E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 155 votes, 4.90 average.
Old 11-24-2013, 05:04 PM   #1861
Phoenix330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
My Ride: 04 330Ci Convertible
OMG - I just read all 93 pages and 1860 post plus a large amount of side threads...........................

However I still have a ton of questions like;

1. Can I run this on my MAC if not can I run this on my special version of Win 9?

2. If the answer is no to 1 can I download the software some place and can I have some one here tell me for the millionth time how to install it.

3. Also where the heck to I even buy this and the correct cables? Thinking on buying these cables for $1000 are they any good?

4. Also I have like a 1979 BMW so can I use the hexagon connection or maybe the round? My buddy is telling me that the round is gay and just get the hexagon one.

5. Also is the tensil strenght of the cord strong enough to wrap around my neck and jump from a bridge.....just wondering.......



HOLY CRAP people, I read this figuring I would learn a lot but 93 pages of repeative question, which most answers can be had in the first say five pages. Don't get me wrong, I learned something..............NOT TO ASK THE SAME QUESTIONS ALREADY POSTED IN THE SAME THREAD.................

I think this thread needs to be locked and seperate ones opened for installation of software and cables and the rest with actual instruction in running the software. I did howeverr see one thread that looked to attempt this how to run it but of course the wrong questions still get asked..................

Well there is three days of my life I won't be getting back.................
__________________
Phoenix330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 05:38 PM   #1862
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,881
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 05:40 PM   #1863
morningisbad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Onalaska, WI
Posts: 549
My Ride: E46 M3 Vert
Re: *OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix330ci View Post
OMG - I just read all 93 pages and 1860 post plus a large amount of side threads...........................

However I still have a ton of questions like;

1. Can I run this on my MAC if not can I run this on my special version of Win 9?

2. If the answer is no to 1 can I download the software some place and can I have some one here tell me for the millionth time how to install it.

3. Also where the heck to I even buy this and the correct cables? Thinking on buying these cables for $1000 are they any good?

4. Also I have like a 1979 BMW so can I use the hexagon connection or maybe the round? My buddy is telling me that the round is gay and just get the hexagon one.

5. Also is the tensil strenght of the cord strong enough to wrap around my neck and jump from a bridge.....just wondering.......



HOLY CRAP people, I read this figuring I would learn a lot but 93 pages of repeative question, which most answers can be had in the first say five pages. Don't get me wrong, I learned something..............NOT TO ASK THE SAME QUESTIONS ALREADY POSTED IN THE SAME THREAD.................

I think this thread needs to be locked and seperate ones opened for installation of software and cables and the rest with actual instruction in running the software. I did howeverr see one thread that looked to attempt this how to run it but of course the wrong questions still get asked..................

Well there is three days of my life I won't be getting back.................
I little ironic that you're complaining about people asking these questions (which all have been answered), then you complain about repetitive questions.

1. You need to emulate windows. Be that XP or 7/8. Either will work fine. Run parallels or some other emulator. This software won't run on MacOS, and even if it did, you'd need to write a driver for the cable.

2. Read through this thread (again) or google how to run a windows virtual machine in MacOS.

3. Xcar360 is where I got mine. Don't spend more than 50-60 bucks total with shipping.

4. Pretty sure this will not work with a 79

5. Yes, and please do if your post wasn't just trolling ;-)

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"When makin' a questionable decision, sometimes the only way to find the answer is to shut your eyes & mash the pedal to the metal, you guys."
-Karl Welzein
morningisbad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:20 PM   #1864
CrazyOneToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 222
My Ride: 1999 328i 4dr
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3J0N View Post
In the other pa soft thread I am being told I have to solder a connection between two pins. I havent done that yet, but I cant really understand the logic that it "partially" works now and that when I solder the two pins, its going to "completely" work and allow me to write/code the modules.
I took mine apart and two of them are linked together already.
__________________



1999 328i E46 with a M52TU - 2002 X5 E53 3.0i with a M54

AutohausAZ.com/

CrazyOneToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 12:25 PM   #1865
Ricardo J
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 72
My Ride: 320Ci 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by delmarco View Post
Yeah I'm not sure you can do those. As for dim indicators - I just checked my options and they do not work either.

For the automatic on/off ac you will ALSO have to update your older 10 button hvac unit with a 2004+ 12 button unit. I did this to get the auto ac on/off option. See pictures below:

But you want the AC to 'stay off' and not turn on every time you get in the car? or are you saying you want it to turn on with the car every time? The older non auto HVAC should already be defaulted to stay off every time the car starts if it was left on previously.

Normally drivers update to the auto on/off HVAC to get it to turn 'automatically' on when starting the car every time. So if you want it to stay off I'm not sure if the update will help. If anything you may just have to return the car to the dealership and have them remove that code. (I think I read that this is where the code comes from- at the purchase of the car for the first time some dealership code the HVAC to stay on or stay off depending on climate and region the car is sold in)

BEFORE with pre2004 style 10 button HVAC:
http://photos.performanceix.com/view...b2ad3622a0c6f6

AFTER with post2004 style 12 button HVAC:

http://photos.performanceix.com/view...e37b12016ce256

Thanks for your reply!

