E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 181 votes, 4.92 average.
Old 04-01-2014, 02:56 PM   #1981
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 8,881
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNels View Post
I will be watching this closely.I ordered a copy also,but not being a 'computer guy', I am hoping it is a user friendly software
It's not really.
__________________
BMW VIN Decoder

Common Sense is officially dead.
WDE46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:12 PM   #1982
Mr330iM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 243
My Ride: 2002 330i M
I have the red cog of death and it was due to a voltage issue the Indy shop reset it a while ago nd it went away for months now it's back I have pa soft how do I go about resetting it ?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Mr330iM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:42 PM   #1983
NoGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southest MI
Posts: 191
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr330iM View Post
I have the red cog of death and it was due to a voltage issue the Indy shop reset it a while ago nd it went away for months now it's back I have pa soft how do I go about resetting it ?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Double click on the DME or whatever codes you get after the scan.
Click the errors box and it will tell you what the errors are.
Then click clear errors and it should be gone.

Take a note of what errors you get so you can possible resolve them.
__________________
NoGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 05:43 PM   #1984
Mr330iM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 243
My Ride: 2002 330i M
TClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1396392199.277217.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	149.7 KB
ID:	552268

These are the errors I get ... Nothing in dme


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Mr330iM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 10:17 AM   #1985
Dazza335iC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 106
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '92 335iC
I'm having the same problem, my DME is listed as "not found".

Here's my scanner, looks much different than the one in the original post:




Do pins 7 & 8 still need to be soldered, even on this new config?

Last edited by Dazza335iC; 04-02-2014 at 03:02 PM.
Dazza335iC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:09 AM   #1986
NoGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southest MI
Posts: 191
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Do you have the key turned to position 2?

Or just start the car and run the scan, it would have to pick up the DME.
__________________

Last edited by NoGuru; 04-02-2014 at 11:10 AM.
NoGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:52 AM   #1987
Dazza335iC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 106
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '92 335iC
See my post on the previous page with screenshots, but yes the car was running and 80% of the modules were "not found".
Dazza335iC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 12:13 PM   #1988
NoGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southest MI
Posts: 191
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazza335iC View Post
I just got my 1.4.0 scanner yesterday. I hooked it up, and got this.

Why won't it read 90% of the modules? I know my car has a DME (duh), so why won't this thing recognize that it's there? Does the key need to be in a specific position to read certain modules? (I did it with the engine running). It's a 5/02 build date 330ci which, IIRC, means I don't have the 20-pin round connector under the hood. How do I get this to read the rest of the modules? Do I need to solder the 2 pins on the scanner, as is shown here? http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...de-car-options




I can't see the pics because I am at work, but you have an 02 330CI same as me.
All I had to do it assign the drivers to read the software, which it looks like you have already done, it should work.

Only thing I can think of is what driver did you assign it, serial to USB?
__________________
NoGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 12:16 PM   #1989
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 8,881
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazza335iC View Post
I'm having the same problem, my DME is listed as "not found".

Here's my scanner, looks much different than the one in the original post:




Do pins 7 & 8 still need to be soldered, even on this new config?
I would say that pins 7 and 8 should be soldered. Where did you buy your scanner?

Your scanner should be showing EGS and DME, but most of the other ones may not be present. PDC for example, you probably don't have so it will not appear. I have none on the third page also.
__________________
BMW VIN Decoder

Common Sense is officially dead.

