E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 03:21 PM   #21
Oz Striker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 354
My Ride: '00 330Ci, '07 350Z
Bump

Any updates on this from anyone on this aspect of the LS swap???
__________________


My YouTube Channel incl Muffler delete vids: http://www.youtube.com/user/OzStryke...view_as=public

My blog on E46 DIYs & Mods http://lifewithabmw.blogspot.com/
Oz Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 04:14 PM   #22
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz Striker View Post
Bump

Any updates on this from anyone on this aspect of the LS swap???
Yes. We've made significant progress since last post. Here's a youtube video example



And another to show some other things can easily be controlled.



Lots of gory details on another forum. Easy enough to find with some searching :-) (not sure if it is proper to link to other boards)
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 06-10-2013 at 04:19 PM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:38 AM   #23
e46cruiser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 165
My Ride: 02 325i
Bump, any updates on this? I'm thinking of doing the swap. I know I can do it without the oem cluster but I would personally like to keep the cluster, ac and other electronics.
__________________


Instagram: @_victorg

e46cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 12:06 PM   #24
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by e46cruiser View Post
Bump, any updates on this? I'm thinking of doing the swap. I know I can do it without the oem cluster but I would personally like to keep the cluster, ac and other electronics.
Yes we've done a lot since this thread was updated. Including installing one in a LS3 swapped E46. And soon one will be installed in a LS1 swapped E46 M3. Though sadly neither are my car. But expect to have my LS1-E46 going this summer. For details see my threads on bimmerforums.

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:16 PM   #25
travisn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: RIT, CCA# 455278
Posts: 206
My Ride: 01 325i
links?
travisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:57 PM   #26
e46cruiser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Peoria
Posts: 165
My Ride: 02 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaniel View Post
Yes we've done a lot since this thread was updated. Including installing one in a LS3 swapped E46. And soon one will be installed in a LS1 swapped E46 M3. Though sadly neither are my car. But expect to have my LS1-E46 going this summer. For details see my threads on bimmerforums.

Thaniel
Thanks for the reply! I'll check those out! Same user name I'm assuming?
__________________


Instagram: @_victorg

e46cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:40 AM   #27
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by e46cruiser View Post
Thanks for the reply! I'll check those out! Same user name I'm assuming?
Yes same user name.
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:41 AM   #28
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisn View Post
links?
Here is one
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...an-bus-project
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:44 AM   #29
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i


A link to a video of my ls1 driving the guages.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:48 AM   #30
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
And the e46 ls3 swap


__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 01-30-2014 at 05:51 AM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:42 PM   #31
SoloII///M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 616
My Ride: Many
I'm assuming you're running the factory GM engine management. Another option if OBD-II compliance isn't a concern is a Megasquirt system. My MS car runs all the stock warning lights and gauges - operates just like stock.

LS3 into an E46 would be damned cool.
__________________
John V
'02 330Ci - Megasquirt 3 tuned by PFTuning.com, M50 manifold, Kromer Kraft headers, Motons, widebody, etc.

Last edited by SoloII///M; 01-30-2014 at 01:45 PM.
SoloII///M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:13 AM   #32
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloII///M View Post
I'm assuming you're running the factory GM engine management. Another option if OBD-II compliance isn't a concern is a Megasquirt system. My MS car runs all the stock warning lights and gauges - operates just like stock.
Yes the factory ECU's. No need to go to the trouble of a stand alone just to move the engine to another chassis. Particularly with the GM engine as the ECU can be reprogramed relatively easily.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoloII///M View Post
LS3 into an E46 would be damned cool.
They're out there.

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 01-31-2014 at 11:13 AM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:37 PM   #33
SoloII///M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 616
My Ride: Many
Agreed, for a GM engine the computer is really nice to tune.

For BMW DMEs, not so much. The megasquirt is much less painful to deal with.
__________________
John V
'02 330Ci - Megasquirt 3 tuned by PFTuning.com, M50 manifold, Kromer Kraft headers, Motons, widebody, etc.
SoloII///M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 04:02 PM   #34
jfcalisse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 2
My Ride: 353i
MAJOR UPDATE

I manage to get my gas gauge,speedometer, oil pressure light, TACHOMETER and TEMP GAUGE working just fine without any controller, converter or any other devices. The only parts you need are the DME,PCM, oil pressure switch and E46 coolant temp.

-supply DME with proper batt, ign and gnd first. After you can connect to the DME the BMW coolant temp that you installed in the LS1 passenger head this will make you temp gauge work.(if tach is not working, the temp gauge will only climb up to 1/4 of the gauge).

-Oil pressure switch can be taken from any car, as long as it gives ground when pressure is 0. You hook the switch to the DME. This will make your oil pressure light work. You just need to hook up that switch to the DME oil press switch.

-Tachometer, you only have to connect the LS1 camshaft signal to the DME camshaft signal on pin 5. So you intercept the signal between the sensor and PCM to send it to the DME. This will make your tachometer work. And temo gauge work perfectly.

-speedometer is under ABS system so no problem there.

-gas gauge should work without any mods.

Only thing that I need to resolve is the oil level light that comes up sometimes when tachometer is plugged. To solve, I will most likely immitate the signal of the BMW oil level sensor or just remove the orange LED in the cluster.

If you have any questions, feel free to email me. jfprovost@gmail.com

I dont come here often.

Thanks

Last edited by jfcalisse; 03-11-2015 at 08:46 AM.
jfcalisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 08:45 AM   #35
jfcalisse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: montreal
Posts: 2
My Ride: 353i
Hi guys, so everything was working just fine and then temp gauge and tacho stopped working but all the signals are still there, Im wondering if the DME stoped sending the signal to the cluster cause its only seeing 1 cam and no crank. If anyone has an idea of why that happened, please let me know.

Or if someone could sell me a complete arduino setup i would buy it. It way to complicated for me to do that kind of setup with the information that is available.

Thanks
jfcalisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 11:12 AM   #36
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 103
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcalisse View Post
Hi guys, so everything was working just fine and then temp gauge and tacho stopped working but all the signals are still there, Im wondering if the DME stoped sending the signal to the cluster cause its only seeing 1 cam and no crank. If anyone has an idea of why that happened, please let me know.
The signal is probably not exactly right and the DME or IKE decides that it must be an error and ignores it. The Electronics in the BMW is pretty complicated/advanced/smart (you choose which word you like). For example. On the E46 if the fuel level sensor provides an out of range value while the car is on it will just use the fuel consumption to estimate the fuel usage and ignores the fuel sender totally. Makes testing the fuel gauge a bit tricky.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcalisse View Post
Or if someone could sell me a complete arduino setup i would buy it. It way to complicated for me to do that kind of setup with the information that is available.
I've made a few for other swappers. Usually I charge $150. That includes, Arduino mega clone, custom shield, custom program and shipping US priority mail. Couple pics attached. PM or e-mail me if interested.

Thaniel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0612.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	192.3 KB
ID:	592531   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0689.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	180.3 KB
ID:	592532   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0721.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	208.7 KB
ID:	592533  
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 06:59 AM   #37
Arturo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Fl
Posts: 5
My Ride: 2003 330ci sport
I bought a used cluster and my traction control stays off at all time. If I calibrate it would it work again ??
Arturo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use