E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-18-2014, 12:37 PM   #21
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
Maybe we should start a new thread on deciphering MS42? I guess its getting confuse if with mix both ecus. i need to see the maps and the axis to try to translate them, thats what made most sense to me.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 03:49 PM   #22
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 88
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
Maybe we should start a new thread on deciphering MS42? I guess its getting confuse if with mix both ecus. i need to see the maps and the axis to try to translate them, thats what made most sense to me.
I already have a MS42 thread. That's not the point. Point is the MS43 map names we have are a translation, possibly incorrect translation, of a German original A2L (obviously not done well as it was not completely translated). The Maps, if it exists in another BMW ECU, with the unaltered German titles, might give better information. Or at the very least another clue to the use of the map. To me this is the same as looking at a MS430055 data dump trying to interpret a MS430037. Or looking at the S54 Data to get ideas on what MS43 data might have in it.

Forgive my error in bringing up other data beyond the one ECU.

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 07-18-2014 at 03:51 PM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 04:39 PM   #23
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
Ah, now i get your point keep in mind i´m a non-native No need for

well, we can try that, of course. i took myself another 5 hours of reading bmw electronic datasheet and abbreviations are really starting to make sense.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel


Last edited by daniel_f.; 07-18-2014 at 04:42 PM.
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 02:09 PM   #24
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
I wouldn´t have thought it could be possible, but MS43 is even aware of the steptronic being in auto or manual mode

Therefore i´ve been able to lower the activation of exhaust flap so its always open in M1 and M2 and normally operating while in D
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 12:51 AM   #25
328ijunkie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ClemsonSC/ATL,GA
Posts: 11
My Ride: E36,E30
Youd be surprised what its aware of
328ijunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 01:14 AM   #26
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
So lets talk dtc and their removal... maybe this is more attracting to others...

DTC table of MS430056 is starting at 0x00070130 with always 4 entries per fault code.

My intention was to find a way to get rid off the dtc from the maf sensor, so i could disconnect the maf sensor and tune alpha/n.

When searching for the maf sensor dtc within Asap2demo, we find the entries starting at 0x00070348, remember there is always 4 entries per fault, now the value of the first entry is "259", and all others are "258". Keep in mind, dtc entries are 16bit MSB_last.

So by changing the entries from physical value back to their hex entries, we can find the values to be 0x0103 for the first and 0x0102 all others.

Now wouldn´t it be funny if we just substitute "0x" with "P" and get a generic P-Code?

Lets check it at http://www.obd-codes.com/p0103 and voila: Mass Air Flow (MAF) Circuit High Input

Lets check out P0102, too: Mass Air Flow (MAF) Circuit Low Input

To easy you may think? well, sadly you´re right. Actually there are sets of entries with the first entry being physical value "54528" and hex 0xD500 which is obviously no P-Code as there doesn´t exist a PD500 in SAE paper.

Lets check the other entries of that dtc: its "5377" or 0x1501. Sadly the SAE paper i got my hands on doesn´t list P1*** values but fortunately obd-codes.com got it listed as P1501 Idle Speed Control Valve Stuck Closed and by comparing the position of that dtc, we can see its c_dtc_mec_isa(0-3) which translates to Constant_DiagnosticTroubleCode_mechanicalfault_idlespeedactu ator.


So we know the first entry of each set of dtc´s has nothing to do with the dtc itself, lets take it as a min-/max- value.

If we take a look at c_dtc_mis_0_X (x:1-4), its translatable to the DTC of misfiring cylinder 1 (0-5 equals 1-6).

The first entry of this set is 0x9343, which i wasn´t able to find, so lets take it as min-/max- again.
The second entry is 0x1342 (remember to substitute 0x=P), which is again a bmw specific code (P1***) and means P1342 Misfire During Start Cylinder 1. The third entry is 0x0301 P0301 Cylinder 1 Misfire Detected
and the last and fourth entry is 0x0313 P0313 Misfire Detected with Low Fuel.

With all that said, i was hoping the dtc can be deleted by just zeroing them out, so i set all 4 entries of the maf_X and mafm_X to zero.
Guess what happens...



