E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2013, 06:11 PM   #1
Arasmitaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 Bmw 323ci
Auxiliary port for e46???

Hey guys i tried looking through the forums but no one really talks about this. In my 2000 e46 323ci i have the Harmon Kardon sound system in it but my problem is that it only has a cd player, I was hoping for at least a cassette deck to plug in one of those cabled cassette things to plug into your phone, but no. Does anyone have any advice for me to try??? please help!
Arasmitaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 07-04-2013, 06:27 PM   #2
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Swap in a business cd player from a 03 model year or later, then buy the aux cable adapter and install it yourself.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 06:29 PM   #3
Arasmitaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 Bmw 323ci
If I were to find one in a junk yard would i be able to set it up myself because i really would have no idea what to do but then again theres always youtube. Would it work without asking for a code or anything?

I was just looking on ebay and i found a used oem navigation radio with cassette and all from a 2001 e46 m3, would i be able to make that work in my 2000 e46 323ci???

Last edited by Arasmitaz; 07-04-2013 at 06:51 PM.
Arasmitaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:38 PM   #4
Importjunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 341
My Ride: 00 Prelude
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arasmitaz View Post
If I were to find one in a junk yard would i be able to set it up myself because i really would have no idea what to do but then again theres always youtube. Would it work without asking for a code or anything?

I was just looking on ebay and i found a used oem navigation radio with cassette and all from a 2001 e46 m3, would i be able to make that work in my 2000 e46 323ci???
No it would not work because it's from a 2001. Get one from a 2003 or later, then look up AUX input DIY on this forum. There are probably a few people in the classifieds who will ship you one for 150-200

Edit: make sure the radio has the "mode" button instead of CD.

Last edited by Importjunkie; 07-04-2013 at 07:38 PM.
Importjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
leblancrene
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 34
My Ride: volvo 240 bmwe46
does having mode instead of cd button in a2002 mean i can use aux input kit
leblancrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 08:01 PM   #6
johngreaver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Trinity NC
Posts: 237
My Ride: 02 325i
No the mode button means nothing. You need to have s/w 43 or higher on a 9/02 or later unit.
johngreaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:13 AM   #7
Arasmitaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 Bmw 323ci
Im not trying to be rude or anything but whats the difference between a 2000 and 2001 e46 because $45 for a navigation radio set sounds like a great deal to me. I just dont see why it wouldn't work?
Arasmitaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:37 AM   #8
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,924
My Ride: 325Ci
All your answers has been answered.
To have AUX functionality, you need 03 or higher business CD unit or you have to have a tape deck unit.
Even the ones with NAV units didnt come with AUX capacity until 03.
In addition to the headunit being 03+, the software version should be 43 or higher.
If you want to spend money wisely, get a head unit from 05, they play mp3 discs as well.

There is a big thread on DIY aux input for e46. If you read that thread, there is a step by step instruction of everything.

Also, there is a big difference in 00 and 01 e46 starting from the engine.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:06 AM   #9
peytonracer4
:D
 
peytonracer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 6,377
My Ride: '00 328i
Auxiliary port for e46???

It seems like everyone in this thread is a little clueless...
Yes OP you can have aux in your car. NO you don't need a new head unit. Yours will work fine.
Buy a USA spec or grom unit and run it into your CD player. Bam, you have auxiliary input.
__________________
choose to click or forever hold your peace ;)
peytonracer4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:12 AM   #10
Arasmitaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: California
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2000 Bmw 323ci
@peytonracer4 thanks for that reply its sounds a lot easier and cheaper than most of the things i have been reading! can you please give me more details on this please!
Arasmitaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:27 AM   #11
peytonracer4
:D
 
peytonracer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 6,377
My Ride: '00 328i
Auxiliary port for e46???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arasmitaz View Post
@peytonracer4 thanks for that reply its sounds a lot easier and cheaper than most of the things i have been reading! can you please give me more details on this please!
All USA e46 are prewired for a cd changer. Most do not have the changer unit in the trunk. If you plug an aftermarket unit in like "USA spec" or "grom audio" unit into the cd changer dongle it makes the car think a changer is in there. So when you press the cd button it changes it to "disk 1" which in that case will be your auxiliary input.

If you have an iPhone, they make them with an iPhone cable which allows you to skip songs and such with your head unit. That's what I have.

Just do a google search on USA spec or grom audio
__________________
choose to click or forever hold your peace ;)
peytonracer4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:27 AM   #12
iRide113
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cali | Vegas
Posts: 370
My Ride: 2004 325i
iRide113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 11:52 PM   #13
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,924
My Ride: 325Ci
Auxiliary port for e46???

Quote:
Originally Posted by peytonracer4 View Post
All USA e46 are prewired for a cd changer. Most do not have the changer unit in the trunk. If you plug an aftermarket unit in like "USA spec" or "grom audio" unit into the cd changer dongle it makes the car think a changer is in there. So when you press the cd button it changes it to "disk 1" which in that case will be your auxiliary input.

If you have an iPhone, they make them with an iPhone cable which allows you to skip songs and such with your head unit. That's what I have.

Just do a google search on USA spec or grom audio
Always thought grom and USA spec were expensive than the new used head unit.
Good info, thanks.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:20 PM   #14
Jeremy Bavsound
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 109
My Ride: Bavsound
Quote:
Originally Posted by trj View Post
Always thought grom and USA spec were expensive than the new used head unit.
Good info, thanks.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
We do offer a variety of iPod integration/Auxilary input option for your vehicle, which I have linked below. Clicking on each will tell you more about it, and please feel free to get in touch with me directly if you have any other questions! It will work perfectly with your current radio!

http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/ca...e-Integration/
__________________
Jeremy Whittle
jeremyw@bavsound.com

Bavsound | Audio Solutions for YOUR BMW
www.bavsound.com | 404.381.1800


Jeremy Bavsound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use