E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-31-2013, 05:01 PM   #41
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,659
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
No dice on the DTC delete setting the monitoring to ready. Could be because the fuse for the 02 sensors in the DME box as explained in my other thread has been left out triggering a change in the way the program section looks at the data section.

Not going to look into it further and moving on unto identifying the tunable maps with it's right corrections.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 09:54 AM   #42
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,881
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
I'm curious if the efficiency threshold for post-cat sensors can be modified on an original tune.

The goal would be to eliminate a CEL for those running catless headers, yet maintain sensor readiness for OBD2 emissions testing. Possible, or I've got my head in the clouds?
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:28 AM   #43
jdjg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Panama City, Panama
Posts: 278
My Ride: e39, m52tub30
Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
I'm curious if the efficiency threshold for post-cat sensors can be modified on an original tune.

The goal would be to eliminate a CEL for those running catless headers, yet maintain sensor readiness for OBD2 emissions testing. Possible, or I've got my head in the clouds?
I have in my car, the Euro tune for my MS43 with catless headers and NO post O2 sensor, also I have full read of my two headers O2 sensors (Pre cat sensors) and NO CEL light in my cluster


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jdjg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 10:11 AM   #44
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,659
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
I'm curious if the efficiency threshold for post-cat sensors can be modified on an original tune.

The goal would be to eliminate a CEL for those running catless headers, yet maintain sensor readiness for OBD2 emissions testing. Possible, or I've got my head in the clouds?
I do remember seeing references for min and max values concerning the 02 sensors. But I'm not going to look at into it any further. (fornow) (made other arriangments to pass emmisions)

Moving unto map identifying.

really want to find the throttle maps.

I've been playing with idapro, but not entirely sure what the right RAM and ROM sizes are for the MS43 and don't know how to use IdaPro just yet effectively to trust what I am finding plus also slowly self teaching myself.
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-02-2013 at 04:36 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 06:54 PM   #45
jony787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
My Ride: 318ti M52tu SWAP
Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

Open the DAMOS With a full 430056 dump......


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jony787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 12:27 AM   #46
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330iCA
havenīt the throttle maps been identified by harkantt? i remember modifying them!
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 07:51 AM   #47
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,881
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Re: Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

Quote:
Originally Posted by new//M3fan View Post
I do remember seeing references for min and max values concerning the 02 sensors. But I'm not going to look at into it any further. (fornow) (made other arriangments to pass emmisions)

Moving unto map identifying.

really want to find the throttle maps.

I've been playing with idapro, but not entirely sure what the right RAM and ROM sizes are for the MS43 and don't know how to use IdaPro just yet effectively to trust what I am finding plus also slowly self teaching myself.
It would be a godsend if we had a set of modified tunes to use, as a default for each E46 model.

Alternatively, if it could be possible to delete/disable the algorithm which check for a lean condition when coming off the throttle, any cheap O2 simulators would work 100% of the time.
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:14 PM   #48
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,659
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jony787 View Post
Open the DAMOS With a full 430056 dump......


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Not sure where I can find a full 430056 dump. Only been able to find a partial read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
havenīt the throttle maps been identified by harkantt? i remember modifying them!
Didn't see them in the xdf.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
It would be a godsend if we had a set of modified tunes to use, as a default for each E46 model.

Alternatively, if it could be possible to delete/disable the algorithm which check for a lean condition when coming off the throttle, any cheap O2 simulators would work 100% of the time.
Any clue on what the mnemonic would be for that function in the DAMOS?
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-05-2013 at 02:39 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 06:43 PM   #49
jony787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
My Ride: 318ti M52tu SWAP
you can also read full dump with galleto 1260. working now in writing with it....
jony787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:35 PM   #50
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,659
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jony787 View Post
you can also read full dump with galleto 1260. working now in writing with it....
What are the steps to getting a full read on the 1260?
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 12:50 AM   #51
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330iCA
at the end of the week i can give you the position of the throttle map. currently i donīt have any spare time.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:08 AM   #52
kristsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
My Ride: 330D M57N
I am also interested on sharing my knowledge, time and hard work for disassambling MS43/MS45 functions and make this ECU open tuned.

The more people will be involved here, the faster we will make it happen!

Yesterday I reviewed 430056 file and collected some actual maps with clear english meaning.

I have also perhaps found some directions on how to disable IMMO. This is very necessary for me as I am about to install M54 in different chassis.

First of all, HakenTT has placed comment "tuners make the whole map to 00" in his 430055 XDF's "ID VIM PL MAF". I have found this 6x8 map @ 75E0F (430056 software).

Secondly, there was also an information, that some DTC's should be disabled for IMMO-DELETE. I might also found them,too (430056 software ):

705BE (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5395
705C0 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394
705C2 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394
705C4 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394

There are also other single value maps that contain the word "vim" and should be related to IMMO system. Be we should start with testing zeroing ID VIM PL MAF. Unfortunately, I don't have a running engine so would be great if someone could test it on his car if the software version is the same. If not - then I could try to locate IMMO maps on different software if someone are really ready to test it!

Secondly, I really want to understand the logics of MAF measurements and how the map voltage are scaled in the software.

