E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 121 votes, 4.97 average. Display Modes
Old 10-16-2013, 05:26 PM   #481
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
iOS 7 problems?

My iPod connection does not work properly. I can play through the iPhone connection cable and control it on the iPhone but the Dynavin screen does not work so I canīt control it on the screen. Nothing happens when I push the menu button etc.

I have iPhone 4S with iOS 7 could this be the problem??
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 06:09 PM   #482
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
hold down the menu button, that should take you back to the artist, album, song, etc... screen. If it doesn't, double check the connection of the ipod cable.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:44 PM   #483
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
I tried everything but it just doesnt work with my iPhone 4S with iOS7. Then I tried another phone iPhone 4 with iOS6 and then everything works perfectly.

Anyone who got the D99+ to work with iOS7 ?
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 10:15 PM   #484
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
I just tried it with a iphone 4, 4S and 5 (with lighting adapter). All with iOS7, all worked fine, exactly the same as they always have. Have you tried doing a hard reboot on your iphone? Hold down the home and lock button for 10 seconds until it reboots.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 06:31 PM   #485
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Hi again Jeff.
Ive heard that the Dynavin is working with parking sensor? How do i plug it? Ive bought this one : http://www.mekonomen.se/bil/tillbeho...sor-pa184903sv
How do i plug it to the dynavin? I want the dynavin to reg it on the display along with the camera function.

Is this possible? Or do i need to buy parkingsensor kit just for the Dynavin?

Thanks in advance!
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #486
BimmerE46 M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 24
My Ride: E46 M3
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

Pm me jefd


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
BimmerE46 M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #487
BimmerE46 M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 24
My Ride: E46 M3
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

Jeff*


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
BimmerE46 M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:43 PM   #488
Mman004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Florida/DC
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2000 E46
Quote:
Originally Posted by poulsen89 View Post
Hi again Jeff.
Ive heard that the Dynavin is working with parking sensor? How do i plug it? Ive bought this one : http://www.mekonomen.se/bil/tillbeho...sor-pa184903sv
How do i plug it to the dynavin? I want the dynavin to reg it on the display along with the camera function.

Is this possible? Or do i need to buy parkingsensor kit just for the Dynavin?

Thanks in advance!
You will have to use BMW OEM sensors for this to work

Last edited by Mman004; 10-19-2013 at 06:56 PM.
Mman004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 04:43 PM   #489
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
I have now finished installing and testing my new Dynavin D99+. The installation has the addition of an aux and USB adapter in the centre console and a reversing camera. The installation was pretty straight forward with the most challenging part being the wire installation of the reversing camera and the bluetooth microphone.

I have to say that Iīm very pleased with the Dynavin unit. Itīs working very well considering itīs not an OEM part but a pretty cheap unit. The looks are great and it feels and looks almost like a "original" piece of equipment.

With this unit I have upgraded the car to have much of the same features that I was missing from my previous BMW F10. I now have a car with a more modern looking interior and a DVD player, Reversing camera, PDC graphics, Bluetooth streaming of music, Bluetooth phone interface with address book, Navigation system, OBD info, iPhone aux and USB connection. Thats pretty much all that I wanted and all to a very low cost (even if I had to pay all the norwegian taxes on top of the price from Jeff) I will highly recomend buying from Jeff here at the forum. Very fast delivery and good follow up in after sales!

There is only two things that I would like to improve and that is the glare from the screen as mentioned from others regarding this screen. The other thing is the reception of the GPS. It is VERY slow to get fix and the reception is pretty poor in general compared to even the GPS built in to an iPhone or iPad. I know that there has been claimed that you have to move around with the antenna and try to find a place where you can get a good signal. I think this is just bull... The fact is that the antenna is really poor and it is probably an old sirf II chipset or something. I will compare it to old 12 Channel receivers they also had a slow fix and you could not get a fix inside a house. Todays recievers with 24 channels surf III chipsets is much better and they get a fast fix even inside the house and down below in my boat without any problems. So if it is possible to get a better antenna with a newer (more expensive) chipset for this unit I would GLADLY buy it and make the whole installation (almost) perfect.

Here are some pictures:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3822.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	189.1 KB
ID:	531826   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3823.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	117.0 KB
ID:	531827   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3824.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	137.8 KB
ID:	531828   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3826.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	531829  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3828.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	133.9 KB
ID:	531830   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3829.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	156.2 KB
ID:	531831   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3821.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	209.3 KB
ID:	531832   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3815.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	141.7 KB
ID:	531833  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3818.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	164.8 KB
ID:	531834   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3817.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	531835  
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:47 PM   #490
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Looks great, glad it does what you want. Your installation of the USB and aux are a good example of how it should be done.