I got no dtc in ScanMaster-ELM, but the maf code appeared within INPA

I´ll dig into it more deeply
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 01:36 AM   #27
t651
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
My Ride: BMW
Was INPA listing that in error in shadow or active faults?
t651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 01:52 AM   #28
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
unfortunaly in active faults.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 03:16 AM   #29
HakenTT
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: gross deutsches reich USA
Posts: 540
My Ride: 323i with S54
Quote:
I got no dtc in ScanMaster-ELM, but the maf code appeared within INPA
Because scanmaster is generic Eobd reader and INPA reads factory BMW codes only. This means you deleted generic codes but not the factory codes. Generic codes are not the same as factory codes, that is well known so I doubt you are german.
__________________
---------------------
Siemens tuning junkie
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 07:04 AM   #30
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 88
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaniel View Post
Took a moment this morning and reorganized and added to my google drive
https://drive.google.com/#folders/0B...VZCQk02X1NWZTA

In Laws were visiting over the weekend so I had lots of time on my hands. So finished the MS430069 (and pulled a transmission and engine from one E46 and another engine from another E46.)

There is now a taylored A2L for the following versions on my google drive.
It now has A2L's for versions
MS430037
MS430055
MS430056 - Original A2L
MS430066
MS430069

As a BONUS. I uploaded the file I used to align the addresses. So this has the address & name of the item in the A2L (Value, curve, map etc) with up to the first 16 bits of data shown. All side by side. Makes comparision between versions pretty easy. I think most everything is aligned pretty good except the portion of the MS430037 in the 42000 range. It is either radically different in values or doesn't exist.

Screen shot from the .xls sheet below (sheet is ont the google drive)

Hope this is helpful.

Thaniel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Addresss comparisions.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	200.5 KB
ID:	566145  
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 07-21-2014 at 07:21 AM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 07:09 AM   #31
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 88
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
so I doubt you are german.
Hello Hakan,

Thanks for your input. Might want to consider that Germans aren't born with a knowlege of BMW's. So I don't see how this factors into where he lives.

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:50 AM   #32
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaniel View Post
In Laws were visiting over the weekend so I had lots of time on my hands. So finished the MS430069 (and pulled a transmission and engine from one E46 and another engine from another E46.)

There is now a taylored A2L for the following versions on my google drive.
It now has A2L's for versions
MS430037
MS430055
MS430056 - Original A2L
MS430066
MS430069

As a BONUS. I uploaded the file I used to align the addresses. So this has the address & name of the item in the A2L (Value, curve, map etc) with up to the first 16 bits of data shown. All side by side. Makes comparision between versions pretty easy. I think most everything is aligned pretty good except the portion of the MS430037 in the 42000 range. It is either radically different in values or doesn't exist.

Screen shot from the .xls sheet below (sheet is ont the google drive)

Hope this is helpful.

Thaniel
awesome work V4 seems to be aligned very good.

You´ve already done a xdf?!
__________________
kind regards
Daniel


Last edited by daniel_f.; 07-21-2014 at 09:08 AM.
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 10:55 AM   #33
t651
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 47
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
You´ve already done a xdf?!
I too second the awesome work on this.

I've loaded the XDF against a MS430056 version I was adapting/working.
The map locations are perfect!

It loads directly into TunerPro and works immediately on partial reads with a 0x70000 offset

Last edited by t651; 07-21-2014 at 10:56 AM.
t651 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 11:53 AM   #34
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
Well, it seems there are some conversion factor/problems integrated into the xdf file. note there is some really strange looking scalars with values of 13******* entries. it seems like an algorithm problem or something.

as credits go to thaniel, i´m sending him my file for double-checking instead of uploading.
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 12:15 PM   #35
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 88
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by t651 View Post
I too second the awesome work on this.

I've loaded the XDF against a MS430056 version I was adapting/working.
The map locations are perfect!

It loads directly into TunerPro and works immediately on partial reads with a 0x70000 offset
Yah I did a bulk translation of the A2L to XDF some time ago. Only had the MS430056 A2L though. And at the time didn't even realize that it was for the MS430056.

I haven't looked at the XDF in awhile. I'm not a tuner pro expert so wouldn't surprise me if there was a mistake in choosing which tuner pro thing to translate too or something. I know a bit more now so could look at it again. But ASAP2demo and the A2L's seem easier to work with at the moment.

