E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 11:58 AM   #1
CokMinusTheS54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jayhawk Central
Posts: 524
My Ride: '01 TiAg 325Ci 5mt
Relocating head unit to glove box

I'm relocating my head unit to my glove box so that I can mount a tablet in its place to use as my media hub and navigation, but still maintain the factory radio. For me this is a cheap alternative to upgrading my head unit since I already have ipod integration for the factory headunit.

Spacially, the business radio just fits in the glove box. So my next obstacle is getting all the wiring to reach it in there. To address this I'm going to buy an antenna extension cable and then use the female wiring harness adapter along with a male harness adapter spliced together to create a nice plug-n-play extention for the harness.

There is another cable that plugs into the back of the radio though that I do not know what it is. At first I thought it might be radio controls but I tested that theory wrong. So now I am unsure if it's required or not, and if so, how can I extended it.


What is this?


It goes here.

Sent from my SM-N900V using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________

Last edited by CokMinusTheS54; 11-03-2013 at 12:09 PM.
CokMinusTheS54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-03-2013, 12:25 PM   #2
pedrobrocas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: newark, nj
Posts: 1
My Ride: 2002 325i
Re: Relocating head unit to glove box

Antenna

Sent from my C525c using BimmerApp mobile app
pedrobrocas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,040
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
radio amplifier
__________________
Contact me if you need to unlock your phone.

Also can code your car
haurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:03 PM   #4
CokMinusTheS54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jayhawk Central
Posts: 524
My Ride: '01 TiAg 325Ci 5mt
The antenna is the plug on the bottom left corner in the second picture. Radio amplifier you say, as in power from the factory amp in the trunk?
__________________
CokMinusTheS54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 11:13 AM   #5
CokMinusTheS54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jayhawk Central
Posts: 524
My Ride: '01 TiAg 325Ci 5mt
Re: Relocating head unit to glove box

Bump. ^

Sent from my SM-N900V using BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
CokMinusTheS54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 12:08 PM   #6
daki_bmw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 818
My Ride: 330Ci
Diversity antenna cable. Basically our cars (prior to 2002) have two antenna cables. Both are needed, unless you change your antenna amp (inside driver's side C-pillar) to a 2002+ type.
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=396343
__________________
daki_bmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 01:44 PM   #7
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,040
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
Quote:
Radio amplifier you say, as in power from the factory amp in the trunk?
radio antenna amplifier, it got nothing to do with factory amps
__________________
Contact me if you need to unlock your phone.

Also can code your car
haurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:16 PM   #8
CokMinusTheS54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Jayhawk Central
Posts: 524
My Ride: '01 TiAg 325Ci 5mt
Quote:
Originally Posted by daki_bmw View Post
Diversity antenna cable. Basically our cars (prior to 2002) have two antenna cables. Both are needed, unless you change your antenna amp (inside driver's side C-pillar) to a 2002+ type.
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=396343
I'll have to test how it affects radio reception, but essentially, if I don't use or care about AM/FM radio, it doesn't matter if I have it plugged in. Correct?
__________________
CokMinusTheS54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 07:55 AM   #9
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 95
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Quote:
Originally Posted by CokMinusTheS54 View Post
I'll have to test how it affects radio reception, but essentially, if I don't use or care about AM/FM radio, it doesn't matter if I have it plugged in. Correct?
Correct.
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 07:41 PM   #10
BMWMac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 61
My Ride: 325i
CokMinusTheS54,

This is exactly what I've been thinking of doing to my car - moving the headunit to the glovebox and installing a tablet as a multimedia system. I would love a further write-up to know if you actually ended up doing it, how you did the re-wiring, etc.

Thanks.
BMWMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use