E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 71 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-16-2014, 03:11 PM   #881
JJR4884
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 18,183
My Ride: BMW
i have an old sh*tty model

i'll have a new one in the next couple months, hate to say it but this thing has seen better days. i need a new one that has better interface and can run bluetooth with navi. are there any available that have XM/Sirius or coming out soon?
__________________
JJR4884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:35 PM   #882
Jsshiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 16
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325i
Just installed the D99 last weekend. Still can't figure out why the radio won't pick up ANY stations? Fuse #7 is fine... Connections at the aerial amp on the C-pillar have been checked... I've tried toggling the RDS, the Auto Ant., Area, and the AMP settings on the dynavin factory settings menu... This is driving me absolutely crazy. I use bluetooth for audio mostly but it still kills me knowing I can't listen to radio if I wanted to.

Also, I got a pencil-looking tool, which I'm assuming is a stylus... but I can't figure out why I got a 3V lithium battery with the unit. What do I do with this?
Jsshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 11:31 AM   #883
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
read my FAQ, you probably have the old style antenna....OR your antenna adapter is damaged. If you get NOTHING its more likely the latter.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 11:42 AM   #884
Jsshiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 16
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325i
My car was produced in January 2002. How Do I know that I need the Metra adapter? And if the antenna adapter that I already have is damaged (my radio worked fine with the business cd 2 weeks ago), do I need to buy the Metra adapter anyway?

And what is this lithium battery for?
Jsshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:01 PM   #885
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Which antenna adapter did you use? If you used the short round adapter then you have the early type antenna system, if you used the square plastic plug you have the later style antenna system

To see if an antenna adapter is ok you can use a multimeter to check for continuity on both the center pin and the outer ground at both ends of the adapter (there should be continuity), then check between the center pin and the ground (there should NOT be continuity)

The battery is for the remote. Based on your questions I assume you bought this unit second hand?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:05 PM   #886
Jsshiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 16
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325i
I used the plastic plug. and the battery is not a coin cell-- its a round cell... can't be for the remote. I'll have to run out and get a multimeter to check the continuity I guess.

And no, I actually bought the unit from you, J&T Distributing.
Jsshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:19 PM   #887
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Before you run out and buy a multimeter just visually inspect the adapter for damage...bent/short center pins etc....email me about it, no big deal, I can get another one to you.

No idea what that battery is in there, probably just got dropped in there somewhere along the line. It doesnt have anything to do with the dynavin.

And for future reference, If you bought it from us then just email me if you have issues like this, no need to post here where I may or may not see it when you can contact me directly.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-24-2014 at 12:21 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 12:25 PM   #888
Jsshiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Newnan, Ga
Posts: 16
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325i
Ok, I'll take a look at it... and I actually went to contact J&T last night and realized that I was reaching the same person. As I posted on here first, I just didn't send the email.

I'll shoot you an email when I get the chance to look at the adapter.
Jsshiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:55 PM   #889
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
I just bought a dynavin d99 off a member and can't seem to get the steering wheel controls working. Any Ideas, the ibus box is connected.

Thanks
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:56 PM   #890
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
I just bought a dynavin d99 off a member and can't seem to get the steering wheel controls working. Any Ideas, the ibus box is connected.

Thanks
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:49 PM   #891
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
check your wiring......if that checks out then it should be working unless your car or dynavin has issues elsewhere....being used its hard to say.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 06:25 AM   #892
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
The wiring is good, my ibus light is on, and my steering wheel lights work so they should be good. The previous owner says he flashed the ibus for his back up camera. Could this be the culprit and how would I flash it back to factory settings.

Thanks
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 11:00 AM   #893
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
This is an E46 unit? Are you sure its a Dynavin and not a knock off? The E46 dynavin does not have its camera trigger controlled from the ibus box but some of the knock offs do so flashing the box for camera reasons is not making sense to me......flashing the box for PDC reasons WOULD make sense though......maybe just a misunderstanding?

This is going to sound dumb but also make sure the ibus box is plugged in all the way, sometimes people think its plugged in all the way but its not.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:54 PM   #894
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
Its not a knock off and the ibus box light is on. May be I miss understood what he was saying about the reflash.
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:50 PM   #895
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
email me about this and I can email you the reflash tool for the ibus box so you can give it a try.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:27 PM   #896
kdoubt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 80
My Ride: 330i
I just recently purchased my car and have something similar (but not dynavin I believe) running wince6 however It appears the screen is locked. Does anyone know how to unlock this? I dont believe I have the remote, but I do have a harmony if anyone can tell me what frequency/channel/etc to set it to?




I cant get anything done properly with the message. Any time the Navi side is on, it pops up and blocks everything. Take trades towards an andrioid?

Edit: I reset the HU to factory. Appears gone now. Almost checked myself in to the hospital.
__________________

Last edited by kdoubt; 03-02-2014 at 01:23 PM.
kdoubt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:47 PM   #897
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
Pm sent

Thanks
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 07:58 PM   #898
latreille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 m3/ s2000
Still no luck, must be something with my car.

Thanks
latreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:18 PM   #899
SeanMiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Pole, Ak
Posts: 4
My Ride: 04 BMW M3
Few questions concerning my D99 bought in December 2012 for a 2004 M3. When setting the radio presets, I hold down the button a few seconds, and the station is captured, but on the button display it captures the artist name that is currently on the station. I would like for it to capture only the station frequency. Also, my M3 did not originally come with the nav screen, so I do not have the ability to see any of the OBC on the factory stereo (obviously), and was wondering if there is a way to see more on the Dynavin than just the temperature of fluids, and liters of fuel (gallons would be nice too), most of the info does not display. And my last question, and the reason I am actually posting questions, where, if any, are the firmware updates for the non Android D99?? I have heard there are some updates for functionality, but I haven't seen anything. Oh yea..and sometimes a small portion of the screen goes blank, or I get a pixelated effect in a small area, thus why I am looking for some updates. Thanks in advance for any help.
SeanMiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 11:02 AM   #900
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,696
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanMiller View Post
Few questions concerning my D99 bought in December 2012 for a 2004 M3. When setting the radio presets, I hold down the button a few seconds, and the station is captured, but on the button display it captures the artist name that is currently on the station. I would like for it to capture only the station frequency. Also, my M3 did not originally come with the nav screen, so I do not have the ability to see any of the OBC on the factory stereo (obviously), and was wondering if there is a way to see more on the Dynavin than just the temperature of fluids, and liters of fuel (gallons would be nice too), most of the info does not display. And my last question, and the reason I am actually posting questions, where, if any, are the firmware updates for the non Android D99?? I have heard there are some updates for functionality, but I haven't seen anything. Oh yea..and sometimes a small portion of the screen goes blank, or I get a pixelated effect in a small area, thus why I am looking for some updates. Thanks in advance for any help.
when you set a preset it will "capture" whatever text is in the RDS text display area, the idea is that you can "name" your presets by setting them when the radio station name is displayed.

The OBC screen displays what is available on the ibus, that varies by car.

The android ROM is on Dynavins website, no need to reflash it if yours is working.

The pixelated thing you are describing has nothing to do with android, its actually related to the ibus interface box firmware. It can be updated, contact your dealer for assistance.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use