I found 16X16 map in 7A738 (ip_maf_1_diag_n_tps_av) - it has RPM/TPS axis, so it means it consist of requested load values (in DME the wording "maf" can also mean - "load"). So, if injection/ignition maps have RPM/LOAD axis, then doesn't it make this 16x16 map as Alpha-N map?

There are also 2 16X16 MAF maps @ 70E3A (?) & 7103A (safe mode MAF map)


P.S. Please don't let this post die - MSS54 has been discovered all ready, please share as much information as you can or want to share
kristsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:25 AM   #53
kristsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
My Ride: 330D M57N
It would be great if we could gather all the A2l abbreviations in one post. This could help us to identify maps more easier, starting with these:

N - RPM
MAF - LOAD/FLOW/AIR
IP - 3D MAP
TI - THEORETICAL INJECTION
TCO - THROTTLE CONTROL OPERATION
PL - PART LOAD
IVVT - INTAKE VARIABLE VALVE TIMING

Also, I tried to compare 430056 MAP locations with 430055 locations and there seems to be interesting 14 (in decimal) value offset between each software which only starts in about half of the 64kb read. Also, some of single value maps have different than 14 value offset, must also discover it further.
kristsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 12:23 PM   #54
jony787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
My Ride: 318ti M52tu SWAP
Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristsm View Post
I am also interested on sharing my knowledge, time and hard work for disassambling MS43/MS45 functions and make this ECU open tuned.

The more people will be involved here, the faster we will make it happen!

Yesterday I reviewed 430056 file and collected some actual maps with clear english meaning.

I have also perhaps found some directions on how to disable IMMO. This is very necessary for me as I am about to install M54 in different chassis.

First of all, HakenTT has placed comment "tuners make the whole map to 00" in his 430055 XDF's "ID VIM PL MAF". I have found this 6x8 map @ 75E0F (430056 software).

Secondly, there was also an information, that some DTC's should be disabled for IMMO-DELETE. I might also found them,too (430056 software ):

705BE (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5395
705C0 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394
705C2 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394
705C4 (c_dtc_vim_0) value - 5394

There are also other single value maps that contain the word "vim" and should be related to IMMO system. Be we should start with testing zeroing ID VIM PL MAF. Unfortunately, I don't have a running engine so would be great if someone could test it on his car if the software version is the same. If not - then I could try to locate IMMO maps on different software if someone are really ready to test it!

Secondly, I really want to understand the logics of MAF measurements and how the map voltage are scaled in the software.

I found 16X16 map in 7A738 (ip_maf_1_diag_n_tps_av) - it has RPM/TPS axis, so it means it consist of requested load values (in DME the wording "maf" can also mean - "load"). So, if injection/ignition maps have RPM/LOAD axis, then doesn't it make this 16x16 map as Alpha-N map?

There are also 2 16X16 MAF maps @ 70E3A (?) & 7103A (safe mode MAF map)


P.S. Please don't let this post die - MSS54 has been discovered all ready, please share as much information as you can or want to share
VIM means VARIABLE INTAKE MANIFOLD aka DISA.......


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jony787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 02:34 PM   #55
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,659
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jony787 View Post
VIM means VARIABLE INTAKE MANIFOLD aka DISA.......


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Correct.

Still curios about why Hakken points out that tuners set that VIM_MAF_PL map to 00. What does it do?

I haven't had a chance to look into it much further. Still need to figure out the right way to dissemble the binary and configure IDA before starting.

Still, where are you guys finding a full 430056 dump?
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance

Last edited by new//M3fan; 11-16-2013 at 02:35 PM.
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:58 AM   #56
kristsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
My Ride: 330D M57N
I can send you the whole OLS file with 430056 dump&a2l, just let me know your e-mail!

Quote:
Originally Posted by new//M3fan View Post
Correct.

Still curios about why Hakken points out that tuners set that VIM_MAF_PL map to 00. What does it do?

I haven't had a chance to look into it much further. Still need to figure out the right way to dissemble the binary and configure IDA before starting.

Still, where are you guys finding a full 430056 dump?
kristsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 02:56 AM   #57
jony787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
My Ride: 318ti M52tu SWAP
Comprehensive MS43 DME Information

Virginized MS43 with EURO 2 tune no SAP or post CAT o2 check engine light!!!!!!!!! If you installed headers, bad dme or sap delete this is for you!!!!!! PM me for details!!!!!!


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
jony787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 05:58 AM   #58
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330iCA
Appreciate your progress! But i would even more appreciate it if you would unveal it open

sorry for being late, but finally:

TPS position at MS430066:



tuner tuned tps:



i really hope there will be some progress in deleting the EWS and DSC handicap, i would really like to build a E36 330ti
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 10:30 AM   #59
kristsm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Riga
Posts: 5
My Ride: 330D M57N
There is no big price difference here to buy whole MS43 ECU + wiring + EWS + ignition keys + ignition module or buy just MS43 ECU. Therefore, if the chassis have MS43 ECU + EWS + ignition module + ignition key, what else is needed for starting the car and not having MIL light? What about running MS43 without E46 instrument cluster?
kristsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 01:01 AM   #60
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330iCA
Without E46 Cluster, there will be no MIL light as there is no possibility to light it up
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use