E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2002, 11:26 PM   #1
DropTopBM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Im from where the hammers rung, news cameras never come, throw the work in the can and scream "runnn"
Posts: 999
My Ride: Hamann 3
Send a message via AIM to DropTopBM
Question for all Steptronic Owners!!!

Is it considered "bad" to take off in 2nd gear instead of 1st?
DropTopBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-11-2002, 11:29 PM   #2
Craig
The G.O.A.T. is Baccckkkkk!
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jizzle
Posts: 16,620
My Ride: 09' AW E92 335i
Aww **** sumones hittin up Level 10 in Jerzee for a rebuild!!!
__________________
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:30 PM   #3
valerie
M-Tech Originator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Center of the Universe
Posts: 1,738
My Ride: BMWs
i don't think so

as i recall the default for the step software does have you start from second. after the dinan install i noticed that mine starts in first now
__________________

valerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:34 PM   #4
DropTopBM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Im from where the hammers rung, news cameras never come, throw the work in the can and scream "runnn"
Posts: 999
My Ride: Hamann 3
Send a message via AIM to DropTopBM
Craigger! Where the hell you been bro? I sent you like 281647362 PM's.... What do u mean about what you just said, keep in mind im a little slow


Valerie: The steptronic on the 2002 is different then the previous model years... when im stopped and i press up i think it goes into 1st, im not too sure....... So are u saying its not bad to take off in 2nd?
DropTopBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:38 PM   #5
valerie
M-Tech Originator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Center of the Universe
Posts: 1,738
My Ride: BMWs
yeah, it would always go to first if you put it there, but if you didnt it would just go to second.

i figure if it did that as programmed (it saves gas I think) it must be okay to do...

anyone out there, correct me if I'm wrong
__________________

valerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:38 PM   #6
Craig
The G.O.A.T. is Baccckkkkk!
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jizzle
Posts: 16,620
My Ride: 09' AW E92 335i
Lol been hella busy bro tryin to get my baby all finished up for the summer season.... my comment was a joke bout letting level 10 bild up your tranny its a performance shop out here in nj thats specializes in tranny and torque converter work...
__________________
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:41 PM   #7
Fisch330ciTopasBlau
Yes...I do think I hate you
 
Fisch330ciTopasBlau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Arkham Asylum
Posts: 1,758
My Ride: A car.
Re: i don't think so

Quote:
Originally posted by valerie
as i recall the default for the step software does have you start from second. after the dinan install i noticed that mine starts in first now
Valerie, I just got the Dinan Step software and mine doesn't drop to M1 at a stop. Hard to tell if there is software there, will test it for a couple of weeks, then decide if it's a keeper.
__________________

-8/21/2007 RIP Grandma
-pessimum genus inimicorum laudantes: flatterers are the worst type of enemies
Fisch330ciTopasBlau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:44 PM   #8
Craig
The G.O.A.T. is Baccckkkkk!
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jizzle
Posts: 16,620
My Ride: 09' AW E92 335i
Dinan's supposed to simply raise shift points slightly,firm em a bit and override the downshift to only second making it go to first at least in every application i've seen this is the case
__________________
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:48 PM   #9
valerie
M-Tech Originator
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Center of the Universe
Posts: 1,738
My Ride: BMWs
thats odd..

.. there is no doubt that i start in first as a result of the Dinan software in all modes.

Does it do anything else for you, like remove the lag? Thats bizarre if it doesnt have the advantages for you that it had for me. Again makes me wonder if its because i dont have drive by wire..
__________________

valerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:48 PM   #10
DropTopBM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Im from where the hammers rung, news cameras never come, throw the work in the can and scream "runnn"
Posts: 999
My Ride: Hamann 3
Send a message via AIM to DropTopBM
OOO OK thanks for the help guys.... Craig, will u be at the Park Ave met coming up? If so, let me know and ill make sure im there... i want you to see my cousins M3 drop top, and my friends Dinan M5...

Valerie, thanks for the info
DropTopBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:50 PM   #11
Banjo
Another ACS freak
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Ctl Fla
Posts: 268
My Ride: 2K1 tres trenta ci
Hey Fisch,

I was thinking of getting the step software for the 330Ci except that at the time they didnt' have it for the Siemens chip.

Please email me or post a review regarding the upgrade and if you notice any difference at all.

Thanks
__________________
Banjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:52 PM   #12
Craig
The G.O.A.T. is Baccckkkkk!
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New Jizzle
Posts: 16,620
My Ride: 09' AW E92 335i
Yes sir i'll be there as long as my baby's home and ready to go
__________________
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2002, 11:53 PM   #13
DropTopBM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Im from where the hammers rung, news cameras never come, throw the work in the can and scream "runnn"
Posts: 999
My Ride: Hamann 3
Send a message via AIM to DropTopBM
sounds good... I'll see you there....
DropTopBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use