E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 121 votes, 4.97 average. Display Modes
Old 10-28-2013, 02:18 PM   #501
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccc View Post
My camera is connected permanently (to ACC positive - key switch)
Work more than two years without a problem
It can be done, just not recommended. There are tons of different cams out there, some may survive, some may not. BUT Trent bought the cam from me so I know which one he has....and I know from experience that it WILL fail eventually if left on all the time as it was not designed for a 100% duty cycle.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 11:02 PM   #502
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,034
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

I do recommend adding the clips for the license plate housing so we do not have to use 3M tape. I ended up taking my old clip and putting it on the camera housing so I did not have to tape it all in there


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 01:40 PM   #503
ccc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 33
My Ride: BMW 320D '02
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
It can be done, just not recommended. There are tons of different cams out there, some may survive, some may not. BUT Trent bought the cam from me so I know which one he has....and I know from experience that it WILL fail eventually if left on all the time as it was not designed for a 100% duty cycle.
I also would like to buy a camera from you and tv tuner that I currently have problems, but unfortunately, in Europe there is no such Dynavin -dealer. They do not respond to any emails
ccc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 05:12 PM   #504
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by trentcdrums View Post
I do recommend adding the clips for the license plate housing so we do not have to use 3M tape. I ended up taking my old clip and putting it on the camera housing so I did not have to tape it all in there
Correct, that is the right way to do it, the 3M tape is a gasket to keep water and road grime out of the housing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccc View Post
I also would like to buy a camera from you and tv tuner that I currently have problems, but unfortunately, in Europe there is no such Dynavin -dealer. They do not respond to any emails
So your original dealer cant help you? Have you tried contacting the German dealer, maybe they can help as they always seem to do a pretty good job from what I have seen..... Maybe contact dynavin directly and ask them to point you to a dealer who can help you out? However I know that at least in my case, I simply cannot support units and accessories that I did not sell.....it doesnt work from a business point of view.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-29-2013 at 05:14 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 11:30 PM   #505
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,034
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

[QUOTE=jeffb325@DynavinSystems;15802048]Correct, that is the right way to do it, the 3M tape is a gasket to keep water and road grime out of the housing.



Wait so I should put that gasket in with the clip? Won't that stop the clip from connecting?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 04:31 PM   #506
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
[QUOTE=trentcdrums;15802809]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
Correct, that is the right way to do it, the 3M tape is a gasket to keep water and road grime out of the housing.



Wait so I should put that gasket in with the clip? Won't that stop the clip from connecting?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
no, it will still clip in.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 08:07 PM   #507
B3rt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2
My Ride: audi TT
Hi all,

I got a few questions/problems with my dynavin D99+ win ce unit.

1.
When i use the MP3 player i have to set it to random/shuffle eachtime i turn the unit on. The problem is it does not memorize the shuffle/random setting.
Is this a bug or somehwere a hidden setting what i have to enable so the player remembers i set it to shuffle/random?

2.
The display does not dim when i switch on my headlights. The buttons lights go on but the display does not dim. When i hold down the mute button it dims.
How can i set it that the display will dimm when i turn on the lights and switch back to bright again when i turn the lights off?

3.
When i switch to navigation or cellphone during radio or mp3 play and back again the sound quality is not the same as before i switched. The system misses some bass/depth in the sound. Turning the radio on/off the sound quality is fine again. but as soon as naviagation of cellphone/bluethoot is activated and turned off again the quality is less as before.
Anyone any idea if this is a setting?

Hope someone can advise (specially question 1)

Best regards,

Robert
B3rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 06:12 PM   #508
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by B3rt View Post
Hi all,

I got a few questions/problems with my dynavin D99+ win ce unit.

1.
When i use the MP3 player i have to set it to random/shuffle eachtime i turn the unit on. The problem is it does not memorize the shuffle/random setting.
Is this a bug or somehwere a hidden setting what i have to enable so the player remembers i set it to shuffle/random?

2.
The display does not dim when i switch on my headlights. The buttons lights go on but the display does not dim. When i hold down the mute button it dims.
How can i set it that the display will dimm when i turn on the lights and switch back to bright again when i turn the lights off?

3.
When i switch to navigation or cellphone during radio or mp3 play and back again the sound quality is not the same as before i switched. The system misses some bass/depth in the sound. Turning the radio on/off the sound quality is fine again. but as soon as naviagation of cellphone/bluethoot is activated and turned off again the quality is less as before.
Anyone any idea if this is a setting?

