E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2002, 08:21 PM   #1
NiTE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 63
My Ride: M3
Installing Aftermarket Head Unit

What are the exact parts that I need to install an aftermarket head unit into my 328i? The unit is an Alpine 7894, this should be an easy DIY, right? If I need certain OEM parts could someone please post the part numbers for them. Thanks in advance.
__________________
-Sid
'99 Cosmos E36 M3
'02 TitanSilver E46 325xi
NiTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 09-23-2002, 12:41 PM   #2
Delirium
yo mama
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: O.C.
Posts: 1,622
My Ride: -
I think this is what you need:

Face plate adaptor
Wiring harness
antenna adaptor

The think i dont get is that if your speakers are already amplified by the factory amp how do you hook up the head unit to the wiring harness? Wont the speakers be double amplified because the Head unit also has an amp? Which amp will you be using when you do this?
Delirium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2002, 02:00 PM   #3
NiTE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 63
My Ride: M3
im pretty sure the audio will not be amplified by the head unit, it will just pass through to the amp that is already in the car.
__________________
-Sid
'99 Cosmos E36 M3
'02 TitanSilver E46 325xi
NiTE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2002, 03:04 PM   #4
Derek330xi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto
Posts: 340
My Ride: E46 330xi
Send a message via ICQ to Derek330xi
anyone have a site that show the DIY for headunit? i am planning to install a panasonic mp3 headunit but don't know how
__________________
Derek330xi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2002, 05:16 PM   #5
ZzyZx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: MPK - Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 90
My Ride: 04 Silver Gray 325Ci
I have this setup in my car now. PM me if you have any questons or need any help.
ZzyZx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2002, 03:18 PM   #6
LfeStylez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 39
My Ride: '99 323i
Quote:
Originally posted by Derek330xi
anyone have a site that show the DIY for headunit? i am planning to install a panasonic mp3 headunit but don't know how
hey derek, did you ever find a d.i.y. site on how to install the alpine head unit? i wanna do the same set up, but don't know much about the wiring...do you have HK system? if so, do you know if there's any different special wiring?
LfeStylez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2002, 10:15 AM   #7
guest1016
fanatical
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: .
Posts: 2,200
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to guest1016
when you hook up the output of your alpine to the wiring harness it goes directly into the amplifier, not the speakers. this is known as a high level input. Amps either take a hi-level (speaker level) or low-level (rca's)input Therefore your speakers will still be using the factory amp for power & crossover duties. There is nothing that will be doubly amplified. the Factory amps use high level input, VS. most aftermarket amps have input's for both. You have nothing to worry about just wire the plug up correctly and plug it in...
guest1016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use