I want the HVAC to stay OFF when I start the car. Even if I turned off manually, when I start the car he came ON again, very annoying!
Any change I can code that with PA SOFT?

About the dim indicators, strange thing I cant put them ON as daylights, because the option is there! I also notice that I got fewer light coding options.

Others:


Mine:
__________________

Last edited by Ricardo J; 11-25-2013 at 12:26 PM.
Ricardo J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:23 PM   #1866
M3J0N
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Posts: 820
My Ride: See Sig
Send a message via AIM to M3J0N
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyOneToo View Post
I took mine apart and two of them are linked together already.
i took mine apart and the board looks absolutely nothing like the one pictured.... starting to get pissed that I cant really use this thing.
__________________
-M3J0N
98 M3 Sedan 5sp Arctic/Dove (Sold)
99 M3 Coupe 5sp Titanium/Black (Sold)
04 M3 Coupe 6sp Carbon Black/Black (Current)
95 M3 Coupe 5sp Cosmos Black/Black (Current)
Resident e46fanatics.com Paramedic and notorious ****-talker:)

[/SIZE]
M3J0N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:28 PM   #1867
MattVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: N.VA
Posts: 98
My Ride: 325ci 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3J0N View Post
thanks. that would be great.... I got my pa soft working with the drivers installed, but it only scans. Has an issue reading some modules and definitely doesn't let me code or read canbus e39. Pretty annoying that I just spent this money and waited 4weeks on something that doesn't work like I expected.

am I supposed to modify any hardware or something?
I would be happy to be just have my connect and scan.
__________________
02 BMW 325Ci 5spd x2
01 Bmw 330Ci 5spd
99 Camaro Z28 1LE
95 Mustang Cobra Dart 363 18psi Vortech
99 Corvette FRC
01 Superformance Cobra
Ultima Can-Am 355 G50/50 Yellow
Ultima Can-Am 350 G50/50 Orange
MattVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:19 PM   #1868
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 9,317
My Ride: '06 330CiC, '03 M5
IMPORTANT INFO

For everyone that is having problems with their BMW Scanner, below is the info from the first log page of the most recent scan I performed.

BMW Scanner v1.4.0.9 (19.09.2011) - P.A.Soft, 2011 HW: V14rFeG

This may offer some insight to what is going on??

You should go to your C drive on the computer. Find the folder that might be titled BMW Scanner or BMWScan140, open this folder and there should be folders with dates, open one of these folders and you should see a complete scan log. Look at the top of the scan log and see what version software and hardware you show.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temps, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose fan switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299

Last edited by jfoj; 11-25-2013 at 02:20 PM.
jfoj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:13 PM   #1869
MattVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: N.VA
Posts: 98
My Ride: 325ci 330ci
This is what I have:

BMW Scanner v1.4.0.6 (24.05.2008) - P.A.Soft, 2008 HW: V14rFeG
__________________
02 BMW 325Ci 5spd x2
01 Bmw 330Ci 5spd
99 Camaro Z28 1LE
95 Mustang Cobra Dart 363 18psi Vortech
99 Corvette FRC
01 Superformance Cobra
Ultima Can-Am 355 G50/50 Yellow
Ultima Can-Am 350 G50/50 Orange
MattVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:39 PM   #1870
CrazyOneToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 222
My Ride: 1999 328i 4dr
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3J0N View Post
i took mine apart and the board looks absolutely nothing like the one pictured.... starting to get pissed that I cant really use this thing.
Sorry. I'd bet there are more than one maker of them.
Could be why its different.
__________________



1999 328i E46 with a M52TU - 2002 X5 E53 3.0i with a M54

AutohausAZ.com/

CrazyOneToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 12:49 PM   #1871
CataPop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Brasov
Posts: 1
My Ride: E46
Hope im not asking whats already been said but cant find anything bout writing the VIN on the IKE, i tried myself but it says complete with 4 errors, can it be done with PA soft? (IKE was replaced when i bought the car)
CataPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 01:36 PM   #1872
Ricardo J
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 72
My Ride: 320Ci 2001
Mine:

BMW Scanner v1.4.0.7 (14.01.2009) - P.A.Soft, 2018 HW: V144Bn9

__________________
Ricardo J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:24 AM   #1873
MattVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: N.VA
Posts: 98
My Ride: 325ci 330ci
I ordered another cable off ebay this time. Worked perfect first time out. Its different than the Xcar unit, at least externally, the USB cable is integrated and the unit is sealed. Also came with a later version of the software but that didn't seem to make much of a difference.

