E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2006, 07:40 PM   #1
whizbang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 10
My Ride: '03 TiAg 325i
Help with removing piece under radio/AC unit

Can anyone please tell me how I can remove this piece? I'm installing the Aux Radio Input and I want the wire to come out here. I know it can be taken out without removing anything in front of it but I can't get it to budge and I don't want to damage the dash trying. Please help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dash.jpg
Views:	342
Size:	68.4 KB
ID:	164473  
whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-30-2006, 07:52 PM   #2
Ack
Bavarian I.C.E.
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: B-lo, NY
Posts: 445
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Open the cover and pull straight out by the two corners. It slides straight out by itself.
Ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 08:05 PM   #3
whizbang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 10
My Ride: '03 TiAg 325i
Nope...not budging at all. All I can really pull on is the door but I'm scared I'm gonna rip it off. How hard do I have to pull? Is there a trick to this?

Last edited by whizbang; 01-30-2006 at 08:59 PM.
whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 02:44 AM   #4
Titansilber330D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 194
My Ride: 330D Sport
Remove the radio and the climate control then you can push it out from behind.
Titansilber330D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 03:51 AM   #5
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,899
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
Kinda weird question.. but can you fit a radio in the place of that piece? I want to use the actual radio slot for a motorized tft...
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 04:24 AM   #6
10bmw10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bellevue
Posts: 112
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by paraklas
Kinda weird question.. but can you fit a radio in the place of that piece? I want to use the actual radio slot for a motorized tft...
buy an all in one, u will just be dissappointed if u have a seperate screen.



I believe if u push in the center while pulling straight out is the easiet way to get it out.
10bmw10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:23 AM   #7
Ack
Bavarian I.C.E.
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: B-lo, NY
Posts: 445
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizbang
Nope...not budging at all. All I can really pull on is the door but I'm scared I'm gonna rip it off. How hard do I have to pull? Is there a trick to this?
It is not screwed in at all. It takes a bit of pressure to get it out. It might feel as though its going to break, but it won't.

Removing the radio will not help remove that peice. Removing the radio is used to get the HVAC controls out only.

Last edited by Ack; 01-31-2006 at 06:26 AM.
Ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:23 AM   #8
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,899
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
I'm actually building a car pc and I need the TFT for the pc part. Unless I can find a radio with motorized TFT / Touchscreen with VGA input in a reasonable price .. which I haven't so far.

Thanks
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:46 AM   #9
whizbang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 10
My Ride: '03 TiAg 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ack
It is not screwed in at all. It takes a bit of pressure to get it out. It might feel as though its going to break, but it won't.
Finally got it!! Thanks Ack, you were right! just had to pull hard. I found it helped to put my fingers behind the door and pull upwards and out.
whizbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:55 PM   #10
Ack
Bavarian I.C.E.
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: B-lo, NY
Posts: 445
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by whizbang
Finally got it!! Thanks Ack, you were right! just had to pull hard. I found it helped to put my fingers behind the door and pull upwards and out.
Glad it worked out for you.

I've taken that part out more times then I want to remember while working on my system.
Ack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 09:26 PM   #11
jfischetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Merrick, NY
Posts: 134
My Ride: 06 M5
I just installed sirius in the same place. The starmate fits great. I used a small screwdriver to pry it out, much safer than "pulling hard".

Pops right out, although you already did it, a bit late...
J
jfischetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 05:53 AM   #12
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,899
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
I was hoping someone to tell me if a normal radio fits in there though..

P.
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 06:50 AM   #13
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,633
My Ride: 2003 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by paraklas
I was hoping someone to tell me if a normal radio fits in there though..

P.
too shallow. The only place where you will get a radio is in the existing radio location (unless you modify the air ducts behind).
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 05:35 PM   #14
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,899
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
Thanks for the info
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 12:06 PM   #15
winston smith
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfischetti
I just installed sirius in the same place. The starmate fits great. I used a small screwdriver to pry it out, much safer than "pulling hard".

Pops right out, although you already did it, a bit late...
J
I just got a Starmate and was thinking of installing it in the same place. How did you mount the unit? Did you just velcro it in there? I wish I didn't have to use a cigarette adapter either.
winston smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 09:46 PM   #16
jfischetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Merrick, NY
Posts: 134
My Ride: 06 M5
It just kind of wedges in there when you have the bracket clipped on the back of the starmate. I have the BMW aux input in the glovebox. I would highly recommend having the dealer install that aux input in the glovebox, then you run the wires from the glove box up through the back of where the door is. When you take out the door tray thing drill a hole in the back and feed the wires through.
Good Luck,
J
jfischetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 10:09 PM   #17
l4zy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: San Gabriel
Posts: 1,174
My Ride: 95 M3, 13 X3
Send a message via AIM to l4zy
you can move the ac controls down. there is a oem bracket for that

Quote:
Originally Posted by paraklas
I was hoping someone to tell me if a normal radio fits in there though..

P.
__________________
l4zy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 12:38 PM   #18
WishIHadAStick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 48
My Ride: 2003 330xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston smith
I just got a Starmate and was thinking of installing it in the same place. How did you mount the unit? Did you just velcro it in there? I wish I didn't have to use a cigarette adapter either.
I bought an converter for my XM and wired it into cigarette lighter so I don't need the plug.
WishIHadAStick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 08:20 PM   #19
Tutankhamon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GTA
Posts: 2,344
My Ride: '02 Individual 330ci
Send a message via ICQ to Tutankhamon Send a message via AIM to Tutankhamon Send a message via MSN to Tutankhamon
don't pull by the door
this works for me, just needs a bit of finess, i had to remove it a few times when i was installing my icelink
What will work is open the door, press with your fingers out on each side, this will push the tabs off its holders and you will be able to get it out, needs a bit of force, but just push out on the sides from inside the compartment.
__________________
Tutankhamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use