E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2013, 07:08 PM   #1
albarran9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 403
My Ride: E46, E53, E90
Dynavin + AudioControl Overdrive

Anyone have this setup? I'm trying to clean up the sound as much as possible after my Dynavin install. It sounds better than sock, but I feel the RCA outs are under powered. I'm wanting to run some active crossovers for my front components and would like to boost and or cleanup the RCA signal a bit. That way I can get as much out of my amps and have cleaner signal feeding them. I cant turn the gain up on my Alpine amps that much, otherwise I get noise interference. I also have an AudioControl LC2i LOC, but feel that the RCA signal is more "full" on the midbass.

Dynavin
Morel Tempo 5's
Alpine MRP-F250 (Fronts)
Alpine MRP-M500 (Subs)
Old MTX 12' subs

Last edited by albarran9; 11-01-2013 at 07:09 PM.
albarran9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-01-2013, 08:53 PM   #2
Jarrettm3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 71
My Ride: m3
I dont know about amping the highs and mids but I do have a dynavin right now and I am running two 12 kickers. To get the power and clean sound out of my subs, I installed the audio control overdrive plus to bring up the rca volts, which on the dyanvin are real low voltage output, and also audio control crossover set at 90hz. That worked out great for me.
Jarrettm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:06 PM   #3
albarran9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 403
My Ride: E46, E53, E90
Jarrettm3, good to hear that worked out for you. I think I'm going to give it a try. Where did you place it? I've heard people say that you need to plug it in as close to the source as possible. I've also read on here that some people put it behind the sunglass holder above the shifter under the trim. Did you get the 2 or 6 channel version?
albarran9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 11:47 PM   #4
Jarrettm3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 71
My Ride: m3
I have everything placed in the trunk, speakers,amp,overdrive,crossover. That would be techanally correct to place closer to source so that way you dont loose voltage through the resistance of length of wire. Then from the overdrive and out all the way to the amp which is prolly 16ft rca cable. Your trying to keep that voltage signal up through all that wire. I didnt do that and I dont think it is absoluty nessary to do it that way. My amp is kicker zx1000 turned up half way which is approx 2v setting and I have no problems. Overdrive plus is a two channel since Im running one mono amp

Last edited by Jarrettm3; 11-02-2013 at 11:48 PM.
Jarrettm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use