Hope someone can advise (specially question 1)

Best regards,

Robert
1) I think that is just how it is. But frankly I have not noticed one way or another. It is not just a setting though.

2) Yes you need to dim it manually by holding the MUTE button. There is no auto settings as there are now many places where daytime headlight use is mandatory or recommended and you can have the screen dimming in those situations.

3) That is not something ive seen, listen closely, is the issue that only the front or rear speakers are working? Have you changed the Navi Sound setting in the radio settings menu?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 07:17 PM   #509
B3rt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2
My Ride: audi TT
Thx for your anser.

1. very sad, it is really really anoying, i use the random setting always and eachtime the radio is switched on the setting is disabked again. Maybe someone could relay this to the developers and they release a (firmware) update for it so fix it.

2. true, but could be easy to set in seting: auto dim on (dim on hedlights) or auto dim off (dim on holding mute) Problem with the dim mute is that if you dim it and then activate navigation and go back to music again the dim function is also off again....

3. sound is over all speakers front an back. It is not the volume what changes but the "depht" in the sound, it is missing a bit off bass. It is not that it degrades 50% more 5%, not that big change but still a change...

The device is nice but the product is not there yet, some features are not good worked out yet and need some improvements.

I am curious if dynavin ever release a (windows) update for there products at all?
B3rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:26 PM   #510
30seconds
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: California
Posts: 32
My Ride: M3 vert
New commute which means an extra half hour a day in the car.

I finally pulled the trigger on the plus with a new alpine amp for the subwoofer. Getting installed at All Pro Audio down in San Jose/ Sunnyvale.

Will put a review up in a few days.
30seconds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:32 PM   #511
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Great choice going with all pro audio, those dudes know their stuff.

Make sure you look at the setup page and the faq page on my website, lots of little tips on getting everything dialed in which will make for a much better experience, and if you cant figure something out, email me, that's why Im here!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:07 AM   #512
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by B3rt View Post
Thx for your anser.

sound is over all speakers front an back. It is not the volume what changes but the "depht" in the sound, it is missing a bit off bass. It is not that it degrades 50% more 5%, not that big change but still a change...

I am curious if dynavin ever release a (windows) update for there products at all?
I have never heard of this.....are you sure its not just a volume change or something like that (bluetooth has its own volume). I cant imagine a way this is technically possible.....

Yes there have been a few updates but this is not a cell phone, its a radio, so the updates and changes are no "pushed" to everyone like an iOS updated.....they are more to correct specific errors or vehicle integration issues, its at the discretion of dealers like me to determine where and how to apply them.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 09:27 PM   #513
M_South_Afrikanna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Posts: 149
My Ride: e46 325i
Hey jeff had my dynavin 99+ for a bit and its pretty good. still playing with some stuff. An issue im having though is my usb takes forever to load so long so that I have never actually gotten into the usb browse screen, it just starts playing the first selection of songs while it keeps the cd loading image up. I have driven with this up for a 2 hour drive just to see if it would eventually do it and maybe it was just the usb size though 32gb should be fine right. any suggestions. Also just curious has anyone been able to open the programming to tweek it? say for instance I have an ipod running program that displays song and album in a list and has a search and jump to alphabet feature in it. would I be able to upload and over run the poorly design one already on there. I realise you just do install and dont actually know much about the programing but im just curious if you have heard of it
M_South_Afrikanna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:21 AM   #514
Aifos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ahens, Greec
Posts: 2
My Ride: X5 4,4
Hi Jeff,

I finished the installation on my E39 D99 but I have a problem with the start up logo. I am going to the hidden menu and selecting the BMW logo but each time I restart the unit goes back to the Dynavin logo. When I am going back to the hidden menu the option on the logo is again on the preset choice of Dynavin.

Any help on that?
Aifos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 08:26 AM   #515
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Hi Jeff.

Im having big issue with my Dynavin unit. Despite the fact that I'm not using a BMW nor have bought the unit from you, i hope you could solve this headache of mine.

Ive used my Dynavin unit a few months. Been working flawless. Only downside that I've noticed is that the car (Peugeot 08) has been warning on every startup. (Economy mode "low" or something like that) This after I've installed this unit.

Its been no problem sens I've used my car everyday and i thought that the system itself would prevent things like this, which is draining the battery when the car is not being used.

So, i went away. Still away. And after a few days being gone. My family decided to use my car. At that point, it was dead. Im 100% sure its due to the Dynavin unit. Ive connected it in the way its supposed to be connected. It even turn it self off when i leave the car.

