E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 09:26 AM   #1
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Question about Steptronic.

Hi all, ive been wondering, since the E36 manuals fit into the E46 cars, is it true that my Steptronic would fit into a E36??

My brother has a E36 and he is thinking of installing my Steptronic into his car.

Has anyone ever succeeded in doing so or knows if this is possible?


Sent from my PadFone using BimmerApp mobile app
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 08-28-2013, 07:42 PM   #2
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 289
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about Steptronic.

no, since you have to install the transmission DME (aka EGS) also, you need in your cluster the 1 2 3 4 5 for each gear... also you need to match your EGS with your ms41 DME, and I think, this is impossible....
manual transmissions are straight bolt


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Hmm from my understanding, the gearbox is controlled by the EGS only no?
Cluster for 1 2 3 4 5? I'm not sure what you are referring to. can you please elaborate?

here's my chasis EE93500

Anyone could give some advice?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:26 PM   #4
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 289
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about Steptronic.

when you use the steptronic, in your cluster, show in what gear you are,
1 gear, 2 gear, etc.....


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 02:16 AM   #5
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
My Ride: 330iCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrdCloud View Post
Hmm from my understanding, the gearbox is controlled by the EGS only no?
Cluster for 1 2 3 4 5? I'm not sure what you are referring to. can you please elaborate?

here's my chasis EE93500

Anyone could give some advice?
well, its controlled by the egs, but egs gets it signals via can-bus, e.g. vehicle speed.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel


Last edited by daniel_f.; 08-29-2013 at 02:16 AM.
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:29 AM   #6
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
so will the GB work even if it doesn't display?
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:05 PM   #7
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 289
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Question about Steptronic.

no


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:20 PM   #8
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Ic thanks.
Guess I have to give up that idea
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 03:35 AM   #9
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
My Ride: 330iCA
I havenīt tried, but i would say it will work. the problem is, how can you tell in which gear the gearbox is?
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 12:35 PM   #10
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
Re: Question about Steptronic.

Cant tell from the original E36 anyway lol

Sent from my PadFone using BimmerApp mobile app
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:57 PM   #11
lszlszx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Socal
Posts: 4,554
My Ride: 328i, XC70
What's the advantage of having a steptronic in an E36? It's just an autobox.
They're slow to shift, too.
__________________
lszlszx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 02:37 AM   #12
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
My Ride: 330iCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lszlszx View Post
What's the advantage of having a steptronic in an E36? It's just an autobox.
They're slow to shift, too.
Have you driven a ZF5HP19 with short diff and alpina software?
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 10:19 AM   #13
StrdCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Singapore
Posts: 30
My Ride: 323
My ZF5HP19 shifts very fast and its pretty comfortable for my brother to drive.
I'm swapping in a manual and don't really wanna buy another zf5hp18 for my bro's e36. Thus I am thinking of how I could fit the zf5hp19 in.
StrdCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use