaded co pilot everytime I have had to reset it, and more than 4 times I have gone to use it and it says it is not installed correctly, another reason for re-setting the firmware
5. Every time I have to reset the unit I have to get an extension lead set up to the car with a wifi plug unit on it, otherwise I would be looking at downloading over 300MBs on the mobile phone to reinstall co pilot and the maps (Nothing to do with Dynavin, just saying that it is necessary
6. The unit itself appears to be very buggy, as can be seen by the amount of reinstallations, there have been no updates to the unit published since I purchased it over 6 months ago

I'm sorry if this is negative, I am only being absolutely truthful, I guess you can tell my disappointment in the unit, I really wish I had purchased a Parrot bluetooth now or one of the sat nav units from the BMW specialist.

Please don't slate me, as I say, this is only my take on it, and I guess the question is, does it look like I ended up with a duff unit, or do others experience similar problems. Maybe I have just been unlucky.

Chris
Silverghost123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:56 PM   #375
Silverghost123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2001 325i
I have had exactly the same issue with the sound just stopping when switching between Android/ radio and Ipad/ radio.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhdez View Post
probably already been covered (on the many many MANY pages) but...

1) Does the D99+ always start up on the radio side? is there any way to default to start on the WinCE side?

2) The volume seems pretty low for it to be at 30 or 40, I usually have to crank it up to 64 (the max) to have it be at a reasonable volume and even then, I wouldnt it consider it to be "loud" per se (this is with the treble/bass/sub levels up at 7, 6 and 14 respectively). Am I missing something?


3) Sometimes I'll be listening to a radio and then switch to ipod and when I switch back to radio nothing plays. You can tell the station is still broadcasting because it's still picking up the text the radio station transmits. I push the "af" button and it starts up playing again, but if I don't it doesn't ever come back on wether I turn the radio on or not. Anyone else had this?
thanks.

-L
Silverghost123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:24 PM   #376
helibrdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 14
My Ride: 2005 BMW 325i
Just finished up my D99+ Android install this weekend plus the backup camera from Jeff as well. Followed Jeff's write up plus some good youtube videos on the e46 install. The only issue that I had was that the GPS antenna as delivered was not working but Jeff shipped one out the day that I called him.

So far so good - ran the USB extensions to the ashtray area in the back of the console. Best part was the the camera I received from Jeff had a long enough lead on it that I just had to fish the small connector through the trunk lid and rubber boot. Bought 32GB microSD card for Copilot and other apps.

Thanks for the help Jeff!
helibrdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:50 AM   #377
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Anybody know how to set, or disable the start up volume of the unit? Every time I restart the car the D99+ starts up at the volume level of 10, which is just to loud in general. I would rather it start up at the last set volume level rather than the 10 that it does.

I could not find where to set this. Sorry if it's been covered before.
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:53 PM   #378
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Have you tried the amp setting in the hidden factory settings menu? If 10 is loud you should set the amp setting to "common".
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-28-2013 at 11:20 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 01:37 AM   #379
ocellatus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tehran, Iran
Posts: 34
My Ride: 325i 2005
I installed my D99+ WinCE ( the one that was supposed to be Android! ) and I have to say that I'm happy with keeping that. Maybe the mistake from the seller was for good! Now I'm not into Android complications and possible instabilities. Plus, I've got this 5" Android phone which does whatever Dynavin was supposed to do and even more.

Now I have a question about OBC. There are three parameters that it can not read: engine temp, oil temp and battery voltage. I have read this thread and some parts of other Dynavin threads. I saw confusing comments about engine and oil temp sensors, some said only M3 has them and some said all e46s have them. What I'm sure is that there is a battery voltage read in the hidden factory OBC functions of all E46s.
I wonder if anyone finally found a way to get Dynavin read these 3 parameters?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvis530i View Post
-The GPS antenna location is critical. I could not get a reliable signal behind the dash or around the windshield. I got an instant signal with the antenna on the outside of the car, but that wasn't practical. Under the hood near the cabin filter housing also worked, but I could not figure out an easy way to get through the firewall. I finally ran it back under the center console and mounted it behind my sliding tray. It still takes a couple of minutes to get a fix, but I can deal with that.
Yeah its critical. First I placed it on the metal vent up on the Dynavin unit, it had good signals but when I finished installation and put all trims back and restarted the unit there where no signal! It was a pain to remove the trim and air duct again! then I placed it on top corner of windshield and it works fine.

About placing it under the hood, it is very easy to get through the firewall, just remove that tiny glove box on the left side of the steering wheel and you will see a "X" cut on the firewall, that's the hole I used to pass the cruise control retrofit cable. I've attached a picture.

If I ever have to get to behind of Dynavin again ( probably for installing rear camera ) I may change the GPS antenna place to engine compartment on top of the cabin filter ( Is Dynavin's GPS antenna water and heat proof? ). Current place signals are good but sometimes down to 3-4 satellites, sounds not totally reliable. I don't know what kind of windshield I have. Oh just now I noticed in the picture that the top section of windshield looks UV protected or something!

Also, I noticed that the time setting on windows side should be set correctly in order for GPS to find satellites. For some reasons my time goes off for 1 or 2 hours sometimes and then it won't get a single signal.

I have attached some pictures of my antennas placing ( GPS and two DVB-T ants ) DIY flush mount USB and AUX ( couldn't find them around ) and final setup. This is a great feature to have on the car.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_27.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	508019   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_28.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	56.6 KB
ID:	508020   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_30.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	508021   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_35.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	508022  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_37.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	107.1 KB
ID:	508023   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cruise_control_retrofit_17.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	508024   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynavin_e46_install_23.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	508025   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130527_093810_.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	79.2 KB
ID:	508026  


Last edited by ocellatus; 05-29-2013 at 01:42 AM.
ocellatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:40 PM   #380
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Have you tried the amp setting in the hidden factory settings menu? If 10 is loud you should set the amp setting to "common".
Thanks Jeff,

It was set to "None", so I set it to "common". While it does seem to fix the loud starting volume, it seems to have shifted the whole volume range. Before I never had it higher than ~20 before distortion, now it has ranges as high as 70 or so. Also the volume does not seem to reach a peak or nearly as loud as level. It seems to have clipped the output or something as max volume isn;t even loud.

Any further solutions?

As an aside, the firmware has fix my issues with the screen. Thanks!
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d99, d99+, dynavin, gps, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use