What could be the problem to this draining issue? I thought if this was a common issue and you had the solution for it.

Heard some rumors about the DVD draining and ipod? Uses non of em.

Big thanks in advance,

//
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 09:32 AM   #516
tingbro1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 156
My Ride: 2002 330i
traffic

Hi Jeff,

Thinking of buying a D99+ but would like to have some type of traffic capability with navigation (I use Waze all the time). I checked on the iGO extras website and did not see traffic as an available update. Are there any other options for traffic on the unit? I'd go android to get Waze built in but have seen your posts on the issues with the android units.

Many thanks
tingbro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 10:40 AM   #517
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_South_Afrikanna View Post
Hey jeff had my dynavin 99+ for a bit and its pretty good. still playing with some stuff. An issue im having though is my usb takes forever to load so long so that I have never actually gotten into the usb browse screen, it just starts playing the first selection of songs while it keeps the cd loading image up. I have driven with this up for a 2 hour drive just to see if it would eventually do it and maybe it was just the usb size though 32gb should be fine right. any suggestions. Also just curious has anyone been able to open the programming to tweek it? say for instance I have an ipod running program that displays song and album in a list and has a search and jump to alphabet feature in it. would I be able to upload and over run the poorly design one already on there. I realise you just do install and dont actually know much about the programing but im just curious if you have heard of it
its getting hung up on something.....probably some video or oddball files mixed in with your music files, itunes for instance puts the albumn booklets and videos in with the music.

A 32GB card should load in about 30-45 seconds in my experience. If it doesnt do it by then its not going to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aifos View Post
Hi Jeff,

I finished the installation on my E39 D99 but I have a problem with the start up logo. I am going to the hidden menu and selecting the BMW logo but each time I restart the unit goes back to the Dynavin logo. When I am going back to the hidden menu the option on the logo is again on the preset choice of Dynavin.

Any help on that?
No idea.....are you using the "back" arrow after you make your selection? What about the other settings? Do they save?

Quote:
Originally Posted by poulsen89 View Post
Hi Jeff.

Im having big issue with my Dynavin unit. Despite the fact that I'm not using a BMW nor have bought the unit from you, i hope you could solve this headache of mine.

Ive used my Dynavin unit a few months. Been working flawless. Only downside that I've noticed is that the car (Peugeot 08) has been warning on every startup. (Economy mode "low" or something like that) This after I've installed this unit.

Its been no problem sens I've used my car everyday and i thought that the system itself would prevent things like this, which is draining the battery when the car is not being used.

So, i went away. Still away. And after a few days being gone. My family decided to use my car. At that point, it was dead. Im 100% sure its due to the Dynavin unit. Ive connected it in the way its supposed to be connected. It even turn it self off when i leave the car.

What could be the problem to this draining issue? I thought if this was a common issue and you had the solution for it.

Heard some rumors about the DVD draining and ipod? Uses non of em.

Big thanks in advance,

//
Sorry, I cant be of much help there as we dont have Peugeots here and I dont know how they are wired, the only thing I can suggest is to unplug things one at a time until you find your culprit. Also, is there any reason why you dont think you just have a weak battery....its that time of year when the temps drop and marginal batteries die. Most auto parts stores will test your battery for free (in the US at least).

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingbro1 View Post
Hi Jeff,

Thinking of buying a D99+ but would like to have some type of traffic capability with navigation (I use Waze all the time). I checked on the iGO extras website and did not see traffic as an available update. Are there any other options for traffic on the unit? I'd go android to get Waze built in but have seen your posts on the issues with the android units.

Many thanks
email me, I have an idea for you: jtdist@sbcglobal.net
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 11-28-2013 at 10:43 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 11:39 AM   #518
Aifos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ahens, Greec
Posts: 2
My Ride: X5 4,4
Yes I am using the back button but nothing. All other functions are saved no prob.
Aifos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 11:04 AM   #519
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
I dont know then, thats weird. Contact your dealer, see if they can help you reload the firmware, I dont know if that will do it but its worth a try.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 11:23 AM   #520
trentcdrums
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,034
My Ride: BMW 323i Sedan
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

So I figured out why when I talk using Bluetooth the person who I would be talking to said it sounded terrible.

There is a built in mic on the unit. Apparently that runs while I have my external mic turned on. Any way I can turn on the built in mic without having to put a peice of tape on it looking trashy?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
trentcdrums is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d99, d99+, dynavin, gps, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use