Conclusion the original unit was defective. After hours and hours of fooling with. Its going back to xcar.
__________________
02 BMW 325Ci 5spd x2
01 Bmw 330Ci 5spd
99 Camaro Z28 1LE
95 Mustang Cobra Dart 363 18psi Vortech
99 Corvette FRC
01 Superformance Cobra
Ultima Can-Am 355 G50/50 Yellow
Ultima Can-Am 350 G50/50 Orange
MattVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:18 AM   #1874
se93
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 105
My Ride: BMW 328ci AW MTECH2
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattVa View Post
I ordered another cable off ebay this time. Worked perfect first time out. Its different than the Xcar unit, at least externally, the USB cable is integrated and the unit is sealed. Also came with a later version of the software but that didn't seem to make much of a difference.

Conclusion the original unit was defective. After hours and hours of fooling with. Its going back to xcar.
What software version do you have with the new interface?
__________________
Regards,
Mark Perez
se93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:26 AM   #1875
MattVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: N.VA
Posts: 98
My Ride: 325ci 330ci
New version
BMW Scanner v1.4.0.7 (14.01.2009) - P.A.Soft, 2008 HW: V14rFeG Time: 4:51:45 PM 11/30/2013


older version i had.
BMW Scanner v1.4.0.6 (24.05.2008) - P.A.Soft, 2008 HW: V14rFeG
__________________
02 BMW 325Ci 5spd x2
01 Bmw 330Ci 5spd
99 Camaro Z28 1LE
95 Mustang Cobra Dart 363 18psi Vortech
99 Corvette FRC
01 Superformance Cobra
Ultima Can-Am 355 G50/50 Yellow
Ultima Can-Am 350 G50/50 Orange

Last edited by MattVa; 12-01-2013 at 09:27 AM.
MattVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 09:41 AM   #1876
MattVa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: N.VA
Posts: 98
My Ride: 325ci 330ci
Pretty useful unit now that I have a working one. Just being able to code replacement components is useful.

Fooling around I recoded a spare LCM to my car. No tamper dot, imported all info from IKE. Perfect

Turned off the key and brake buzzers

Added visual indication of lock closing (turn lamps)

Enabled door locks at 16km

Removed light checks for my LED tails.

Fooling with changing the service interval reminder

looks like 7 modules store the VIN and 4 store mileage

I think you can recode a IKE cluster using this, I am going to get a spare one and see if I can write to it and change it from AUTO to MANUAL.

There is an option to copy data from LCM to IKE

I believe there is a lot more hidden in the hex coding that can be worked with over time.

I would like to play with changing the algorithms, but I will leave that for now.
__________________
02 BMW 325Ci 5spd x2
01 Bmw 330Ci 5spd
99 Camaro Z28 1LE
95 Mustang Cobra Dart 363 18psi Vortech
99 Corvette FRC
01 Superformance Cobra
Ultima Can-Am 355 G50/50 Yellow
Ultima Can-Am 350 G50/50 Orange
MattVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 03:46 PM   #1877
BMWSauberF1.09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 55
My Ride: 2002 325i Sedan
I have received the scanner and upon opening it i have noticed that 7&8 are bridged but also 4&5 are bridged. could this be why I am getting error codes IKE and EWS?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-1.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	108.6 KB
ID:	536957  
BMWSauberF1.09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 04:21 PM   #1878
Phoenix330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
My Ride: 04 330Ci Convertible
Quote:
Originally Posted by morningisbad View Post
I little ironic that you're complaining about people asking these questions (which all have been answered), then you complain about repetitive questions.

1. You need to emulate windows. Be that XP or 7/8. Either will work fine. Run parallels or some other emulator. This software won't run on MacOS, and even if it did, you'd need to write a driver for the cable.

2. Read through this thread (again) or google how to run a windows virtual machine in MacOS.

3. Xcar360 is where I got mine. Don't spend more than 50-60 bucks total with shipping.

4. Pretty sure this will not work with a 79

5. Yes, and please do if your post wasn't just trolling ;-)

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app


SERIOUSLY...........My post was a JOKE about the post in this thread......ac-2007 got it

Trolling???? ...yeah I have been here a long time and have many post
__________________
Phoenix330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:12 PM   #1879
AgentJBOND
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 105
My Ride: '01 M3
*OFFICIAL* BMW Diagnostic Scanner PA Soft 1.4 Thread

If any wants to buy worry-free, germanautorecycler on eBay sells it with 30 mins of tech support included (dude prints his phone number on the unit!). You may not need the support, but it says something about his quality control that he backs what he sells that way.

I got mine from him quickly, and it works great - no opening it to jump pins, or anything like that.

http://bit.ly/1cVHvS1


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
AgentJBOND is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 06:31 AM   #1880
Phoenix330ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 537
My Ride: 04 330Ci Convertible
I have seen a link to his videos before on youtube. $100 for his kit which looks like the same one I have except I'm sure he transfered the files to a larger disk from the mini disk which can be picked up for $35/40. Basically he is charging for his 30 "free" minutes and install help. Smart idea.......sold 118 units and made over $6000 in profit.
__________________
Phoenix330ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use