I would suggest on the GPS antenna that you put it on the dash, at the base of the windshield. Run the wire around the side of the dash, concealing the wire in the gap between the windshield and the dash. If you currently have the GPS antenna buried inside the dash the signal is often not strong enough to get a "lock", if you go to the GPS monitor in the background winCE menu you can look at the signal strength, if it displays in grey its too weak to lock, if it displays in blue its a strong signal.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 05:48 PM   #491
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
Well, it works OK (the GPS) and I get a strong enough signal and enough satellites (about 5-7 and you need 3 to get a lock) but itīs just that it takes a pretty long time to get the lock (could be all from 1-5 minutes I think depending on weather, time and speed). But once you get it you have it until you turn of the ignition or park in a bunker :-) Iīm very reluctant to move the antenna on top of the dash because I want a clean looking installation so I might just live with the slow lock. No big deal really but if there was a more sensitive antenna available that would work with the unit I would buy it to whatever cost (almost) because it would make the whole upgrade installation close to perfection in my eyes.
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 05:55 PM   #492
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
eh.....thats a long time for a lock, its definately taking a while for it to find 3 signals that are strong enough, when the signals are strong it should be locked by the time the nav program boots up. I hear you about the clean look but to my eyes a black nub at the base of the windshield doesnt look like much, but to each his own.....

what about the back window? I havent tried it but a lot of newer cars I have seen locate the stock gps antenna on the rear deck, Might work just as well, but be a lot less visible, maybe try it above and below the rear deck upholstered panel.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:17 PM   #493
stalensnuitje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 20
My Ride: '05 BMW 320D Tourin
Re: Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

I recognize what Leading Edge is posting, sounds familiar. Even 5+ minutes in foggy weather...

I'll definitely try the relocation option, but perfect would of course be an option to use the built-in OEM GPS unit that sits somewhere in my car! Haven't seen any options for that (yet), though.

Sent from my C5303 using BimmerApp mobile app
stalensnuitje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:35 PM   #494
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
I should clarify something for future readers of this thread.....the gps antenna is intended to go on the outside of the car.....thats why its magnetic.... Back 10 years ago we always put gps/sat radio antennas on the roof or trunklikd, oems still do, a lot of installers still do.

In my install post from 4 years ago, before I was a dealer, I posted pics of it installed on the crossbar inside the dash, it was just a convenient place and it worked for me at the time, but now, years later, many people have the mistaken idea that location is the "correct" location for the antenna, and get upset when it doesnt work well there. Understand that NONE of the locations inside the cabin are the "correct" location, we are just trying to avoid putting the antenna on the outside of the car (for obvious reasons). In my experience inside the dash works ok, sometimes, for some people. But the dash top location works good, all the time, for everyone. Its the location Ive been suggesting for a couple years now. As I mentioned above, I would also be interested to see if the rear deck works well too. That might be too much of an install challenge for most people but I suggested it to "Leading Edge" since he clearly knows a thing or two about installing.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-23-2013 at 06:37 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:51 PM   #495
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
Good suggestions from Jeff and thanks for caring about our installation. I might try to relocate the antenna. If I do I will post result here.

Another interesting question though is if there is possible at all to use another antenna? It looks to me that the antenna connector would be some kind of a standard type and then I would guess that there should be a more sensitive antenna with another chipset out there somewhere that might work with the unit? This would be very interesting if Jeff would be able to check this out with the Dynavin factory (designers).
I realize that this is to much to ask from a dealer who just sell the units as they are delivered and built but maybe someone out there who are really into the nitty gritty about GPS equipment would know the answer?
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:03 AM   #496
ccc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 33
My Ride: BMW 320D '02
Hello!
I need a firmware for Dynavin DVB-T tuner (D99+)
can anyone help me?

Last edited by ccc; 10-25-2013 at 07:04 AM.
ccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:43 PM   #497
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,034
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

Is there anyway I can bypass my unit to when I click the camera button, my reverse camera will turn on while I'm driving.?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 11:43 AM   #498
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
yes, but its not recommended as (the easy way) would require that the camera be on all the time.....and backup cams are not designed to do that so it will greatly reduce its life. In order to keep the cam from being on all the time you would need to install a manual power switch on it. If you dont already know how to set this up I would suggest you have a pro do it as you need some knowledge of wiring and proper tools and supplies to set this up.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 07:57 PM   #499
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,034
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
yes, but its not recommended as (the easy way) would require that the camera be on all the time.....and backup cams are not designed to do that so it will greatly reduce its life. In order to keep the cam from being on all the time you would need to install a manual power switch on it. If you dont already know how to set this up I would suggest you have a pro do it as you need some knowledge of wiring and proper tools and supplies to set this up.
Ah figured it would just Turn on when I would command it to instead thanks for the reply


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 03:37 AM   #500
ccc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 33
My Ride: BMW 320D '02
My camera is connected permanently (to ACC positive - key switch)
Work more than two years without a problem
ccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d99, d99+, dynavin, gps, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use