E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2003, 10:43 AM   #1
jun14scr
booo for body roll.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Richmond, Winston Salem, Charlotte.
Posts: 3,412
My Ride: 2009 335i.
strobes!!!

well i wanna install some strobes today (nothing fancy, just cheap strobes for now) and i was wondering if u guys think there is anyway, i coudl relay the strobes, so when i lock or unclok the car, the strobs would flasH! anybody have any ideas! i want to do this!!

btw, im putting the strobes on the side of the car. where do you think i should mount them?
__________________

Last edited by jun14scr; 01-18-2003 at 10:46 AM.
jun14scr is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-18-2003, 10:49 AM   #2
schow36
Resident Communist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Dirty south
Posts: 1,051
My Ride: 2003 TiAG 325i
Send a message via AIM to schow36
Well...I'm thinking...DON'T DO IT!!! But if it's your thing, go for it...but I say...DON'T DO IT!!!
__________________
schow36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 10:51 AM   #3
slow323ci
E46-free since 10-13-06
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Real world
Posts: 5,320
My Ride: 335i coupe
I think you should mount them

in your disco! Not on your BMW! Oh, the humanity!
slow323ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 10:59 AM   #4
MIKEinTHE323i
****** User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino Hills Ca
Posts: 915
My Ride: a turtle
Send a message via AIM to MIKEinTHE323i
its plain old ricey
__________________
on the prowl
MIKEinTHE323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 11:05 AM   #5
jun14scr
booo for body roll.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Richmond, Winston Salem, Charlotte.
Posts: 3,412
My Ride: 2009 335i.
i liek strobes! they're ricey? it's not like i'll be driving around with them on- that's ricey.

in reality i have a coupel buttosn that dont do anything right now and i need to fill them up. i want to use dae's for one, but those will have to wait until i buy them.
__________________
jun14scr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 11:43 AM   #6
Fyzie325ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dirty South Fla.
Posts: 191
My Ride: '02 325Ci
DUDE , do your thang!

I mounted my strobes in the turn signals. blue!

when i am at the station fillin up i put them on and once this nice old lady said they look cool~!

just connect with a switch and to a constant in the fuse box.

if you send me a camera i will take some pics for ya!
Fyzie325ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 12:34 PM   #7
StreetTrixE4six
E46Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,111
My Ride: 08' 328i E92
i think it would be cool to hook up strobes to the alarm. anyone do that yet?
__________________
08' BMW 328i coupe
07' Audi A4 2.0T Quattro S-Line
04' 325Ci
StreetTrixE4six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 12:35 PM   #8
M3Inline6
Ain't buying any more cars!
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: In the cockpit of an M4!
Posts: 1,793
My Ride: M4 and Range Rover S
No, no no....no strobes. Your car is clean without them.
M3Inline6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 12:40 PM   #9
mfspolo
wah wah wah
 
mfspolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Moon
Posts: 2,661
My Ride: Moon Rover
strobes for show=yes

just for fun=no
mfspolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 01:27 PM   #10
bimmerchop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 11,044
My Ride: spins 4
Send a message via AIM to bimmerchop
if u want it, do it
__________________
- Rich - Flickr - Stage 3+ TiAL B5 S4

"A turbo: exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens and you go faster." - Jeremy Clarkson

euro.techniks

EPL | TiAL | SDR | APR | Stratmosphere | 034 | ASP | SPEC | Fidanza | STaSIS | H-Sport | AWE | H&R | StopTech | BBS
bimmerchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 01:55 PM   #11
M3PinoyDriver
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: so cal
Posts: 758
My Ride: 03 M3 02 Carrera
hahaha I did it a long *** time ago when I got my car. I took it out because it got old
M3PinoyDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 03:17 PM   #12
DropTopBM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Im from where the hammers rung, news cameras never come, throw the work in the can and scream "runnn"
Posts: 999
My Ride: Hamann 3
Send a message via AIM to DropTopBM
do it --- put them in your highbeams to flash when u hit the lock/unlock ---- just watch out for popo, i heard hey can toe the car for that
DropTopBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 04:07 PM   #13
jun14scr
booo for body roll.
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Richmond, Winston Salem, Charlotte.
Posts: 3,412
My Ride: 2009 335i.
yeah im goin to sve up for a wheelen strobe set for the headlights. but todayi boguht a simple strobe set and put that in my car. i think it looks pretty sweet. what i did was, in the footwell, there are lights there that light up. and i took those light bulbs out, and mounted the strobe inside there. it looks pretty sleek. i wanted to do a DIY mod so i figured y not. will post pics if u want.
__________________
jun14scr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 04:33 PM   #14
Pmmeke
modder fokker
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,513
My Ride: E46/E92M3/E60 525d
Send a message via ICQ to Pmmeke
I have strobes but they are only for shows. On shows there very cool
__________________
:: Europrojektz - Belgian Chapter
:: http://europrojektz-world.com
:: http://europrojektz.be[/CENTER]
Pmmeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 06:31 PM   #15
breyton3er
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: jersey
Posts: 414
My Ride: 04 M3
Send a message via AIM to breyton3er
i have strobes... there fun to mess with people sometimes its not like there on all the time and you can't see them when there off. got pulled over the other day for having them on cause my friend was at the light as i was making a right... didn't even see the cop(i usually look around before i put them on). got a gold pba card so i got out of it. he was pretty pissed though i got the federal signal kit 90 watts. i like it but not a lot of patterens. go for the whelen i heard theres a ton of patterens.
__________________

MECP Silver
Cedia Level I

Last edited by breyton3er; 01-18-2003 at 06:33 PM.
breyton3er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 09:11 PM   #16
BGReddy00
09 X5
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Boca Raton,Florida
Posts: 5,020
My Ride: 2009 X5
i got a pair at pep boys for 12 bucks they work just fine and even have a timer..
__________________
BGReddy00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2003, 11:15 PM   #17
GhostRider
...and I'd be all shiny..
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,838
My Ride: 2001 Dinan 3, 5sp
Quote:
Originally posted by M3Inline6
No, no no....no strobes. Your car is clean without them.
It would be cleaner with some clears and silvervisions Strobes are useful for shows but if ypou flash them on the street and the police see it have fun explaining that one. They might charge you with impersonating a cop
GhostRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use