I still have the .xls file I used to make the XDF. When I get some time I'll look over the changes Daniel mention. Making a new XDF isn't as easy as making my A2L updates, which once the change is made is simply is copy, paste and save. It's more like Copy, paste, copy, paste, copy, paste then save

Here's a link to where I shared the XDF in April :-)
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...&postcount=123

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com

Last edited by Thaniel; 07-21-2014 at 12:18 PM.
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 03:26 PM   #36
new//M3fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 2,663
My Ride: 77' 924 87' E30
Quote:
Originally Posted by HakenTT View Post
Yes there is. Don't post if there is nothing you have to contribute, thread gets loaded with worthless posts
LMAO!!!!
__________________
<-- Mango *F-BOMBS IN SIGS*
Bilstein HD's | E30 M3 FCAB's | H&R OE Sports | F+R strut bars | Self tuned 027 93 octane chip | KoseiK1's on R888's | + crazy OCD maintenance
new//M3fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 03:58 PM   #37
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
No big updates in the last weeks as i have been on holiday.

I found some more abbreviations and some some maps to begin tuning with and interestingly i found something which i can´t tell whats going on, but i´m curious it may have something to do with dtc switches...

I may be completely wrong here, but if we keep in mind the alpina engine doesn´t have a exhaust vanos...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MS43-stock_C_ABC_INC.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	116.9 KB
ID:	570342   Click image for larger version

Name:	MS43-Alpina_C_ABC_INC.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	570343  
__________________
kind regards
Daniel

daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 02:34 PM   #38
sbrach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 2
My Ride: E46 and E53
I would like to be of assistance if possible. I swapped a M54B30 out of an 05 330i ZHP into a 02 325i. I converted the ZHP motor to MS43 and have tried a few factory software versions, currently running the EU2 program 7545671. I am no where near your guys level with deciphering the software but if anything I can do would be helpful then just let me know and I will do whatever I can.
__________________
-Steven


Last edited by sbrach; 09-02-2014 at 03:18 PM. Reason: Add info
sbrach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 02:57 PM   #39
Thaniel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dublin, va
Posts: 88
My Ride: 99 323i, 93 357i
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_f. View Post
No big updates in the last weeks as i have been on holiday.

I found some more abbreviations and some some maps to begin tuning with and interestingly i found something which i can´t tell whats going on, but i´m curious it may have something to do with dtc switches...

I may be completely wrong here, but if we keep in mind the alpina engine doesn´t have a exhaust vanos...
Yah same here. Holidays and other projects been pulling me in other directions.

Interesting. Wonder what the best way to verify this would be? Have you tried Unpluging the exhaust cam sensor (will cause an error code) and then changing that setting and see if the error doesn't show.

Thaniel
__________________
My LS1 V8 into E36 and then E46 Blog
www.LS1BMW.blogspot.com
Thaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:18 PM   #40
daniel_f.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 543
My Ride: 330iCA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrach View Post
I would like to be of assistance if possible. I swapped a M54B30 out of an 05 330i ZHP into a 02 325i. I converted the ZHP motor to MS43 and have tried a few factory software versions, currently running the EU2 program 7545671. I am no where near your guys level with deciphering the software but if anything I can do would be helpful then just let me know and I will do whatever I can.
Thanks for you willing to assist I guess we are almost at the point where it could be helpful to test different things, next to find a method to supress dtc`s.

I know there is one user here who seems to be capable, but he´d rather be some ******. Never mind, i´ll find a method and i WILL publish it public! I just need spare time.

Well, that leads me to a possible help request: We know that different software version have different dtc´s activated or even deactivated, e.g. Z3 doesn´t have tco_ex sensor and therefore throws a code if e46/e39 software is used, even if "adaption-varianten" is checked.

So, there must be a switch, possibly next to the c_conf_tco_ex switch, which enables dtc supression.

What i have seen at an other topic is a summary of different softwareversions and their changes, as stated in the *.0da files. I guess that would be really helpfull.

If anyone is willing to have a look, i can upload the daten files from E36/Z3, E46, E39 and E53 which all use MS43.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thaniel View Post
Yah same here. Holidays and other projects been pulling me in other directions.

Interesting. Wonder what the best way to verify this would be? Have you tried Unpluging the exhaust cam sensor (will cause an error code) and then changing that setting and see if the error doesn't show.

Thaniel
To be honest, i was to lazy. I´m working 14h/day right now and i was just playing around with different maps related to shift behaviour to maybe implement rev-match at downshift currently no success as i used the wrong maps
__________________
kind regards
Daniel


Last edited by daniel_f.; 09-02-2014 at 03:21 PM.
daniel_f. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use