Last edited by WDE46; 04-02-2014 at 12:18 PM.
WDE46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 03:03 PM   #1990
Dazza335iC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 106
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '92 335iC
Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
I would say that pins 7 and 8 should be soldered. Where did you buy your scanner?
resettools.com, I used the link in post#1 of this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
Your scanner should be showing EGS and DME, but most of the other ones may not be present. PDC for example, you probably don't have so it will not appear. I have none on the third page also.
I soldered pins 7 and 8 together, I'll try it again when I get home tonight!
Dazza335iC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 03:05 PM   #1991
Dazza335iC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 106
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '92 335iC
Also, how do you do things like change the window functions (roll up/down with the key), change the security system to flash the red light, etc? I can't find any of the tick-box style screens I've seen posted by other's in screeenshots. Does anyone have a manual, or a link to a good post, where it explains the menu structure and available options?
Dazza335iC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 04:12 PM   #1992
NoGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southest MI
Posts: 191
My Ride: 2002 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazza335iC View Post
Also, how do you do things like change the window functions (roll up/down with the key), change the security system to flash the red light, etc? I can't find any of the tick-box style screens I've seen posted by other's in screeenshots. Does anyone have a manual, or a link to a good post, where it explains the menu structure and available options?
Click on ZKE, Coding Data, and recoding, this will show what you can set.
__________________
NoGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:01 PM   #1993
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 8,881
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazza335iC View Post
resettools.com, I used the link in post#1 of this thread.



I soldered pins 7 and 8 together, I'll try it again when I get home tonight!
Most everyone here buys from xcar360.com. That could explain the differences.
__________________
BMW VIN Decoder

Common Sense is officially dead.
WDE46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:44 PM   #1994
gr9120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2
My Ride: E46 330i
For my case, when the DME is "missing", it was a simple case of the plug not sitting properly in the connector. Just re-seat the plug and the DME and EGS shows.
Hope this helps.
gr9120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 09:17 AM   #1995
Dazza335iC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 106
My Ride: '02 330Ci, '92 335iC
I'm unable to clear several codes from both the DME and ABS modules, even though I've replaced the faulty parts. They're stored as 'ghost' codes but won't go away :/
Dazza335iC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 02:55 PM   #1996
Linx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 252
My Ride: '02 BMW 325iT
Hi everyone. I was following this thread way back when it was about 7 or so pages long. I see it's grown into a monster. Being that I really don't have the time to go through and TRY to remember where I left off and try to catch up, I'm hoping someone can help me. I had installed the software on my laptop running Windows 7 (64). Everything was working fine but last night I got my SES light and ofcourse my laptop took took a **** on me. Turns out the processor is bad and so looking for a new laptop. I've seen a few laptops I like but they're only running Windows 8. Has anyone successfully installed and used this software on Windows 8? Any info would be greatly appreciated as I need to pick up a new laptop no later then tomorrow. Thanks.
Linx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 03:49 PM   #1997
eneka
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,796
My Ride: 2003 325i
Works great on my laptop with 64bit windows 8.1. There's a guide some where on how to get the correct drivers installed
__________________
eneka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 12:08 AM   #1998
turbotalon1g
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 86
My Ride: '02 330i
Great thread here, I have my romanian diagnostic cable for sale with software. INPA, Progman, all that stuff. I think $30 paypal and shipped is fair, if not make an offer.
turbotalon1g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 09:05 PM   #1999
Oldboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spiceland
Posts: 7
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneka View Post
Works great on my laptop with 64bit windows 8.1. There's a guide some where on how to get the correct drivers installed
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbotalon1g View Post
Great thread here, I have my romanian diagnostic cable for sale with software. INPA, Progman, all that stuff. I think $30 paypal and shipped is fair, if not make an offer.
This guide: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...windows+64+bit is what I used to get PA Soft up & running on my Windows8 64bit. I was written for windows 7, but it worked for me. And, doesn't the Romanian software require a keycode?
__________________
Oldboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2014, 01:43 PM   #2000
Strykr24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NA SC
Posts: 34
My Ride: 2000 328Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by eneka View Post
Works great on my laptop with 64bit windows 8.1. There's a guide some where on how to get the correct drivers installed
Exactly the info I was looking for. My ultrabook has 8.1 (with virtual box) so I was worried that it wouldn't work. Thought about running XP on the VB but everythign I've read said it wouldn't work.
Strykr24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use