E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 07:23 AM   #1
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Answer this please

So I have put infinity kappa 629i 6.5 inch speakers in the doors and I have a rockford fosgate prime r150X2 amp onits way to power them. My question is, do I need a differential converter or a l o c? I am looking at an axxess adct2 differential converter. It says it can power the amp and has a remote wire for it too. That would b a little easier doing that than running 8 gauge wire, with an in line 20 amp fuse, to power the amp. And I wouldnt have to tie into the remote wire from the HU. I see alot of ppl using l o c's, but differential converters are different I think bwcaise they stepp down the voltage. Please help me with this. Thank u

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-30-2014, 08:33 AM   #2
kr3678
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 131
My Ride: '01 330Ci
Where are you mounting the amp? Most people mount their amps in the trunk and with the battery also mounted in the trunk, it's pretty easy to run heavy gauge wires directly to the amplifier.
kr3678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:53 AM   #3
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Yea im mounting the amp in the trunk. I have no problems running the power wire to the battery and tying into the white wire in the harness, slot #10, for the remote wire, but with this differential converter I might not need to because it has amp turn on and remote wire connection

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:07 AM   #4
kr3678
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 131
My Ride: '01 330Ci
I've never used a differential converter; I can't really speak to it's ability to turn on the amplifier. Perhaps others can chime in with their experiences. I assume you're having to cut into the wiring harness for the speaker wires, so I'm not sure I understand the hesitation to do the same for the remote wire. I may be wrong about your need to cut into the harness, in which case I can see the situation a bit differently.

However in your original post you also mentioned using the differential converter to power the amplifier and I would definitely recommend against doing that. Amplifiers like a lot of clean power and the best way to do that is through direct connection to the battery.
kr3678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:24 AM   #5
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Well then I'll probably just get the l o c. I am just concerned with the differential signal coming from the HU. If a stardard l o c can handle the signal well enough for a good signal to be sent to the amp

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:57 AM   #6
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 95
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayne23 View Post
Well then I'll probably just get the l o c. I am just concerned with the differential signal coming from the HU. If a stardard l o c can handle the signal well enough for a good signal to be sent to the amp

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
BMW decks are NOT "Balanced Differential" like (for example) amplified Fords.

Balanced differential requires 3 signal wires: there are only two. Ford has 3 as does every application of "balanced differential" in the audio world.

What BMW uses is called ""BTL" or "Balanced Transformerless", meaning BMW deck outputs are exactly the same as the speaker outputs of pretty much any aftermarket deck.

You can solder RCAs directly to the input leads at the back of the deck or at the amp if you know what you are doing, it works flawlessly with pretty much any amplifier worth owning.

BMW systems are not all that mystical, but they do have their own way of doing things.

GL!
Luke
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:13 PM   #7
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Yea I can solder on rca's. If im correct, the inner wire is pos and outer wire is neg

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:27 PM   #8
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 95
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Correct, just remember that BMW uses black stripes as positive for the rears.
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:00 PM   #9
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Yea I have the entire wiring diagram. Pin 9, right + blue/red stripe, pin 17, right - brown/orange stripe. Pin 30, - left brown/orange stripe, pin 38, + left yellow/ red stripe. Pre amp wiring.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:28 PM   #10
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Oh, if I didnt say it before, im using my new amp for the new front speakers. And I know the white wire in pin 10 is the remote wire

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 07:30 PM   #11
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Sorry I keep writing short posts. Im cutting the front woofer wires that come out of the amp and connecting them to my new amp. That way I dont have to run new wires to the speakers

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 03:38 AM   #12
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 95
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayne23 View Post
Sorry I keep writing short posts. Im cutting the front woofer wires that come out of the amp and connecting them to my new amp. That way I dont have to run new wires to the speakers

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Nope...you have to catch the input wires to the stock amp, feed them to the aftermarket amp. You are spot on for the colors.

Then you can use the speaker wires coming out of the amp to connect to your aftermarket amp.

Just make sure you are taking both input and output off of the stock amp, do not use it at all.

Does that make sense? You need to completely bypass it for the front stage but leave the rear intact, correct? It seems like you are on the right track, or close to it.

Luke
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 05:53 AM   #13
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Yup, thats what im doing. Once I cut the front woofer wires coming out of the hk amp, they will then be connected to the new amp. And yes, catching the signal out wires, from the HU, before the hk amp. I want pure signal

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 01:41 AM   #14
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 95
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayne23 View Post
Yup, thats what im doing. Once I cut the front woofer wires coming out of the hk amp, they will then be connected to the new amp. And yes, catching the signal out wires, from the HU, before the hk amp. I want pure signal

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Awesome, you have a solid grip. Now go get busy!

Luke
StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 05:44 AM   #15
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Yup. Just waiting for the delivery

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 09:14 PM   #16
Cayne23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: forest hill, md
Posts: 752
My Ride: 2002 m3 convertible
Hey Luke, quick question. I only want to use my new amp for the 6.5's I just installed. I still want to leave the tweeter and midrange in the doors connected to the factory amp. Thats cool right?

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cayne23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use